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RENEW ON TIME.... RENEW ONLINE!

Renew 
Online
  Fast! Convenient!
    Instant confirmation!
         (See page 3)

Everyone
Must Renew!
Includes active and
  inactive licensees
     (See page 2) 

Renew
on Time
$150 Late Fee
Late fee effective
  September 1
     (See page 2)

Fees
$205 Brokers
$185 Salespersons
$170 Company
     (See page 2)

Check CE
Online!
Must complete 15 hours 
   of CE by Sept. 30.  
         (See page 7)

  Reciprocal
Requirement
Must meet Alabama CE
   requirement or submit 
   Certificate of Licensure
          (See page 2, 6, 7) New Risk

Management
 CE Required
     Level 1 and  Level 2
             (See page 6, 7)

Active
Licensees 
CE DEADLINE
  Must complete 15 hours 
     of CE by Sept. 30.
          (See page 2, 6, 7)

Qualifying
Brokers
Remember to renew
  company license, too!
         (See page 2, 4) 
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Licenses must be 
Renewed by 
August 31, 
2014 to 
avoid 
$150 
penalty.

All licenses, except temporary salesperson and 
temporary broker licenses, expire at midnight on 

September 30, 2014.  
This Special Issue of The Update contains

important information and answers 
many of the questions about the

renewal process. For additional 
information visit the Alabama Real

Estate Commission website at
arec.alabama.gov.
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Renew
Online and

Receive Immediate
Confirmation! 

IMPORTANT
RENEWAL

DEADLINES
(See back page)

CE hours must be
completed by
September 30.



GENERAL INFORMATION
▲ All licenses, except temporary salesperson 

and temporary broker licenses, expire at midnight on
September 30, 2014.

▲ Both active and inactive licenses must be 
renewed to remain current.

▲ Renew online at arec.alabama.gov.
▲ Renewal forms will be mailed by August 1.

• If you have not renewed online by August 10 and 
have not received a renewal form by then, you must 

notify the Alabama Real Estate Commission 
that you have not received a form.

• Licenses not renewed by September 30, 
will be placed on inactive 

status on October 1.

CONTINUING EDUCATION
ACTIVE LICENSEES

▲ Total CE Needed: 15 Hours
▲ Deadline: September 30, 2014

▲ Courses to Take:  6 hours of Risk Management
9 hours of approved courses

In addition to paying the renewal fee by August 31, 2014, CE credits
must be completed and submitted by instructors to the Real Estate 

Commission before midnight September 30, 2014 in order for all license 
renewal requirements to have been met and an active license mailed or made 
available for printing online October 1, 2014. Any active licensee that has not 

met CE requirements, regardless of paying the renewal fee, will be placed 
on inactive status effective October 1, 2014.

INACTIVE LICENSEES
Continuing Education is not required to renew or maintain an 

inactive license; however, inactive licensees still have 
to renew their inactive licenses by August 31 

of each renewal year to keep the license 
current and avoid penalty.

RENEWAL FEES
▲ Broker $205   ▲ Salesperson $185  ▲ Company $170

• The above fees are the license renewal fee plus the 
$7.50 per year ($15 total for the two-year license period) 
real estate research and education fee for brokers and 

salespersons. Brokers with multiple licenses will pay the 
real estate research and education fee only once.

• All company licenses must be renewed, 
including the sole proprietorships.

• Renewal fees received or postmarked September 1, 2014 
through September 30, 2015 will be subject to a 

$150 penalty fee to be paid in addition 
to the renewal fee.

LATE RENEWAL FEES
Late Renewal Fees are assessed 
beginning September 1, 2014.

▲ Broker $355
▲ Salesperson $335

▲ Company $320

ACCEPTABLE FORMS
OF PAYMENT

▲ ONLINE: Visa, MasterCard, 
American Express, Discover, eCheck

▲ MAIL: Personal check, 
business check,
certified funds 

No credit cards 
by mail.
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General License Renewal Information

What Licenses Must be Renewed? 
ALL licenses must be renewed EXCEPT 
temporary licenses and sales person’s licenses 
of those who pass the brokers exam in June,
July, August, or September and do not want 
the broker’s license issued until October 1, 2014.
If you hold or are responsible for one of the 
following licenses, renew it by August 31, 2014
to avoid an additional $150 penalty fee.

ACTIVE LICENSES
• SALESPERSON LICENSES

(not temporaries)
• BROKER LICENSES which includes:

• First, second, third, fourth, etc. 
broker licenses (not temporaries)

• All associate brokers
• All qualifying brokers

• ALL COMPANY LICENSES which includes:
• Sole Proprietorships
• Corporations
• Branch Offices
• Partnerships

INACTIVE LICENSES
• SALESPERSON LICENSES

(not temporaries)
• BROKER LICENSES
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1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Access the Online Services Login from the 
main page of the Commission’s website.

Enter your license number at the top and 
click Continue.

Enter a username, password and email address.

Click the check box if you choose to opt in to have your 
email address included in the lists available for purchase. 

Click Continue and log in using your new username 
and password.

This improved security allows all licensees to create their own
username and password. If your password needs to change, you
have the ability to do that. There will be no more security ques-

tions to be correctly answered before accessing Online Services. 
Creating your new login username and password is necessary

so you can check your CE credit and renew your license online.
This is a new login and your old registration (i.e. username and pass-
word) is no longer valid. Implementation of this new login helps to pro-
tect your personal information. If you have not registered and created
your new username and password, there are a few steps (see diagram
on the right) that need to be taken to set up your new login information.

You can re-register and set up your new login at your convenience.
After establishing your username and password, you will be able to log
in easily at any time. Once again, if you forget your password, you can
reset it yourself by creating another one. 

One Login for Qualifying 
Brokers and School 
Administrators

Qualifying Brokers and school administrators will only have one login
now. You will have access to all services under your primary license
number. Company and school license numbers can no longer be used to
access Online Services.

There is no longer online access through the company record. All 
activities previously done through the company login can now be done
through the Qualifying Broker’s login. Previously, Qualifying Brokers had
to log in to the company file to renew the company and other licensees.
With this new procedure, Qualifying Brokers will log in to their own
records to renew themselves, the company and any licensees with 
the company.

Likewise, for schools, the school administrator number must be used
to set up a login for Available Services. The school number will not be
used to setup a username and have access to services.

NEW REGISTRATION REQUIRED 
FOR ONLINE SERVICES:

No SSN, DOB or Security
Questions Requested
The Commission has been making necessary changes to
the Online Services on our website. As a result of these
changes, there is no longer a need for you to log in using
your social security number or date of birth.

Research and Education Fee
Increase Included With Renewal

The renewal fee for the 2015-16 license includes a
$15 ($7.50 per renewal year) research and education
fee. The research and education fee is paid at the

time of license renewal by all brokers and salespersons in
addition to the license renewal fees. Brokers who hold
more than one broker’s license will pay the fee for only one
license at each renewal. The research and education fee is
sent to the Alabama Center for Real Estate (ACRE) at the
University of Alabama Tuscaloosa in accordance with Sec-
tions 34-27-4 and 34-27-35(d) of the License Law.

ATTN: MULTIPLE BROKERS
Renew as many licenses as you wish, but pay
the research and education fee only once.
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Renewal Reminders for
INACTIVE LICENSEES

• Inactive licensees still have to renew their inactive
licenses by August 31 of each renewal year to keep the
license current and avoid penalty. 

• License renewal forms are scheduled to be printed and
mailed by August 1 to your home or mailing address which
means you should receive them during the first week of August.
If your address or other contact information has changed, please
update this information with the Commission through our online
process or by notifying the Commission in writing.

Renewal Reminders for 
ACTIVE LICENSEES

• License renewal forms are scheduled to be mailed by
August 1 to your company’s address for those who have
not yet renewed online. This means licensees should get
renewal forms by the first week of August. Contact your Qualify-
ing Broker or Company representative to confirm that your renew-
al form has been received. If one is not received by August 10, you
should renew online or request another from the Commission.

• Licensees who completed the 30 hour post license course
on or after October 1, 2012 do not have to complete an
additional 15 hours of CE. The 30 hour post license course,
which was completed as a requirement for obtaining the original
license, will count as all 15 hours of CE.

Renewal Reminders for 
QUALIFYING BROKERS

• Ensure all renewal forms, including the company’s form,
are in the renewal package and then distribute them to all
licensees. Any licensee who has renewed online prior to renew-
al notices being mailed from the Commission will not receive a
renewal form.

If you have licensees who inactivate or transfer to other 
companies after renewal forms are mailed, please ensure that 
you forward their renewal form to them since they are still 
required to renew their license. If you cannot forward their
renewal form, please contact the Commission and we will send
them a new renewal form.

• If you are renewing an active company license online and
you have active licensees registered under you, then you
MUST renew your company license AND Qualifying 
Broker license together. 

If you do not have registered licensees under you, then you may
renew your Qualifying Broker license without renewing the compa-
ny license. However, if you do not renew the company license by
midnight on September 30, 2014 it will expire on October 1, 2014.

• Remember, licenses are available for printing only after all
renewal requirements have been met and the license has
been issued. Therefore, if you have a licensee who has renewed
by the August 31 deadline, but has not completed CE require-
ments, the new 2015-16 license will not be mailed or made 
available for printing until the CE credit has been reported to the
Commission and the license has been issued.

• If you are mailing one check to pay for multiple license
renewals, please include all renewal forms for the 
licenses you are renewing. Do not give a renewal form to an
individual licensee to be mailed unless that person is paying for
his/her own license renewal fee.

By Anthony Griffin, Licensing Administrator

AUGUST 1

Renewal Forms
mailed by
this date

JUNE 1

Start 
renewing

online

AUGUST 10

Request
Renewal Forms

if needed

2014
RENEWAL
TIMELINE

IMPORTANT: RENEWAL REMINDERS



General Renewal Reminders
for ALL LICENSEES

• You must renew your license online before midnight August
31, 2014 to avoid the $150 penalty fee; however, try to avoid
waiting until the last day after 4:30 p.m. During this time there
can be a lot of users trying to log on to renew their licenses, which

can make the system slow. The Commission office closes at 4:30
p.m. and there will be no staff members available to assist you
should you encounter a problem after that time.

• If you are paying your renewal fees by check, make sure 
checks are signed and made payable to the Alabama Real
Estate Commission.
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AUGUST 31

Renew by
midnight to avoid

penalty

SEPT. 1

$150
Penalty Fee

begins

SEPT. 30

CE due
for active
renewal

OCTOBER 1
Licenses go

inactive if not
renewed or CE
not complete

MY LICENSE IS:

I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s):

AND

ACTIVE

WHICH LICENSES MUST BE RENEWED?WHICH LICENSES MUST BE RENEWED?

THEREFORE:

YES

SALESPERSON LICENSE
BROKER LICENSE
• First, Second, Third, Fourth, Etc.
• Associate Broker
• Qualifying Broker

I MUST RENEW MY LICENSE
• Renew by August 31, 2014
  to avoid $150 penalty.

COMPANY LICENSE
• Sole Proprietorship
• Corporation
• Branch Office
• Partnership

AND

TEMPORARY

TEMPORARY SALESPERSON
LICENSE

TEMPORARY BROKER
LICENSE

I DO NOT HAVE TO
RENEW MY LICENSE

AND

INACTIVE

INACTIVE SALESPERSON
LICENSE

INACTIVE BROKER 
LICENSE

I MUST RENEW MY LICENSE
• Renew by August 31, 2014
  to avoid $150 penalty.

MY LICENSE IS: MY LICENSE IS:MY LICENSE IS: MY LICENSE IS:MY LICENSE IS:

I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s): I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s):I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s): I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s):I HAVE THE FOLLOWING LICENSE(s):

YES

YESYES NONO
THEREFORE:

THEREFORE:THEREFORE: THEREFORE:THEREFORE:

NOTE: All licenses, except temporary
salesperson and temporary broker
licenses, expire at midnight on 
September 30, 2014.

NOTE: Both active and 
inactive licenses must be 
renewed by August 31, 2014
to avoid $150 penalty fee.
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There is a Real Estate Course Search 
feature on the Commission’s website

located in both the Education section
under the Professionals menu and in
Online Services. This feature allows

licensees to search for courses using
any of the following criteria: course

type, course name, and instructor’s last
name. You may also choose between classroom

courses and distance education (online) courses.

No. If 15 hours of 
CE were taken to
activate a license
for the first time 
during this license
period, an additional 
15 hours must be taken
to renew that license for the
next period. For example, if your license
was activated for the first time in this
license period in late June, an 
additional 15 hours must be taken prior
to September 30 in order to have the
renewed license on active status on 
October 1.
[License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)] and
Rule 790-X-1-.13(1)

Courses taken in another state can 
be used to satisfy the requirement 
of nine (9) hours of elective CE, 
but not the Risk Management

requirement. You must submit 
the following documentation to

the Commission’s Education Division 
in order to receive credit:
1. Verification that the course is approved  

by any real estate commission
2. Verification of the number of hours for 

which it is approved
3. Verification that you attended 100% 

of the course
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(13)]

How can
I find out where

courses are
being offered?

If I took 15 hours
of CE during this current

license period to activate
my license, will those
hours take care of my

renewal for the
next period?

Continuing Education 
Requirements for 
License Renewal in 2014

What if
I took courses

in another
state?

CE Risk 
Management
Requirements
Change for 
Renewal 
Qualifying Broker

You must take Risk
Management: Avoiding
Violations for Level 1
and Risk Management
for Brokers for Level 2
and nine (9) hours of
electives.

Associate Broker
You must take Risk 
Management: Avoiding
Violations for Level 1
and Risk Management
for Brokers for Level 2
and nine (9) hours of
electives.

Salesperson
You must take Risk 
Management: Avoiding
Violations for Level 1
and nine (9) hours of
electives.
You can choose from 
the following courses 
to satisfy Level 2:
• Risk Management 

for Salespersons
• Risk Management 

for Brokers
• Risk Management

courses in other areas
such as Commercial
Real Estate and 
Property Management
as long as they are
approved by the 
Commission.
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Exemptions from
CE Requirement
• Licensees who were age 

65 prior to October 1, 2000
AND were continually licensed
between October 1, 1990 and
September 30, 2000.

• Reciprocals licensed since
October 1, 2013. Reciprocal
licensees who have held an
Alabama license for less than
one year are not required to
show proof of CE for the first
renewal of their license.
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Empowering the real estate 
professional and the consumer.
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is published for the benefit of the 
Alabama Real Estate Industry by the 
Alabama Real Estate Commission.

COMMISSION MEETINGS 
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the 
public and that includes real estate licensees. 
Commissioners welcome and encourage 
attendance and observation by any licensee 
in any location. Locations, dates, and times 
can be found on the Commission’s website 
at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2014
Remember to renew all broker, 
salesperson, and company licenses 
in every even-numbered year.

Last day to 
renew without 

additional $150 

penalty fee

Add $150

penalty

fee 

Last day to meet all renewal requirements 
in order to have license 

issued to active status 
on October 1, 2014

2013-14 licenses 

expire. If not 

renewed for 2015-16, 

the license is inactive 

by operation of law and 

the licensee may not 

engage in real estate 

activities that require 

a license.

Last day to renew the 2015-16 licenses. 
If not renewed, the 

license will lapse 
October 1, 2015.


