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UPDATE

Commussion Continues to Improve
Information Access 1n Cyberspace

In an effort to provide licensees and
consumers with the most up-to-date
information and quick access to information,
the Alabama Real Estate Commission is
continuing to improve our online presence.

been redesigned to be more user-friendly for licensees and

consumers. The site now features more advanced naviga-
tion and, as it is developed, more interactive features will be
added.

Check out the site and tell us what you think. Go to the “Con-
tact Us” link and click on “Comments” under Miscellaneous on
the left side of the page. Tell us if there is something you had dif-
ficulty finding on the site or if there was information that you
needed that was not avail-
able on the site. If you just
have general comments,
we appreciate those, too.

The Commission’s Web site, www.arec.alabama.gov, has
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The Commission also has a presence on the social media site
Facebook. This will be another place for licensees and consumers
to access information and interact. We will continue to add infor-
mation to our page in the coming weeks. To join us on Facebook:

B Go to the Commission Web site www.arec.alabama.gov

B Under News & Events (scrolling section on Home page), go
to the bottom and click on “Become a Fan of the Alabama
Real Estate Commission Official Facebook Page Today!” This
will take you to the Commission’s Facebook page.

B If you have not signed up on Facebook, click the Sign Up
button at the top of the page and follow the steps to set up
your free account. You must have a Facebook account to
access the Commission’s page.

B If you already have a Facebook account, login and click on
the “Become a Fan” link.

If you have questions or need assistance getting connected
to the Commission through our Web site or on Facebook,
contact us. |
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BRIEFLY LEGAL

Lawsuit and Criminal Case
Reporting Requirements

By Charles R. Sowell, General Counsel

Here are the pertinent portions of the statutes I’ll be examining: cad these closely. You will see that

B Section 34-27-31. Recovery Fund created; fees paid to fund; injured these sections concern civil court cases
party’s recovery from fund; procedures, appeals, etc.; licensee to report Rand criminal cases. You do not need a
any legal action taken against him. law degree to understand this, so I am not
(j) Each licensee shall notify the commission within 10 days after notice to going to explain the basics. I am going to
him or her of the institution of any criminal prosecution against him or her, make some important points. If you have
or of a civil summons and complaint against him or her, if the subject mat- questions as these things come up, just call
ter of the civil complaint involves a real estate transaction or involves the our office.
goodwill of an existing real estate business. The notification shall be in writ-
ing by certified mail and shall include a copy of the summons and complaint.
If a criminal charge is made, it shall include the specific charge made against
the licensee together with a copy of any indictment or information alleging
the charges.

(k) Each licensee shall notify the commission in writing by certified mail
within 10 days after he or she receives notice that any criminal verdict has
been rendered against him or her, or that a criminal action pending against
him or her has been dismissed, or that a civil action in which he or she was
a defendant and which involved a real estate transaction or the goodwill of
a real estate business has resulted in a judgment or been dismissed. The
notification shall be in writing and shall include a copy of the court
order or other document giving the licensee notice.

B You should report any civil case where
any licensee is named as a defendant,
including the company. This includes
when you are dealing in your own person-
ally owned property.

Your reporting must include a copy of the
paperwork served upon you. You should

write a cover letter telling us for
what licensee or licensees
the reporting is
being done. Do

I Section 34-27-36. Disciplinary action — Generally.

(a) The commission or its staff may on its own, or on the verified
complaint in writing of any person, investigate the actions and
records of a licensee...The commission shall revoke or suspend
the license or impose a fine of not less than one hundred dollars
($100) nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars
($2,500), or both, or reprimand the licensee in each instance in
which the licensee is found guilty of any of the following acts
set out in this section...

(23)a. Having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to,
or having been found guilty of or convicted of a felony or a
crime involving moral turpitude. b. Having a final money
judgment rendered against him or her which results from
an act or omission occurring in the pursuit of his or her real
estate business or involves the goodwill of an existing real
estate business.
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the same thing when the case has been concluded,
enclosing a copy of the court’s action concluding the
case. Report the conclusion no matter how it is con-
cluded. If the conclusion is a final judgment against you
or your company that awards money damages to the
plaintiff, then a formal complaint will be filed by our
office against you. Commissioners will decide what
punishment is appropriate. If yours is also a recovery
fund case and the fund has to pay on account of the
judgment, then commissioners will almost certainly
revoke your license.

In civil cases you can prevent the filing of a formal
complaint by our office by satisfying the judgment
before it becomes final. As a general rule, in district
court a judgment is final 14 days after it is rendered
and in circuit court a judgment is final 30 days after
it is rendered. A plaintiff might agree to settle the case
even at this point. If a settlement or full payment of
the judgment is made, there will be no final judgment.
Your attorney will see that the court’s records reflect
satisfaction of the judgment. This means your report of
the conclusion of the case will be a settlement, not a
final money judgment. If the judgment becomes final
and you are appealing it, or your attorney has made a
post-judgment motion, let us know that, too. You, how-
ever, must report it.

In criminal cases there are several ways in which
you might have charges instituted against you, but
there will always be an arrest at some point. We will
consider this as the time your 10 days begins to run to
report to us. You should report any arrest, except for
simple traffic violations. We, however, will only really
be interested in felony charges of all kinds and misde-
meanor charges involving moral turpitude. Do not wor-
ry about the complicated definition of moral turpitude.
The only misdemeanors involving moral turpitude are
theft of any kind, including shoplifting, and the writing
of worthless checks. Your reporting must include a
copy of the arrest warrant or indictment or other paper-
work instituting the charges. You should write a cover
letter explaining that you have been arrested. Do the
same thing when the case has been concluded, and
enclose a copy of the court’s action concluding the
case. If you appeal the conviction, let us know that, too.
If you either plead guilty or are found guilty, felonies
and moral turpitude misdemeanors will result in the
filing of a formal complaint by our office after any
unsuccessful appeal is concluded. Commissioners will
decide what punishment is appropriate. |
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Company Names
in Advertising:

WHAT’S IN
A NAME?

By Chris Booth,
Assistant General Counsel

Update dealing with DBA (Doing Business As) naming.

Instead, this article deals with the use of companies’
licensed names in advertising. The law on this is pretty
simple. Section 34-27-32(e) requires that a company
application be made by the qualifying broker of the
company. Under Section 34-27-36(a)(15) a licensee must
include the “name or trade name of the qualifying broker or
company under whom the salesperson or associate broker
is licensed...” The last bit of law on this issue is found
in Section 34-27-36(a)(6): “Publishing or causing to be
published any advertisement which deceives or which is
likely to deceive the public, or which in any manner tends
to create a misleading impression...” Earlier variants of
these current laws were interpreted in an Attorney General’s
Opinion to require that all licensees must advertise under
the licensed company’s name.

All this is to say that it is very important to include the
full licensed name or full DBA name in all advertisements,
but also because it is the law. After all, how will a consumer
be able to determine who they are dealing with if the
full licensed name is not evident? This issue is further
exacerbated in the case of franchise naming. I have been
able to find no licensed franchise named only RE/MAX,
Century 21, or Coldwell Banker. All franchises like these
have additional names which allow a consumer and
Commission staff to differentiate between them.

The requirement that companies advertise under their
licensed names applies to all advertisements, including
Web sites (including Facebook and other social networking
sites), car signs, business cards, etc. The last bit
of information may be the most important. The Commis-
sions’ auditors will be including this as an element of
their audits. |

I won’t rehash Pat Anderson’s article from the Fall 2005
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LIGENSING TIDBITS

By Patricia Anderson, Assistant Executive Director

Returning Licenses to the Commission

he Commission is often asked under what circumstances
licenses must be returned to the Commission. The answer
is only on two occasions as follows.

(1) When a licensee, including a company, goes inactive by
action of the qualifying broker or through a licensee’s
own request regardless of whether the transaction occurs
through the online process or it is a mail-in request,
the license must be returned to the Commission. For
example, if a qualifying broker no longer chooses to hold
a salesperson or associate broker’s license, then the
qualifying broker must return that person’s license to the
Commission along with a statement that he or she
wishes to terminate his or her status as qualifying
broker. [Section 34-27-34(d) of the License Law].
Likewise, if a qualifying broker closes the company
and wishes to place it on inactive status, all licenses

However, when licenses are “forced inactive” or placed
inactive by the Commission through operation of law,
it is not necessary to return the license. For example, if
an active licensee does not take his or her continuing
education but pays the renewal fee, then the license is
“forced inactive” because the CE requirement was not
met on time. That person’s license would NOT have to be
returned to the Commission.

(2) When a licensee changes from a salesperson to a broker
the salesperson’s license must be returned to the
Commission prior to the issuance of the broker’s license.
[Section 34-27-35(f)].

There is no statutory requirement to return license
certificates for transfers such as change of company name
or address, personal name change, or change of qualifying
broker. This does not relieve the requirement to pay the

including the company license must be returned.

$25 transfer fee per license to be changed. |

Send Appropriate Form or
Letter with License or Fee

You would have to work here to believe how many licenses and/or checks come
in the mail with no registration or renewal form, no letter, no instructions...nothing!
It is particularly interesting when we receive a company check with no license, no
form, and no correspondence at all. Often it is to renew someone’s license but there
is no renewal form and we’re sure you don’t want us to guess whose license we
should renew with it.

Sometimes the check is to pay a fine but there is no correspondence with it
denoting that. Staff has to spend time determining if the check is for Licensing
or Legal or what you are sending it for. It is much like paying your credit card
bill by sending just a check in the envelope without an account number or por-
tion of the bill you are to return with your payment. Always send a form or cor-
respondence with your payment to insure proper credit of your payment.

Other times licenses come in the mail with no written request with them. We
could assume the sender wants the license to be placed inactive, but that assump-
tion is sometimes incorrect. Please include the appropriate form or a letter stating
what is to be done when licenses are returned and/or fees are paid. Remember, all
Commission forms are available on our Web site at www.arec.alabama.gov.
If you have any questions or if you are unsure of the appropriate procedures to
follow, please contact the Licensing Division. They will be happy to assist you. M

Company Address
and Name Changes

The Licensing Division tells us that
they are experiencing problems
because there is lack of under-
standing that a company address
or company name change requires
that all licenses in the company be
changed. That is because all the
licenses contain the company name
and address. So, that means that
in addition to sending in the letter
indicating the change, the cost

is $25 per license to include

the company license, qualifying
brokers license, associate brokers,
and salespersons licenses.

This kind of transfer is not yet
available online. [ |
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TECHNICALLY SPEAKING
“You’ve Got Mail”... Don’t You?

By Steven Brown, IT Systems Technician, Sr.

entire world at our fingertips. Through Facebook,

MySpace, Twitter, Blogspot, YouTube, and a host of
other various sites we can connect with almost everyone
through cyberspace. However, one of the methods that
most of us first used to connect with friends, family, and
the rest of the world by the Internet is still going strong.
How many of us remember getting just a little excited
whenever we heard, ““You’ve got mail,” after waiting for
what seemed like an eternity for our computers to dial-up
to the Internet? Sadly, most of the time our hearts sank
when the email we received wasn’t from our cousin that
we haven’t heard from in ages but a spam email advertis-
ing a new diet craze. Thankfully, those days are long gone
and spam filters have greatly improved.

As you may or may not know, the Alabama Real Estate
Commission also uses email to update our licensees on
information that is pertinent to your license status, such as
renewal reminders. It’s important to us that you get this
information so please have a current email address on file
with the Commission.

Some of you may be asking, “What should I do if I
don’t have an email address?” The solution to that prob-
lem is that there are many free Web-based email providers
that can suit your needs. The most popular services right
now are:

In today’s ‘“‘always-connected” society we have the

® YahooMail .......... http://mail.yahoo.com
° Hotmail ............... http://mail.live.com
° Gmail (Google Mail) . http:/mail.google.com
°* AOLMail.............. http://mail.aol.com

VL

Each one of these providers
allows you to create a free email
account that you can access
from any computer that has a
connection to the Internet.

No matter which provider
you may choose the process is
relatively the same. Once you
access one of the Web sites
listed above you’ll be presented
with a link to “Create an account” or “Sign Up.”
Clicking this link will take you to a Web page that will
ask for your name and allow you to select your email
address and password. Some popular email addresses
are probably already taken (i.e.john.doe@yahoo.com)
so if your first choice isn’t available don’t give up.
Try something unique and you’ll get the email address
that identifies you and fits your personality. Make sure
to fill out all the required information on the page and
click “Submit” at the bottom. That’s it; you’re now
the proud owner of your own brand new email address.
Feel free to let all your friends and family members
know your new address so they can add you to their
contact lists.

Now that you have a new email address you can
update your email address info with the Commission by
going to www.arec.alabama.gov and clicking on
“Online Services” and selecting “Start” under the
section that lists Change Home Address, Telephone,
and Email. This will take you to the AREC Login
page. Enter your license number, the last four digits of
your SSN, and your date of birth in the spaces provided
and click “Login.” The next screen you’ll be presented
with will allow you to update your contact information;
type in your new email address, along with any other
contact information that may have changed; and type
your name in the eSignature field. You’ll need to click
“Next” then click “Logout” on the next page and
you’re done. Your new email address is now on file
with the Commission. |
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EDUCATION CORNER
We Strive for Quality Education

By Ryan Adair, Education Director

in 2004 as part of a strong push to provide quality real estate

education in the state of Alabama. Commissioners stood
before all instructors at the Annual Instructors Seminar held in
Auburn in October of 2004 and told instructors the Commission
would be taking steps to guarantee that a higher quality of real
estate education is offered in the state. In an effort to reach this
goal the following changes were made:

T he Real Estate Commission began to make several changes

B The content of all courses submitted for CE credit is
reviewed by Education staff. The Commission must be
aware of the information being taught to Alabama licensees
in order to achieve the mission of protecting the public.

B Learning strategies are required to be submitted along with
a detailed content outline and learning objectives for cours-
es seeking CE approval. How a course is taught can be just
as important as what is taught.

B The opening of the training room in the Commission
building in 2005 allowed for the provision of instructor
training throughout the year covering a variety of topics
including specific subject matter and presentation skills.

B Two education auditors have been hired to make sure
instructors are teaching the course content submitted for
approval and teaching it in an effective manner.

B Online evaluations are available for all courses except the
salesperson prelicense course which requires a paper evalu-
ation. All licensees are strongly encouraged to take advan-
tage of the online evaluation when checking CE credit on
the Commission Web site. The Commission wants to hear
from licensees regarding their experiences while taking real
estate courses both in the classroom and through distance
education.

All of these changes have helped increase the quality of
courses and instruction offered in the state. These efforts have
resulted in the Commission receiving the award for Best Overall
Education Program of 2008 from the Association of Real Estate
License Law Officials (ARELLO). The Commission continues
to look for ways to improve education in an effort to protect
the public and meet the needs of the customers and clients of
Alabama licensees. n

Continuing Education
for License Renewals —

WHY WAIT?

Real estate continuing education is required for the renewal
of all salesperson and broker licenses. This is nothing new, but
it always helps to be reminded of important information.
According to Section 34-27-35(j)(1) and Rule 790-X-1-.11 of
Alabama License Law, 15 hours of continuing education
coursework must be completed for license renewal. The 15
hours consist of the following:

B Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management

B Twelve (12) clock hours in Commission approved elec-
tive courses

Check your continuing education credit in the Online Ser-
vices section of the Commission’s Web site and see how many
hours you are lacking for license renewal. The Real Estate
Course Search on the Web site is available to help licensees
find courses that are currently being offered. Why wait until
August and September of 2010 to take 15 hours of continuing
education coursework? Beat the rush and eliminate unneces-
sary stress by taking courses now. M
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DISPOSITION

The below were found guilty for violation
of Section 34-27-36(a)(16) by presenting
to the Alabama Real Estate Commission,
as payment for a fee or fine, a check
which was returned unpaid by the bank
upon which it was drawn.

William J. Dunnam

License No. 000094391

Temporary Salesperson; Tuscaloosa,
Alabama

Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009
Fined $250

Allison R. Sanders

License No. 000093236
Salesperson; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009
Fined $250

Greg Urbanski

License No. 000092467
Salesperson; Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009
Fined $250

James Wade Green

License No. 000068607

Associate Broker; Pensacola, Florida
Date of Hearing: April 3, 2009

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission U P D A IE
DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN

February 2009 through April 2009

John D. Fetz

License No. 000086158

Qualifying Broker; Atlanta, Georgia
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009
Fined $250

DISPOSITION

The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(23)a. by entering a
plea of guilty to a felony offense.

Michael W. Madison

License No. 000082985
Salesperson; Gulf Shores, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 3, 2009
Fined $500

DISPOSITION

The below surrendered their licenses for
alleged license law violations in lieu of a
formal complaint and hearing.

C. B. Dement

License No. 000004481

Associate Broker; Fultondale,
Alabama

Date of Hearing: February 11, 2009

Agnes Stergion-Willis
License No. 000070905
Salesperson; House Springs,
Missouri

Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009

Justin Anthony James Gray
License No. 000075675
Salesperson; Foley, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 3, 2009

Verice Lennette Lucas-Tyus
License No. 000076019

Temporary Salesperson; Mobile,
Alabama

Date of Hearing: April 3, 2009 |

Fined $250

ined $ OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS

DISPOSITION DETERMINATION OF LICENSURE

The below were found guilty of violation Applroved ......................................................................................................... 14
of Rule 790-X-3-.01 through Section 34- DBIIBH ..ottt ettt e e ete e 4
27-36(a)(19) for failing to notify the Com- DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY

mission in writing within 30 days after

changing their place of business as set out ADPIOVET. ...ttt 2
on their numbered license certificate. T3]0 6
Yvonne Summers Schram GUMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES HANDLED BY LEGAL AND INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
License No. 000071716 From LICBNSBES........coviiciciciceccc s 1,076
Qualifying Broker; Madison, Alabama FROM PUDIC ...ocveeceeeece e 474
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2009 ANONYMOUS ... eeeeeseeeeesees e eee s eseseesesseeeeseeeeeseeeeeeseesess e eeesessseeens 19
Fined $250
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OUR MISSION
To serve the public through the licensing
and regulating of Real Estate licensees.

OUR VISION
To insure public confidence in
real estate transactions.

OUR VALUES
Excellence in stewardship, service,
innovation, and integrity.
COMMISSIONERS
Jewel D. Buford, Tuscaloosa
Steve Cawthon, Huntsville
Robert S. Hewes, Dothan
Sheila S. Hodges, Gulf Shores
Clifton Miller, Huntsville
Janet R. Morris, Montgomery
Dorothy P. Riggins-Allen, Montgomery
Bill Watts, Birmingham
Nancy Wright, Cullman

D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director
Patricia Anderson, Asst. Executive Director
Vernita Oliver-Lane, Editor
Lori Moneyham, Associate Editor

The Alabama Real Estate Commission
UPDATE is published for the benefit of the
Alabama Real Estate Industry by the
Alabama Real Estate Commission.

Phone: 334.242.5544
Fax: 334.270.9118
www.arec.alabama.gov
arec@arec.alabama.gov

COMMISSION MEETINGS
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the
public and that includes real estate
licensees. Commissioners welcome and
encourage attendance and observation by
any licensee in any location.
Locations, dates, and times can be found
on the Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.alabama.gov.

LICENSE RENEWAL DEADLINE
September 30, 2009
is the deadline for all licensees
who have not yet renewed their licenses.
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22nd Edition of
License Law Book
Available Now

The new License Law Book
(22nd Edition Revised 2009) is
now available from the Alabama
Center for Real Estate (ACRE).
The new edition contains all
rules and regulations that were
effective as of April 30, 2009.
Every qualifying broker will
receive one complimentary copy.
Qualifying brokers are strongly
urged to keep a copy of the
License Law handy and
regularly refer to it in sales
and training meetings. Also
encourage the salespeople and
brokers licensed with your
company to order their own
copy. Additional copies are
available for $10, plus shipping
and handling. You can download an
order form at www.arec.alabama.gov
under Quick Links.

ALABAMA CENTER for REAL ESTATE
THE UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA




