
Are You One of the 3,000 People With an Expired License?  
Then Read On…

If you are one of the approximately 3,000 licensees whose license(s) 
expired on September 30, 2018, because you did not renew by the Sep-
tember 30, 2018 expiration deadline, then the law provides a one-year 

grace period to renew your expired license. Therefore, if an expired license 
is not renewed by midnight September 30, 2019, it will lapse.  

An expired license may be renewed between now and midnight Septem-
ber 30, 2019, by going to arec.alabama.gov, clicking on Online Services 
Login and following the instructions from there. If you wish to renew 
by mail, send your renewal form and fee to the Alabama Real Estate 
Commission at 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL 36106. Mailed 
renewal fees postmarked by the post office by September 30, 2019 
will be considered timely. If you need assistance with either method 
of renewing, contact the Licensing Division of the Alabama Real Estate 
Commission.

Remember, should the license lapse it cannot be activated or renewed. 
This means that, in the future, should you decide to engage in activities 
that require a real estate license you will have to start over completely 
and again meet all requirements to obtain a license, including retaking 
the 60-hour salesperson’s prelicense course and passing the licensing 
examination. If you are currently a broker, you would have to start over 
as a salesperson. The exception to this is those maintaining a broker’s 
license in another state who qualify to obtain a broker’s license in 
Alabama through reciprocity. In this case, the applicant would have to 
complete the 6-hour reciprocal broker’s prelicense course and take and 
pass the reciprocal broker’s exam.

If you are aware of any member of the real estate community who has 
an expired license and you think this information may be of importance 
to them, please pass it along.

Fee to renew an expired salesperson’s license is $335.00.

Fee to renew an expired broker’s license is $355.00.
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Procedure Change in Commission Office Audits
by Molli Jones, Accounting and Personnel Director

No one likes to see an auditor show up at 
your company for an unexpected inspection. 
The Alabama Real Estate Commission has 
started a new procedure for auditing compa-
nies. Auditors will still visit companies, but 
now qualifying brokers will know in advance 
when they are scheduled to arrive. Our goal 
with the new process is to assist companies 
and qualifying brokers in making the audit as 
productive and painless as possible.

Qualifying brokers will receive a letter from 
the Commission announcing the date and 
time an audit is scheduled. To help make the 
audit move more smoothly and efficiently, 
the letter will include the information that is 

necessary so that items can be gathered prior 
to the scheduled audit time. Letters will be 
sent by regular postal mail and email. Once 
notification is received, qualifying brokers will 
need to make every effort to be present for 
the audit or have someone else present at the 
office who can answer questions. If circum-
stances do not allow the qualifying broker or 
someone to be present, contact Molli Jones 
at 334-353-0814 to discuss the circumstanc-
es/reason to reschedule the audit. 

This audit scheduling process is in its infancy 
and will be modified, as needed, as we 
progress to better serve licensees and meet 
Commission audit goals. However, at this 

time in the process the Commission will 
still have some unscheduled audits. We are 
also going to strive to help new companies 
with operating procedures. New companies 
that have been in operation less than a year 
may receive a technical assistance visit to 
help answer any questions or assist in mak-
ing sure the company is operating correctly, 
thereby eliminating problems down the road. 

The Commission will email a survey to 
all companies and qualifying brokers 
in the near future to determine whether 
a company holds trust account monies. 
Please watch for this survey and respond 
online as soon as possible.

Dealing in Your Own Property
by Mandy Speirs, General Counsel

Hey licensee – you want to invest in some real property? Sure! But 
make sure you know what license law says first!

License law addresses licensees dealing in their own property in sev-
eral sections. Let’s start at the top. 
Section 34-27-36(a)(2) states that it is 
a violation of license law to engage 
in misrepresentation or dishonest or 
fraudulent acts when selling, buy-
ing, trading, or renting real property 
of his or her own or of a spouse or 
child or parent. Basically, you have 
these obligations to all parties when 
dealing with your, your children’s, or 
parent’s property even if it’s not being 
run through your real estate company. 
Rule 790-X-1-.03 additionally requires 
that when dealing in your own proper-
ty you must abide by all license laws.

According to Section 34-27-84(a)(6), you must, with no exception, 
disclose in writing if you are acting on your own behalf. This includes 
acting on behalf of your immediate family, or any other individual, 
organization, or business entity in which you have a personal interest. 
Disclosure must be made in writing and to all interested parties. This 
section applies to active and inactive licensees.

So, you want to buy a property you or your associates have listed? This 
is allowed under the law; however, you are required to disclose to the 
seller that you have an intent - either directly or indirectly – to acquire 
an interest as stated in Section 34-27-36(a)(18).

Do you have to run your personal 
property through your company? May-
be. License law does not require that 
your personal property dealings go 
through your company, but your quali-
fying broker can place greater restric-
tions than license law. If this property 
is not going through your company, 
make sure that the consumer is aware 
of this. Do not create a misleading 
impression by having rent dropped at 
your company office; using company-
specific forms; answering the phone 
as if it was your company; or doing 

personal business at your company location. Additionally, 790-X-3-
.03(3) requires the qualifying broker to be relieved of liability in writing 
for holding trust funds in licensees’ personal property dealings.

If you have any questions about dealing in your own property, please 
contact Mandy Speirs at 334-242-5544.
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THIS ARTICLE IS THE LAST OF THREE ARTICLES EXPLAINING THE VARIETY OF WAYS THE CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) 
REQUIREMENT IS SATISFIED. THE THREE ARTICLES INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:

Part 1	� CE for licensees who were licensed in Alabama by taking the 
60-hour prelicense course and license examination

Part 2	� Three exceptions for the CE requirement involving new 
licensees, reciprocal licensees, and the age exemption

Part 3	� Options for satisfying the CE requirement including classroom 
courses, online courses, courses taken in other states, and 
certifications of licensure

This third article focuses on the options available for satisfying the CE 
requirement that will allow renewal of an active license or activation of 
an inactive license.

Classroom Courses
As written in the first of these three articles, classroom courses are 
offered throughout the state by approved schools and instructors. The 
15-hour CE requirement can easily be satisfied for license activation or 
renewal by attending courses as they are scheduled. These courses can 
be found using the Course Search feature on the Commission’s website. 
Select the Course Search link located in the Education section under 
the Professionals heading and all courses that have been planned and 
entered into the Commission’s CMap program will be available. Just 
select CE Risk Management or CE Elective and see all of the courses 
that are currently scheduled. The date, time, and contact information 
will be available for details of the scheduled course.

Online Courses
Online (a.k.a. distance education) courses are offered through schools 
which have been approved by the Commission for this specific type of 
course. There are many licensees who prefer taking online courses on 
their office or personal computer when they choose to do it instead of 
traveling to a specific location at a specific time. These courses can also 
be found using the Commission’s Course Search feature and selecting 
Distance Education instead of Classroom Courses. Some online provid-
ers even offer 15-hour CE packages allowing licensees to pay a one-time 
fee to have access to all 15 hours which can be taken at their leisure. 
These packages can be located on the website of the course provider.

Other States
As stated in Alabama License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12, all licensees who 
complete a classroom CE course in another state which is approved by 
any state may receive CE credit for their Alabama license. After attend-
ing and completing the course, they will just need to send the required 
information to the Commission’s Education Division to have the credit 
added to their record. For example, an Alabama licensee can attend a 

California-approved CE course being offered in Colorado and submit the 
requested information to Alabama for CE credit. The proper documenta-
tion verifying attendance, completion, and the state approval must be 
submitted prior to CE credit being awarded. This option will only allow 
CE credit for courses taken in a classroom.

Certification of Licensure
Licensees who have a reciprocal license in Alabama can satisfy the CE 
requirement by simply having a certification of licensure sent from their 
state of original licensure. For example, an individual who was origi-
nally licensed in Georgia by completing the required prelicense course 
and passing the license examination can apply for a reciprocal license 
in Alabama. At the proper time, a Georgia certification of licensure 
identifying an active license can be requested and sent to us to satisfy 
the 15-hour CE requirement. Remember that this must be based on an 
original license in another state…not another reciprocal license.

CE renewal will take place next year in 2020. Make sure you satisfy 
the CE requirement using any variety of the methods that have been 
explained in this three-part series of articles so your renewed license 
can remain active. Feel free to contact the Education Division if you have 
any questions related to the continuing education requirements.

How Can I Satisfy the CE Requirement for  
License Renewal or Activation? (Part 3 of 3)

By Ryan Adair, Education Director
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DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(16) for presenting to 
the Alabama Real Estate Commission, as 
payment for a fee or fine, a check which was 
returned unpaid by the bank upon which it 
was drawn.

Cecilia Morris Clark
License No. 000087859
Salesperson; Orange Beach, Alabama
Date of Hearing: November 29, 2018
Fined $250

Kayla Dianne Eldridge
License No. 000098420
Salesperson; Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: November 29, 2018
Fined $250

Marla R. Davis
License No. 000003824
Associate Broker; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Fined $250

Robert Oliver Hyde, Jr.
License No. 000114330
Broker; Germantown, Tennessee
Date of Hearing: February 21, 2019
Fined $250

Cory Taylor Rasmus
License No. 000121779
Salesperson; Columbus, Georgia
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Fined $250

Letracey D. Tuck
License No. 000093718
Salesperson; Harvest, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 21, 2019
Fined $250

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(23)a. by having entered a 
plea of guilty to and having been found guilty 
and convicted of a felony and a crime involving 
moral turpitude.

Christi Melissa Murphy-Thomas
License No. 000074957-1
Qualifying Broker; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: October 25, 2018
License revoked

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply 
with Commission Rule 790-X-3-.03(2) in her 
failure to pay over to her qualifying broker 
funds coming into her possession in trust 
for other parties immediately upon receipt 
of same; and guilty of violating Section 
34-27-36(a)(26) by exhibiting conduct which 
constitutes or demonstrates dishonest 
dealings, bad faith, or untrustworthiness 
by misrepresenting the selling company on 
the face of the contract when she was not 
licensed with that company.

Kisa Harris
License No. 000106230
Salesperson; Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Fined $5000 and License revoked

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by violating and 
disregarding the Order of the Commission to 
pay fines.

Eric Cochran
License No. 000095725
Salesperson; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Fined $250

Peerless Property Managers
License No. 000044740
Company; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Fined $250

DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating Section 
34-27-36(a)(15) as a licensed salesperson by 
advertising herself as a real estate salesperson 
without the name or trade name of her 
qualifying broker under whom she is licensed 
appearing prominently on the advertising and 
guilty of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(17) by 
establishing an association, by employment 
or otherwise, with an unlicensed person who 
is expected or required to act as a licensee 
and aiding, abetting and conspiring with a 
person to circumvent the requirements of the 
Alabama Real Estate License Law.

Michelle Lee Baker
License No. 000113840
Temporary Salesperson; Anniston, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 17, 2019
Reprimanded and ordered to attend and 
complete Risk Management Level 1 
(Risk Management: Avoiding Violations) 
in a classroom within 90 days of receipt 
of this Order.

Penalties for violations of the Real Estate License Law and Commission rules vary depending upon the  
particular facts and circumstances present in each case. Due to space limitations in The Update,  

a complete description of the facts cannot be reported below.
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DISPOSITION
The below was found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to 
comply with Section 34-27-35(k) which 
states, inactive licenses shall be held at 
the Commission office until activated. No 
act for which a license is required shall be 
performed under an inactive license.

Vickie Ausmer
License No. 000077443
Salesperson; Homewood, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 21, 2019
License revoked

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply 
with Section 34-27-84(a)(6): (a) Licensees 
shall have all of the following obligations 
to all parties in a real estate transaction; 
(6) To act on behalf of the licensee or his 
immediate family, or on behalf of any 
other individual, organization, or business 
entity in which the licensee has a personal 

interest only with prior timely written 
disclosure of this interest to all parties to 
the transaction.

Michael Tincher 
License No. 000082105 
Salesperson; Huntsville, Alabama 
Date of Hearing: March 21, 2019 
Fined $100

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to 
comply with Section 34-37-34(a)(2) in her 
failure as qualifying broker to see that all 
transactions of the licensee complied with 
the Alabama Real Estate License Law, and 
by failing to require the licensee to provide 
the written disclosure to the purchaser.

Diane Hasley 
License No. 000048170-2, - 4 
Qualifying Broker; Huntsville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 21, 2019 
Fined $1000

  
MARCH – JUNE 2019

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
(Includes Applications for Temporary, 
Broker or Reciprocal licenses.) These 
numbers represent persons who have 
come before the Commission request-
ing hardship extensions to renew 
licenses, complete exams or submit 
applications past the deadline. They 
also represent those who request 
applications for change in status (i.e. 
salesperson to broker).

APPROVED . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  13

DENIED. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   4

Determination of Eligibility 
(Applications for Licensing  
Eligibility Determination)
These numbers represent persons who 
come before the Commission requesting 
approval to be licensed, mainly persons who 
have criminal prosecutions show in their 
criminal background checks. They have an 
opportunity to explain to Commissioners the 
circumstances surrounding these incidences 
and be granted permission to proceed with 
the licensing process or not, based on the 
Commissioners’ ruling.

APPROVED . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   3

DENIED. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   2

COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES 
HANDLED BY LEGAL AND 
INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
FROM LICENSEES . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   1,228

FROM PUBLIC. .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  688

ANONYMOUS/COMMISSION . .  .  .  .  .  .  .  47

Disciplinary Actions  
on Commission’s Website

by Patricia Anderson, Executive Director

In late August, the Commission will 
start posting disciplinary actions on the 
Commission’s website in addition to our 
quarterly Update newsletter. Starting 
with the disciplinary actions occurring 
in July, you will be able to search our 
online database for licensees and view 
any disciplinary actions that have 
been brought against them. 

Before disciplinary actions 
are finalized and posted on the 

site, the 30-day appeal period must 
run. If a licensee appeals a Commission 
action to the Circuit Court, no disciplinary 
action will be posted until the appeals 
process has been exhausted. The online 
database will be updated regularly, but 

the Commission will not display any 
disciplinary actions occurring 
prior to those presented at the 
July 2019 hearing.
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by Eric Aldridge, Information Technology Programmer Analyst

What is the Cloud?

In the field of information technology (IT), 
sometimes words or phrases are used that 
might not make much sense to consumers, 

e.g., buzzwords such as Net Neutrality, Block-
chain and The Internet of Things. The Cloud is 
another one of these terms that might seem a 
little mysterious to some people.

So, what is the Cloud exactly? The Cloud 
is a pool of computing resources (servers, 
storage, applications, etc.) that is provided 
as needed to businesses or individuals from 
a provider’s network. Think of it as a virtual 
locker where you can remotely stash or access 
data. And chances are, you have been using 
some form of the Cloud in one way or another. 
Every time you sign into your Gmail account, 
watch Netflix, or open a file from Dropbox, you 
are using the Cloud.

Before the Cloud your documents might 
have been backed up to a CD-ROM, hard drive, 
or even a floppy disk! Now that information 
can be backed up to the Cloud. When we 
upload data to a cloud-based service such as 
Google Drive or iCloud, then what is happening 
behind the scenes is that the file gets copied 
over the internet and into a data server. These 
servers are actual physical places where com-
panies store files on multiple hard drives. For 
example, when you back up your iPhone to 
the Cloud, your data is being backed up to 
Apple’s servers which are in different parts of 
the world. You can access those servers and 
your files by connecting to the internet. So, 
if your phone breaks you still have your data 
which, at this point, is residing on their serv-
ers. An advantage of cloud computing is the 
fact that you can access data anytime on any 
internet-capable device. This makes it a great 
solution for freeing up space on your personal 
device and creating a safe, seamless way to 
access files.

Cloud storage is also beneficial to busi-
nesses. The billing model for cloud storage is 
usually a “pay for what you use” model. The 
organization can scale up and pay for more 
storage or scale down and pay for less stor-

age. It also allows IT departments to quickly 
deliver the exact amount of storage needed, 
right when it’s needed. This allows IT to 
focus on solving complex application problems 
instead of having to manage storage systems.

Here are a few personal cloud storage 
options that you might find useful:

•	 Amazon Drive offers 5 GB (gigabytes) 
of free cloud storage. If you have an 
Amazon Prime account, the free plan 
includes unlimited photo storage and 
5 GB for other file types. You can pay 
for more if you need additional space.

•	 Google Drive is cloud storage built to 
work seamlessly with Google products. 
You get 15 GB of free online storage 
with Google Drive to keep documents, 
photos, music, and videos. You can 
upgrade to Google One for more space, 
anywhere from 100 GB to 30 TB.

•	 Microsoft OneDrive is Microsoft’s ver-
sion of cloud storage. Users get 5 
GB of free space for any type of file, 
and like Google Drive, OneDrive works 

seamlessly with Microsoft products 
like Outlook Mail.

•	 Apple iCloud is Apple’s cloud storage 
service that’s available to any Apple 
user, whether you have a Mac, iPhone, 
iPad, or iPod touch. You can get 5 GB 
for free, but you can buy more. Much 
like an online backup service, iCloud 
can be used to automatically back 
up your phone’s images, emails, and 
more.

•	 Dropbox gives its users 2 GB for free 
and lets you access the files from the 
web, your desktop, or your mobile 
device. Dropbox Plus or Professional 
can be purchased for 1 TB or more of 
online storage space. There are also 
Dropbox Business plans.

As you can see, the Cloud doesn’t have 
to be mysterious. And its affordability and 
accessibility make it a helpful tool that can 
be beneficial to both individuals as well as 
organizations.
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25th Edition of Alabama License  
Law Book Available Now

The 25th Edition of the Alabama License 
Law is now available for order from ACRE 
(Alabama Center for Real Estate). Go to acre.
cba.ua.edu and click on Education and then 
select Publications in the drop-down menu 
to order copies.

All updated statute and rule changes are 
contained in the 25th edition. Additionally, 
updates have been made to the Keyword 
Index and regular Index. Back by popular 

demand is the Appendix that contains helpful 
documents for qualifying brokers. As always, 
all License Law and rule changes are kept 
current on the Commission’s website at arec.
alabama.gov under the Laws section.

If you are a qualifying broker, you should 
have received a complimentary copy of the 
new law book by mail. If you did not receive a 
copy, please contact ACRE at 205-348-4117.

Mortgage Brokers Call for  
Protected Status for Veterans

©ARELLO®. Reprinted courtesy of ARELLO’s Boundaries magazine.

The National Associa-
tion of Mortgage Bro-
kers (NAMB) recently 

issued an announcement 
calling for its members, and 
members of the public, to 
support efforts to amend the 
U.S. Fair Housing Act and 
Equal Credit Opportunity Act 
to include military veterans 
as a protected classification.

As summarized by the U.S. 
Department of Housing 
and Urban Development, 
the Fair Housing Act (FHA) 
“protects people from dis-
crimination when they are 
renting or buying a home, 
getting a mortgage, seeking 
housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities.” The 
FHA protections apply to housing discrimination because of race, color, 
national origin, religion, sex, familial status and disability. Most types 
of housing are covered by the law, but in very limited circumstances it 
exempts “owner-occupied buildings with no more than four units, single-
family houses sold or rented by the owner without the use of an agent, 
and housing operated by religious organizations and private clubs that 
limit occupancy to members.” The Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA) 

reaches any aspect of a transaction extending credit and prohibits dis-
crimination based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, marital 
status, age, and the receipt of public assistance income.

In its recent press release NAMB said, “Currently, when seeking to apply 
for a mortgage, veterans utilizing their VA housing benefits, are faced 
with those in the market place that discriminated [sic] against them.” 

continued on page 8
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COMMISSION MEETINGS 
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the 
public and that includes real estate licensees. 
Commissioners welcome and encourage 
attendance and observation by any licensee 
in any location. Locations, dates, and times 
can be found on the Commission’s website 
at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2020
Remember to renew all broker, 
salesperson, and company licenses 
in every even-numbered year.

The press release does not provide specific examples but, according to various advocacy 
organizations, discrimination against veterans can involve a variety of circumstances, such 
as: misunderstandings about military income and benefits, and military voucher programs 
used by veterans to pay for housing; fears that active service members may be called to 
duty during the term of a lease; stereotypical notions about active service members, and 
combat veterans in particular; fear of complications associated with Veterans Administra-
tion (VA) loans, etc. And, while the provisions of the FHA and ECOA certainly apply to 
veterans who are otherwise members of protected classes under those laws, advocates 
say that special veteran protections are needed.

Consequently, NAMB argues that Congress should amend the FHA and ECOA to:

• “Expand the protected classes to include veteran status;

• No private right of action to enforce these provisions;

• �Prohibit any person [from taking] the status of being a veteran into account in con-
nection with the evaluation of creditworthiness of an applicant or acceptance of a 
home purchase contract.” 

NAMB also applauded states that “have this protection today: Massachusetts, Indiana, 
Illinois, Washington, Ohio, [and] New York. In addition, California is considering veterans 
protections in the rental market.”

NAMB President Richard Bettencourt said, “The [f]ederal government should implement a 
[f]ederal statute protecting veterans claiming their VA housing benefits. Veterans and their 
families sacrifice each and every day to ensure the American way of life continues and it is 
a small gesture for Congress to amend these current laws so those who pave the way for 
all Americans to live wonderful lives, don’t have to experience unneeded discrimination.” 

While the FHA does not currently cover veterans, many state, county and municipal laws 
and ordinances do so, at least by prohibiting housing discrimination through “source of 
income” provisions that protect those utilizing veterans benefits or public assistance pro-
grams to pay for housing.

MORTGAGE BROKERS CALL FOR  
PROTECTED STATUS FOR VETERANS continued from page 7


