
GENERAL LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION
All licenses, except temporary salesperson and temporary broker 
licenses, expire at midnight on September 30.
Temporary brokers may renew their salesperson license. 
(Contact the Commission for more information.)
Both active and inactive licenses must be renewed to remain current.
Renew online at arec.alabama.gov.
Renewal forms will be mailed by August 1.
• If you have not renewed online by August 10 and have not received a

renewal form by then, you must notify the Alabama Real Estate 
Commission that you have not received a form.

• Licenses not renewed by September 30, will be placed on inactive 
status on October 1.

RENEWAL FEES
Broker $195      Salesperson $175      Company $170
• The above fees are the license renewal fee plus the $2.50 per year 

($5 total) real estate research and education fee for brokers and 
salespersons. Brokers with multiple licenses will pay the real estate
research and education fee only once.

• All company licenses must be renewed, including the sole 
proprietorships.

• Renewal fees received or postmarked September 1, 2012 through 
September 30, 2013 will be subject to a $150 penalty fee to be paid 
in addition to the renewal fee.

LATE RENEWAL FEES
Broker $345      Salesperson $325      Company $320

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF PAYMENT
Online: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, eCheck
Mail: Personal check, business check, certified funds, cash. 
No credit cards by mail.
Other license transactions, such as a license transfer, must be done 
through regular transfer procedures and cannot be accomplished through
the renewal process. The renewal process only renews the license.

All licenses, except temporary salesperson
and temporary broker licenses, expire at 
midnight on September 30, 2012.
This Special Issue of The Update contains
important information and answers many 
of the questions about the renewal process. 

For additional information visit the 
Alabama Real Estate Commission 
website at arec.alabama.gov.
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August 31 is the last day to pay your renewal fee before the
additional $150 penalty fee is added. Whether you are on active or
inactive status and have completed your CE (continuing education)
requirements for the 2013-14 license year or not, make sure you
renew your license on or before August 31 and you will have 
avoided the late penalty!

If you choose to renew online you must do so before midnight
on August 31 to avoid penalty. If you choose to renew by mail your
renewal form and fee must be postmarked by the post office on or
before August 31 to avoid penalty. After August 31 the additional
$150 penalty is added to the renewal fee. If your renewal form and
fee are received or postmarked after August 31, Commission staff
members cannot waive the penalty. The metered postal date is not
used to determine the official postmark or mail timeliness.

September 30 is the last day to complete all renewal
requirements in order to have your license issued to active status 
on October 1. This date is especially important to licensees who are
active on or before September 30 and wish to remain active on 
October 1. If you have submitted your renewal form and fee and 
satisfied all your CE requirements in order to be active for the 
2013-14 license period, then you have completed all renewal
requirements.

As a reminder, the above dates do not apply to Temporary Sales -
person licensees. Whether you are on active or inactive status and
wish to maintain your temporary license past September 30, 2012, 
you do not have to renew your license.

For those licensees who have a Temporary Broker license at 
renewal time, your option will be to renew your Salesperson
license. The Temporary Broker license can be in effect for up to six
months and, like a Temporary Salesperson license, does not have
to be renewed.

Avoid the Late Renewal Penalty:
RENEWAL DATES EXPLAINED
August 31, 2012 and September 30, 2012 are the two dates licensees 
constantly hear and see during the license renewal year; however, 
there is a significant difference between the two.

By Anthony Griffin, Licensing Administrator

What Are the 
RENEWAL DEADLINES
for Licenses?
◗ August 31, 2012 

Last day to renew without 
additional $150 penalty fee 

◗ September 1, 2012  
Add $150 penalty fee 

◗ September 30, 2012  
Last day to renew in order to have
licenses issued to active status 
on October 1, 2012  

◗ October 1, 2012  
2011-12 licenses expired. 
If not renewed for 2013-14, the license
is inactive by operation of law and the 
licensee may not engage in real
estate activities that require a license. 

◗ September 30, 2013  
Last day to renew 2013-14 licenses. 
(If not renewed, license will lapse
October 1, 2013).
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RENEWAL REMINDERS FOR Inactive Licensees
◗ Inactive licensees still have to renew their inactive licenses by August 31 of

each renewal year to keep the license current and avoid penalty. CE is not
required in order to renew or maintain an inactive license; however, the
renewal fee is still required.

◗ License renewal forms are scheduled to be printed and mailed by August 1 to
your home or mailing address which means you should receive them during
the first week of August. If your address or other contact information has
changed, please update this information with the Commission through our
online process or by notifying the Commission in writing.

RENEWAL REMINDERS FOR Active Licensees
◗ License renewal forms will be mailed by August 1 to your company’s address

for those who have not yet renewed online. This means licensees should get
renewal forms during the first week of August. Contact your Qualifying Broker
or check with your company to confirm that your renewal form has been
received. If one is not received by August 10, you should request another from
the Commission or simply renew online.

◗ In addition to paying the renewal fee by August 31, 2012, CE credits must be
completed and submitted by instructors to the Real Estate Commission before
midnight September 30, 2012 in order for all license renewal requirements to
have been met and a license mailed or made available for printing online Octo-
ber 1, 2012. Any active licensee who has not met CE requirements, regardless
of paying the renewal fee, will be placed on inactive status effective October 1,
2012.

◗ Licensees who completed the 30 hour Post License course on or after October
1, 2010 do not have to complete an additional 15 hours of CE. The 30 hour 
Post License course, which was completed as a requirement for obtaining the 
original license, will count as CE.

RENEWAL REMINDERS FOR Qualifying Brokers
◗ Make sure all renewal forms, including the Company’s, are in the renewal

package and then distribute them to all licensees. Any licensees who have
renewed online prior to renewal notices being printed and mailed from the
Commission will not receive a renewal form.

WHAT IS IMPORTANT TO 
REMEMBER ABOUT RENEWALS?
Renewal
Reminders 
for ALL
LICENSEES
You must renew your
license online before 
midnight August 31, 2012
to avoid the $150 penalty
fee; however, try to avoid
waiting until the last day
after 4:30 p.m. 

During this time there 
can be a lot of users 
trying to log in to renew
their license, which can
make the system slow. 
The Commission office
closes at 4:30 p.m. and
there will be no staff 
members available to 
assist you should you
encounter a problem 
after that time.

If you are paying your
renewal fees by check,
make sure checks are
signed and made payable
to the Alabama Real 
Estate Commission. (Continued on page 4 ... )
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If you have any licensees who inactivate or transfer to other companies after
renewal forms are mailed, please forward their renewal form to them since
they are still required to renew their license. If you cannot forward their
renewal form, please contact the Commission and we will mail them a new
renewal form. 

◗ Qualifying Brokers renewing an active company license online will be
required to renew their broker license and company license together. Qualify-
ing Brokers who renew their broker license online, and have active licensees
registered under them, will be required to renew the company license as well;
however, Qualifying Brokers who meet this criteria and wish to renew only their
broker license should contact the Commission for further instruction.

The exception regarding Qualifying Brokers renewing online will be those who
have no active licensees registered under them. They will have the ability to
renew their broker license online without renewing the company license. How-
ever, if they do not renew the company license online or mail the company
renewal form and fee to the Commission by September 30, 2012, the company
license will expire on October 1, 2012 and be put on inactive status if it was
active.

◗ Remember, licenses are available for printing only after all renewal require-
ments have been met and the license has been issued. Therefore, if you have
a licensee that has renewed by the August 31 deadline, but has not complet-
ed CE requirements, the new 2013-14 license will not be mailed or available
for printing until the CE credit has been reported to the Commission and the
license has been issued.

◗ If you are mailing one check to pay for multiple license renewals, please
include all renewal forms for the licenses you are renewing. Do not give a
renewal form to an individual licensee to be mailed unless that person is 
paying for his/her own license renewal fee.

(Continued from page 3)

RENEWAL REMINDERS FOR Multiple Brokers
Sometimes it can get confusing when renewing Multiple Broker licenses

since Multiple Brokers hold all licenses at the same location, license num-
bers are similar, and they are renewable at the same time. That is why it is
important, when choosing not to renew all Multiple Broker licenses, to make
sure you are renewing the licenses you wish to renew by paying close atten-
tion to the number following the dash after your license number. Furthermore,
you can reference each Multiple Broker license number to the specific com-
pany it is licensed under as another way to help manage license numbers.

Brokers who hold multiple licenses can renew all licenses at one time
after logging in. The system will only charge the $5 real estate research and
education fee for the first license renewed ($195 total) and will not charge
this fee for the remaining broker license(s) being renewed ($190 after that).
The $5 fee is only charged one time per licensee per renewal. Remember
when renewing Multiple Broker licenses by mail with a check to only
include the $5 research and education fee once for licenses issued to the
same person.

What
Licenses
Must Be
Renewed
ALL LICENSES must be renewed
EXCEPT temporary salesperson,
temporary broker, and salesperson
licenses of those who pass the
broker exam in June, July, August,
or September and do not want the
broker license issued until 
October 1, 2012. If you hold or 
are responsible for one of the 
following licenses, renew it before
September 1, 2012 to avoid an 
additional $150 penalty fee. 

Active Licensees
◗ Salesperson Licenses

(not temporaries)

◗ Broker Licenses 
which include:

• First, Second, Third, Fourth, etc. 
Broker Licenses

• Associate Brokers

• Qualifying Brokers

• Temporary Brokers 
(must renew salesperson, 
not temporary broker license)

◗ All Company Licenses
which include:

• Sole Proprietorships

• Corporations

• Branch Offices

• Partnerships

Inactive Licensees
◗ Salesperson Licenses 

(not temporaries)

◗ Broker Licenses

?
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Total CE
Required:
◗ 15 hours

License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)

License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)

Deadline
◗ September 30, 2012

License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)

Courses 
to Take
◗ 3 Hours in 

Risk Management

◗ 12 Hours in  
Approved Elective
Courses
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)

By Ryan Adair, Education Director

Q. In what time frame do courses have to be taken to count toward renewal 
for an active 2013-14 license?

A. Courses taken after October 1, 2010 that have not been used to activate 2011-12
licenses are acceptable for meeting renewal requirements for issuance of an
active license on October 1, 2012. [License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)]

Q. How do I know how many CE hours I have taken?

A. All licensees can check their CE credit by going to the Commission website
arec.alabama.gov.

Q. How can I find out where courses are being offered?

A. The Real Estate Course Search available on the Commission website 
arec.alabama.gov allows licensees to search for courses using any of the follow-
ing criteria: course type, course name, and instructor’s last name. You may also
choose between classroom courses and distance education (online) courses.

Q. If I am a new licensee and recently completed the 30 hour Post License course,
do I have to take more courses for renewal?

A. No. The 15 hours of CE earned from the Post License course will be applied
toward the first renewal of a license. [License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(11)]

Q. If I took 15 hours of CE during this current license period to activate my license,
will those hours take care of my renewal for the next period?

A. No. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for the first time during this
license period, an additional 15 hours must be taken to renew that license for the
next period. For example, if your license was activated for the first time in this
license period in late June 2012, an additional 15 hours must be taken prior to 
September 30, 2012 in order to have the renewed license on active status on 
October 1, 2012. [License Law Rule 790-X-1-.13(1) and Section 34-27-35(j)(1)]

Q. What if I took courses in another state?

A. Courses taken in another state can be used to satisfy the requirement 
of 12 elective hours of CE. You must submit the following documentation 
to the Commission’s Education Division in order to receive credit:

1. Verification that the course is approved by any real estate commission

2. Verification of the number of hours for which it is approved

3. Verification that you attended 100 percent of the course hours

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(13)]

What Are Continuing Education
Requirements for Renewing Licenses?

(See additional CE information on page 6 ... )
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(Continued from page 5)

What Are The Renewal 
CE Requirements for 
RECIPROCAL LICENSEES?
Reciprocal licensees have options from which to
choose to satisfy continuing education requirements
for license renewal.

◗ OPTION 1: Take 15 hours of Alabama-approved CE including
three hours of Risk Management and 12 elective hours. The
elective hours can be taken out of state as long you provide ver-
ification that the course was approved by any real estate com-
mission; the number of hours for which it was approved; and
that you attended 100 percent of the course hours.

◗ OPTION 2: Submit a certification of licensure or letter from 
the regulatory agency in the state where prelicense coursework
was completed and the licensing examination was passed. 
The certification of licensure or letter must show:

1. The type of license
2. The license is active and current at least through 

September 30, 2012
3. The company by whom the license is held
4. Prelicense coursework requirements were met in that state
5. A full licensing examination, not just the state portion, was

passed in that state

The certification of licensure or letter must be dated no earlier
than June 1, 2012 and it must be an original certification unless
it was faxed directly from the real estate commission office.

A letter was mailed to all reciprocal licensees detailing these
options and the requirements of each.

Have You
Checked 
Your CE Credit 
for License
Renewal?
Go to the Commission 
website arec.alabama.gov
and login to check 
CE credits.
◗ The login screen requires your five-digit 

license number (without the leading zeros and 
the extension); the last four digits of your social 
security number; and your date of birth. You 
must then correctly answer a security question.

◗ Once logged in, you will see the current contact
information the Commission has on record for you.
Select “Licensee CE Credit” under Available 
Services and you will be able to view a list of all
courses taken for which credit has been submitted.
If you have completed a course and it is not 
identified in the list, you should contact the 
instructor or school and let them know.

◗ Click on the course title to see specific course
information.

◗ In the list of courses, you will also see an option to
evaluate the course. You have 30 days to evaluate
each course. An expired course evaluation does
not affect your course credit in any way.

◗ Once a CE course has been completed for the 
next license renewal, it will be shown in this area 
of the website.

◗ CE credit for the 2012 license renewal is archived
when all renewal requirements have been satisfied
and the license has been issued. Those archived
courses can be accessed by selecting the 
“View Archived” button beneath the current 
CE courses and next to the Exit button.

Are There Any Exemptions 
From CE For License Renewals?
As stated in Section 34-27-35(j)(2) of Alabama License Law,
there are two possibilities for exemption from CE required for
license renewal.

1 Any licensee reaching the age of 65 on or before September
30, 2000 AND having been licensed 10 years prior to that
date is exempt from CE requirements.

2 Reciprocal licensees who have held an Alabama license for
less than one year are not required to show proof of CE for
the first renewal of their license.
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Has Enhanced
Login Security
Changed?
YES, there has been one change
made to the Enhanced Security Login;
however, if you frequent your available
services on the Commission website, you
may not notice anything different. When
you log in now, Enhanced Security Login
will prompt you to answer only one of
your three security questions. Upon
entering the correct answer you can
proceed to the license renewal link. With
each incorrect answer, you will have to
answer a different question, up to three.
Should all three questions be missed,
access to the license renewal link will be
disabled for a limited amount of time
before you can try again. If you need to
change the security questions you have
already setup, use the Change Security
Questions link after you log in.

If you have never setup your Enhanced
Security Login you will be required to do
so before you can renew your license
online. When you attempt to log in for the
first time you will be prompted to choose
three separate security questions and
provide the answers to those questions.
The answers you provide to the security
questions are not case sensitive. 

arec.alabama.gov

What is New About Online 
License Renewal Application?
The online license renewal application has been 
updated with new features that you will find helpful.

◗ Qualifying brokers can log in under the company as many 
times as needed to renew licenses or see what licenses have
been renewed in their company.

◗ Licensees can see the status of licenses that are eligible for
renewal. The three statuses are: Not Renewed; Renewed; and
Renewal in Process — meaning a renewal payment has been
submitted and it is being processed for license issuance.
• Temporary brokers have the option to renew 

their salesperson license.
• Temporary brokers can renew the licenses 

of those licensed under their company.
• Company and broker licenses can be renewed together.
• Payment screens are more informative and intuitive.

Go to the Commission website
arec.alabama.gov
for easy Online License Renewals!
We encourage all licensees to renew online. 
By renewing online you will eliminate the worry 
about whether the Commission received your mailed
renewal form and you will receive an immediate 
confirmation that your license is renewed.

Q  U  I  C  K .    E  F  F  I  C  I  E  N  T .    P  A  P  E  R  L  E  S  S .
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COMMISSION MEETINGS 
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the 
public and that includes real estate licensees. 
Commissioners welcome and encourage 
attendance and observation by any licensee 
in any location. Locations, dates, and times 
can be found on the Commission’s website 
at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2012
Remember to renew all broker, 
salesperson, and company licenses 
in every even-numbered year.

Empowering the real estate professional 
and the consumer.

Connecting the real estate professional 
and consumer to the resources they need.

Educating the real estate professional 
and the consumer.

DidYou
Notice?
The Commission 
Has a New Look! 
Beginning with this issue of 
The Update newsletter, we 
are rolling out our new brand
including a new logo, 
website, and more.

Stay Tuned…
Connect with us on Twitter, 
Facebook, and YouTube to be
informed of our new brand
developments. 
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