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EDUCATION CORNER
By Ryan Adair, Education Director

If you missed it or would like to rewatch, the full video is available on the Commission’s YouTube page,
youtube.com/arecalabamagov. I urge you to watch at your leisure. We will notify you as we roll out more information. 

STATEMENT FROM COMMISSION EXECUTIVE
DIRECTOR DR. VAUGHN T. POE
As you are aware, Gov. Kay Ivey signed Act 2025-380 (HB382) and Act 2025-379
(HB225) into law on May 14, 2025. Please note that these laws did not go into effect
immediately after they were signed. To be clear, Act 2025-379 will become effective
October 1, 2025, and Act 2025-380 will become effective October 1, 2028.
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Our staff is also working on resources to help you prepare for these changes to license law. We recently held a panel
discussion about the laws as part of our June Coffee With the Commission live event. A lot of good information came out
of this event and a lot of questions were answered. 

COURSE SEARCH FEATURE UPDATED
The Commission is proud to share an updated Course Search
on our website. The main function remains the same, which
is finding when and where your favorite real estate courses
are being offered. To easily search for approved prelicense,
post license, and continuing education courses, go to the
Commission’s homepage and you will see the Education
section under the Professionals heading. 

Once the search results are displayed, click on a course to see specific details. The date, time, and location are shared in
addition to comments from the instructor and a link to the school’s website. If you are searching for a prelicense course,
the information will also display the license examination statistics of previous students who completed that course. Take
advantage of our Course Search and easily find all courses that you may want or need.

Choose the Course Search link and your search has begun.
Select the course format of classroom or distance education
(online) and then select the course type you desire. The next
two options are adding a course name and an instructor’s last
name. Neither is necessary for a search, so you can select
“No” for both options to access the search results.

The Alabama Real Estate Commission exists to protect Alabama consumers. That is why these
new laws are so important. The Commission is vigilant about ensuring that every consumer is
working with a knowledgeable, professional licensee; therefore, we want to provide licensees
with the resources and training they need to give consumers a positive experience.

http://youtube.com/arecalabamagov
https://bit.ly/areccoursesearch
https://bit.ly/areccoursesearch
https://bit.ly/areccoursesearch


LICENSING REVIEW
By Anthony Griffin, Licensing Administrator

The Commission sent an email on May 8, 2025, reminding the 5,000+ licensees with an
expired license of the September 20, 2025, deadline to renew to avoid it from lapsing.
All licenses that are not renewed by September 30, 2025, will lapse and be ineligible for
renewal or reactivation. An expired license can easily be renewed, and made current, by
paying the license renewal fee plus the $150 late penalty by September 30, 2025.

Total salesperson renewal fee: $335.00
Total broker renewal fee: $355.00
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FINAL RENEWAL DEADLINE SEPTEMBER 30, 2025

OBTAINING AN ACTIVE LICENSE AFTER RENEWING
Once you renew an expired license, it is important to remember that if you wish to activate that license it will take a
separate activation process and fee. First, you must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses. Your instructor
will electronically transmit your credit to the Commission. Once your credit has been received you can activate the
license through the Commission’s website under the Online Services Login explained above. Log in and choose
Transfer/Activate from the menu of services. The fee to activate a salesperson or associate broker’s license is $25 and
can be paid online. If you are a broker and wish to regain your status as qualifying broker, you should contact the
Commission’s Licensing Division for assistance since this cannot be accomplished online. If you wish not to activate your
newly renewed license then just do nothing, but enjoy the peace of mind that the license is in good standing until
September 30, 2026. If you keep all your contact information up to date, the Commission will send notices by mail and
email reminding you of the next renewal deadline.

DON’T LET YOUR EXPIRED LICENSE LAPSE

The most efficient way to renew your expired license is by logging in to Online Services on the Commission’s website.
You will get a receipt for your payment and instant confirmation of renewal. You can also mail or deliver your renewal
payment to the Commission office, at 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL 36106. Please ensure your payment
contains your name and license number. The envelope must be post marked by the deadline. You can also deliver your
payment to our office. If you have questions, contact the Commission’s Licensing Division at arec@arec.alabama.gov or
334-242-5544.

https://www.alabamainteractive.org/arecmenu/welcome.action
https://bit.ly/ARECOnlineServices
mailto:arec@arec.alabama.gov


BRIEFLY LEGAL
By Serena Cronier Grayson, Assistant Attorney General

CHANGES MADE TO RECAD BY ACT 2025-59
In April 2025, Act 2025-59 became effective and real estate agents from both within the state and outside of the state
started calling the Commission asking, “What do I do now?” Well, short answer is, the same things you were doing
before, but just a little more. No new, scary, or hard things were created as a result of this legislation; so don’t be afraid.

There are the three main documents you need to focus on:

1.Real Estate Consumers Agency and Disclosure Act (RECAD) – The written disclosure form explaining to consumers
the types of brokerage services that are available to clients and customers of real estate brokerage companies.

2.Agency Disclosure Office Policy – A policy that every company must have no matter what practice area
(commercial, residential, or property management). The policy must explain what brokerage services the company
will provide to licensees, and it must explain how the company will be compensated for providing those services.
Every licensee within the company must sign this policy every year.

3.Brokerage Agreement – The signed agreement between the company and the consumer setting forth what specific
brokerage services the company will provide to the consumer and how the company and licensee will be
compensated for providing those services.
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Understanding how and when to present these
documents to a buyer, seller, or property manager
is key to working within the new law and avoiding
violations.

The Commission has created a document entitled
License Law Changes: What You Need to Know to
explain the changes made to RECAD and the steps
you should take when working with a buyer, seller,
or property manager. Read and download a copy
from our website.

If you have questions concerning the new RECAD
law, please contact our Legal Division at
arec@arec.alabama.gov or 334-242-5544.

https://bit.ly/ChangesMadeToRecadByAct2025-59
mailto:arec@arec.alabama.gov


One example comes out of Florida, when a title company scheduled a video call to confirm the identity of a woman
looking to sell a vacant lot. When the title company hopped on the call, they were met by an AI-generated person. The
face belonged to a woman who had disappeared in 2018. Sarah Frano, Vice President and Real Estate Fraud Expert at
First American Title Insurance Company, gives the following advice: Detecting deepfakes can be challenging, but there
are several techniques and tools that can help identify them, including visual and behavior analysis. Look for
inconsistencies in blinking patterns, lip movements, reflections, shadows, skin texture, and hair. Deepfakes often
struggle to replicate natural blinking patterns and lip movements and may show overly smooth skin and inconsistencies
in hair.

Experts predict we may soon see an AI system independently execute an entire mortgage or title fraud scheme on a
fraudster’s behalf. Deloitte estimates that AI used in cases like this could cause US fraud losses to grow by 32% each
year, reaching $40 billion by 2027. Regulators and title insurers are urging extra vigilance in verifying parties’ identities
as technology makes “fake sellers” harder to spot.

© ARELLO®. Reprinted courtesy of ARELLO’s Boundaries magazine.

Detecting deepfakes can be challenging, but there are several techniques and tools that can help
identify them, including visual and behavior analysis. Look for inconsistencies in blinking patterns, lip
movements, reflections, shadows, skin texture, and hair. Deepfakes often struggle to replicate natural

blinking patterns and lip movements and may show overly smooth skin and inconsistencies in hair.
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As AI rapidly grows, fraudsters are increasingly leveraging their usage of this technology in real estate transactions. A
recent industry report warns that AI-driven “deepfake” techniques are enabling identity fraud in real estate. Criminals
have used AI to impersonate property owners on live video calls, seamlessly swapping in a fake face mimicking voices -
tricking attorneys, brokers, or notaries in remote transactions. These scams let fraudsters pose as sellers to illegally
transfer properties. Since the transactions are usually cash-only and conducted entirely online, there are often few
opportunities to catch these fraudulent transactions before it’s too late.

REAL ESTATE SCAMMERS USING AI DEEPFAKES TO
IMPERSONATE OWNERS AND STEAL HOMES



DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS
Penalties for violations of the Real Estate License Law and Commission rules vary depending upon the particular facts
and circumstances present in each case. Due to space limitations in The Update, a complete description of the facts
cannot be reported below.

DISPOSITION
The below pleaded guilty or were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(16) for presenting to the Alabama Real
Estate Commission, as payment for a fee or fine, a check which was returned unpaid by the bank upon which it was
drawn.

Pamela Bass
License No. 105839
Qualifying Broker; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Veronica A. Brewer
License No. 26716
Qualifying Broker; Trafford, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Jonathan J. Brody
License No. 150167
Qualifying Broker; Flushing, New York
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Jerel (Real REL) Cain
License No. 150018
Salesperson; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Aryian Lamychel Dean
License No.145425
Salesperson; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $500

Angela Delgadillo
License No. 168272
Qualifying Broker; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100
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Jason Wayne Dixon
License No. 137047
Salesperson; Summerdale, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Kevis Jerrell Ellison
License No. 114897
Salesperson; Decatur, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $250

Shanica Capri Frazier
License No. 139273
Salesperson; Oxford, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $500

Twana Bates Ivory
License No. 130828
Salesperson; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Frederick DeJere McCall
License No. 166234
Salesperson; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Ashley Michelle Norris
License No. 106454
Salesperson; Bessemer, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $500

Angela Dala (Angela P) Phomsavanh
License No. 135624
Salesperson; Loxley, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Tammy Lynn Plamondon
License No. 143827
Qualifying Broker; Cedartown, Georgia
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Giulliana Caceres Porter
License No. 168750
Salesperson; Pike Road, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Nicki Ann Sneed
License No. 118463
Salesperson; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Nikita Patrick Thomas
License No. 108883
Qualifying Broker; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Loren Paige Thornton
License No. 101407
Qualifying Broker; Blairsville, Georgia
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100



DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN, CONT.
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LZhana Danae Univers
License No. 161464
Salesperson; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $150

Ashton Lynn Wade
License No. 167489
Qualifying Broker; Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Lenda Lacey Wagner
License No. 77395
Qualifying Broker; Talladega, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $100

Kendra Woodfin
License No. 105628
Qualifying Broker; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $500

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing, in accordance with Section 34-27-82(c), to
provide as soon as reasonably possible written disclosure forms for signature to their clients describing the alternative
types of brokerage services that are available to clients and customers of their real estate brokerage company and guilty
of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing, in accordance with Rule 790-X-3-.04, to provide estimated closing
statements to their clients when procuring from or presenting an offer to their clients.

Dexter Ryan Gilley
License No. 100593
Associate Broker; Enterprise, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 20, 2025
Fined $5,000

R. Hancock Enterprises Inc. (DBA: Remax Premier)
License No. 111328
Company; Enterprise, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 20, 2025
Fined $5,000

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by
failing, in accordance with Rule 790-X-3-.15(7) & (9), to take action to
prevent her licensee from violating state laws or regulations when
she, as supervising broker, should have reasonably known of the
impending violation, and should have ensured that all contracts and
forms used by the licensee were reviewed for accuracy and
compliance with applicable statutes, regulations, and office policies.

Rebecca Hancock
License No. 15407
Qualifying Broker; Enterprise, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 20, 2025
Fined $2,500

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(8) by commingling money belonging to others with their
own funds.

Josh Smitherman
License No. 80510
Qualifying Broker; Montevallo, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 20, 2025
Fined $1,000

Bradford Real Estate Group LLC
License No. 62700
Company; Montevallo, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 20, 2025
Fined $1,000



DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(2) by engaging in misrepresentation or dishonest or
fraudulent acts when selling, buying, trading, or renting real property of his own or of a spouse or child or parent; guilty
of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(26) by engaging in conduct which constitutes or demonstrates dishonest dealings, bad
faith, or untrustworthiness; guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing, in accordance with Rule 790-X-3-.03(5),
to disburse the earnest money to the designated consumer after a written agreement was signed by both parties of the
sales transaction; guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(29) for failing within a reasonable time to provide information
requested by the Commission, investigator, and auditor; guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing, in
accordance with Rule 790-X-3-.01, by changing the address of the place of business and failing to notify the Commission
in writing within 30 days; and guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to have a place of business that meets
requirements for a place of business set forth in Section 34-27-2(11)b.
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DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN, CONT.

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply with Section 34-27-31(j) in that he
did not notify the Commission of the institution of criminal charges against him within ten days of his indictment and
guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply with Section 34-27-31(k) in that he did not notify the
Commission of the disposition of criminal charges against him within ten days of his guilty plea.

Eric Rahim Harris
License No. 140061
Salesperson; Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $2,000

Christopher Lavon Fletcher
License No. 113201
Qualifying Broker; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $13,000; License Revoked

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)
(19) by violating or disregarding Section 34-27-36(26) by
performing conduct that constitutes or demonstrates
dishonest dealings, bad faith, or untrustworthiness.

David Anthony Lanshaw
License No. 116658
Qualifying Broker; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $100

Welcome Home Realty HSV LLC
License No. 132080
Company; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $13,000; License Revoked

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by violating or diregarding Section 34-27-84(a)(6) in that
he failed to timely disclose in writing that the buyer he represented was a member of his immediate family.

Brian Gavin Harris
License No. 96534
Qualifying Broker; Fairhope, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $500



Pamela Bass
License No. 105389
Qualifying Broker; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $2,500; Ordered to complete six hours of live disciplinary education to include Qualifying Broker Management
and Business Law. These classroom courses are in addition to required continuing education.

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply with Section 34-27-31(j) in that
they failed to notify the Commission of the institution of a civil suit against them within ten days of being served.

PMI River Region Incorporated
License No. 101023
Company; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined $500

Electia Love
License No. 88999
Qualifying Broker of PMI River Region Incorporated
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined $500

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply with a Commission order to pay
fines for previous disciplinary actions in a timely manner.

Brandon Schaub
License No. 105073
Salesperson; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 20, 2025
Fined $100
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DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN, CONT.

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(8) by failing to properly account for at all times funds
belonging to others.

Walter Hayes (Beau) Miles II
License No. 110630
Qualifying Broker; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined $2,500; Ordered to complete six hours of live disciplinary education to include Property
Management and Qualifying Broker Management. These classroom courses are in addition to
required continuing education.

Essential Property Management LLC
License No. 125792
Company; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined 2,500 

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(28) by failing or refusing, on demand, to produce a
document, book, or record in their possession concerning real estate transactions conducted by them for inspection by
the Commission auditor.

Owen Meredith and Sons Inc.
License No. 47455
Company; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined $2,500 and License Revoked

Elizabeth Whaley
License No. 117389
Qualifying Broker; Northport, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 24, 2025
Fined $2,500 and License Revoked

Virtuous Realty Group
License No. 122121
Company; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 22, 2025
Fined $2,500



1201 Carmichael Way
Montgomery, AL 36106
Tel (334) 242-5544
Fax (334) 270-9118

arec.alabama.gov
arec@arec.alabama.gov

is published for the benefit of the Alabama Real Estate Industry by
the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

Empowering the real estate
professional & the consumer.

Connecting the real estate
professional & consumer to the
resources they need.

Educating the real estate
professional & the consumer.
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Remember to renew all broker, salesperson, and company licenses in
every even-numbered year.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2026

All Commission meetings are open to the public and that includes
real estate licensees. Commissioners welcome and encourage
attendance and observation by an licensee in any location. Locations,
dates, and times can be found on the Commission’s website at
arec.alabama.gov.

COMMISSION MEETINGS ARE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

commissioners
Randy McKinney, Gulf Shores, Chair
Betsy Echols, Montgomery, Vice Chair
Kim M. Barelare, Crane Hill
Emmette Barran, Decatur
Jimmie Ann Campbell, Montgomery
James L. Dye, Birmingham
Terri C. May, Tuscaloosa
Deborah Lucas Robinson, Semmes
Juanita Taggart Jones, Tuscaloosa
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Lori Moneyham, Editor
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