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License Expires
September 30, 2010

General Information
B All licenses, except temporary salesperson licenses, expire

at midnight on September 30, 2010.

M Both active and inactive licenses must be renewed to remain current.
B Renew online a www.ar ec.alabama.gov.
B Renewal formswill be mailed by August 1, 2010.

* If you have not renewed online by August 10, 2010, and have not received
arenewal form by then, you must notify the Alabama Real Estate Commission
that you have not received aform.

« Licenses not renewed by September 30, 2010, will be placed on inactive status
on October 1, 2010.

* Licenses not renewed by September 30, 2011, will lapse and no longer be eligible

for renewal.
Renewal Fees
M Broker ..... $195 M Salesperson..... $175 M Company..... $170
* The above fees include the $2.50 per year ($5.00 total) real estate research
and education fee.

* All company licenses must be renewed, including the sole proprietorships.
 Renewal fees received September 1, 2010, through September 30, 2011,
will be subject to a $150 penalty fee to be paid in addition to the renewd fee.

Late Renewal Fees
M Broker ..... $345 MW Salesperson..... $325 W Company..... $320

Acceptable Forms of Payment
B Online: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, eCheck

B Mail: Persona check, business check, certified funds, cash. No credit cards by mail.

Other license transactions, such as alicense transfer, must be done through regular
transfer procedures and cannot be accomplished through the renewal process.
The renewal process only renewsthe license.
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Renewing online is the best way to renew

your license. It is quick, efficient, and paperless.

Upon completion, you will receive
a confirmation that you can print |
for your files and be assured that
you have paid your fee and

renewed your license. .

|

Follow These Easy Steps:
* Go to the Commission’s website at www.ar ec.alabama.gov and
select the button under “Licensing” labeled “ License Renewal

« You will then see a page with alink to “ Online Services’
showing alist of online services. Click on “START” under the
header “Online Services”

« You will be taken to alogin screen where you can access
your record. Enter your license number (without the leading
zeros and the extension), the last four digits of your social
security number, and your date of birth (format with 2 digits
each for month and day, 4 digits for year, ex. 03/09/1966).

» Answer Enhanced Security Login questions to proceed.

 Once logged into your record, you will see a screen that
will alow you to change your home address, home zip code,
phone number, and email address, if needed. After the
information has been changed or confirmed, click “ Next”
at the bottom of the screen.

* The next screen will show the current contact information the
Commission has on record for you and also alist of Available
Services. Click on “License Renewal” and begin the process
of renewing your license.

* In this phase you will be given the renewal fee amount and
payment options. You will then put in your payment information
for credit card or eCheck. Upon completion of payment,
there will be a confirmation page that you can print and keep
for your records.

""-__—

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission I IEI ! d l E

i

rm:ﬁ

Deadline:

Remember, if renewing online, you must do so by midnight
on August 31, 2010, to avoid the $150 penalty. Do not rely on
your computer clock if you are renewing close to midnight.
The Alabama Real Estate Commission is synced to the

NIST clock at nist.time.gov.

Renewing Company License Online:

Qualifying brokers can renew the company license by
logging into the company record. On the login screen,
put in the company license number, the last four digits

of the qualifying broker’s social security number, and the
qualifying broker's date of birth.

Renewing All Licensees in Company:

Qualifying brokers can renew all or part of their licensees by
logging into the company record. There the qualifying broker
will seealist of al licensees and can check off the ones to be
renewed. The payment screen will then give a total amount
duefor all licenses to be renewed.

Transaction Fee:
* A $3.50 fee is charged by Alabama Interactive to process
the transactions.

Payment Online
« Credit Cards: Visa, American Express, MasterCard, Discover

» eCheck

We encourage all licensees to renew online. There is then no worry about whether or not the Commission
received your mailed renewal and you will receive an immediate confirmation that your license is renewed.
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Licenses to Be Renewed

ALL licenses, including company licenses, must be renewed
EXCEPT 1) temporary salesperson’s licenses and 2) sales-
person’s licenses of those who pass the broker exam in
June, July, August, or September and do not want the
broker’s license issued until October 1, 2010. If you hold or
are responsible for one of the following licenses, renew it before
September 1, 2010, to avoid an additional $150 penalty fee. The

following must be renewed if you want to keep them:

ACTIVE LICENSES
B Salesperson Licenses (not temporaries)

B Broker Licenses which includes:
e First, second, third, fourth, etc. broker licenses
¢ All associate brokers
¢ All qualifying brokers
* All temporary brokers

M All Company Licenses which includes:
* Sole Proprietorships
¢ Corporations
* Branch Offices
* Partnerships

INACTIVE LICENSES

B Salespersons licenses (not temporaries)
M Broker licenses

522, Renewal Deadlines
2 for 2011-2012
W/ Licenses

August 31, 2010
Last day to renew without penalty

September 1, 2010
Add $150 penalty fee

September 30, 2010
Last day to renew in order to have license issued
to active status on October 1, 2010

October 1, 2010
If not renewed for 2011-2012, you are inactive by
operation of law and may not engage in real estate
activities which require a license.

September 30, 2011
Last day to renew the 2011-2012 licenses

O
£
=
3,
kA
R

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission UEDA-lE_

Enhanced Security Login for
Online Services Now Available!

Enhanced Security Login is quickly becoming the
industry standard and is now available to protect

your Alabama Real Estate Commission online services
from unauthorized access and to strengthen the security
of your online session.

Enhanced Login Security Protects You

Enhanced Login Security identifies you as the true “owner” of
your online services because you will be prompted to provide infor-
mation that only you know. This additiona step will defend against
unauthorized access to your online services.

To Participate in Enhanced Security Login You Will be Required to:

® Login to online services through www.arec.alabama.gov.
Activate Enhanced Security Login through the displayed prompts
of security questions/answers.

e All online users will be required to choose and answer three
security questions for Enhanced Security Login verification.

* You will be prompted to choose three separate security questions
and provide the answers to those questions a your login.
The answers you provide to the security questions are not case
sensitive,

¢ A verification email for your Enhanced Security Login will be
available so make sure you verify the email address we have on
file for you or provide an accurate email address at thistime.

Enhanced Security Login After Initial Setup

After initial setup of your Enhanced Security Login you will be
prompted to answer your security questions each time you login to
online services. You will be able to change your security questions
at any time by utilizing the Change Security Questions link through
Available Services. Three failed attempts at login will disable your
online services for an undisclosed period of time.

If you have any questions, contact Brett Scott in the IT Division
at (334) 242-5544. [ |
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N MPORTANT:

Renewal Reminders for
Inactive Licensees

Inactive licensees still haveto renew their licenses by August
31 of each renewal year in order to keep thelicense current
and avoid penalty. An inactive license that is kept current can
be activated at any time, once Qualifying Broker responsibility
has been confirmed and Continuing Education (CE) require-
ments have been met. CE is not required in order to renew an
inactive license; however, payment is required.

' License renewal forms are scheduled to be printed and
mailed by August 1, 2010, to your home or mailing address
which means you should receive them the first week of
August. Should your address ever change, promptly update
your address information with the Real Estate Commission
through our online process or by notifying the Commission
in writing. Unless you have aready renewed online, please
notify the Commission for assistance if you do not receive
arenewal notice by August 10.

Renewal Reminders for
Active Licensees

License renewal forms are scheduled to be mailed by
August 1, 2010, to your company’s address for those who
have not yet renewed online. This means that licensees
should get renewa forms during the first week of August
2010. Contact your Qualifying Broker or Company represen-
tative to see if your renewal form has been received.

' Once all renewal requirements have been met (Renewal
fee paid and CE completed) your new 2011-2012 license
will be available for printing online by the Qualifying Bro-
ker. After July 1, 2010, licenses will no longer be mailed
unless requested by the Qualifying Broker.

’ CE credits must be completed and submitted by instruc-
tors to the Real Estate Commission by September 30,
2010, in order for all license renewal requirementsto have
been met and a license mailed and/or made available for
printing online October 1, 2010. Any active licensee that has
not met CE requirements, regardless of paying the renewal
fee, will be placed on inactive status effective October 1, 2010.

' To activate the license, the licensee must go online using a
credit card or mail a License Activation Form and a $25
check to the Commission.
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RENEWAL
REMINDERS

’ Licenseeswho completed their 30 hour post license cour se
after October 1, 2008, and this is the first year renewing
their license, do not have to complete an additional 15
hours of CE. The 30 hour post license course which was
completed as a requirement for obtaining the original license,
will count as CE for thefirst license renewal period.

Renewal Reminders for

Qualifying Brokers

Please notify the Commission if you desire to continue to
havelicensesmailed to your company after July 1, 2010, in
addition to having them available for printing online. You
can do so by either completing and mailing the License Print
and Mail Form that is on the Commission’s website or provid-
ing a signed statement requesting that licenses continue to be
mailed to your company. You are not required to elect whether
or not you wish to receive printed licenses mailed from the
Commission; however, any Qualifying Broker who does not
affirm an election for their company will no longer be mailed
licenses after July 1 and will be considered a company who
wishes to print licenses online only.

Multiple Broker Licensees

Sometimes it can get confusing when renewing Multiple Bro-
ker’s licenses since Multiple Brokers hold all licenses at the
same location, license numbers are similar, and they are
renewable at the same time. That is why it is important when
choosing not to renew all Multiple Broker licenses, to make
sure you are renewing the one(s) you wish to renew by paying
close attention to the number following the dash after your
license number. Furthermore, you can reference each Multiple
Broker license number to the specific company it is licensed
under as another way to help manage license numbers.

Brokers who hold multiple licenses can renew all licenses at
one time after logging in. The system will only charge the $5
real estate research and education fee for the first license
renewed ($195 total) and will not charge this fee for the
remaining broker license(s) being renewed ($190 after that)
since this is only charged one time per licensee per renewal.
However, when renewing Multiple Broker’s licenses by mail
with a check, remember to only include the $5 research and
education fee for one license number and eliminate including it
in the subsequent license renewal(s). If you forget and include
the additional fee it will be refunded as soon as possible.
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Ensureall renewal notices, including the Company, are
in the renewal package and distributed to all licensees.
Any licensees who have renewed online prior to renewal
notices being printed and mailed from the Commission
will not receive arenewal notice.

' Remember, licenses are available for printing only after
all renewal requirements have been met and the license
has been issued. Therefore, if you have alicensee who has
paid the renewd fee by August 31, 2010, but does not
complete CE requirements until September 27, 2010, then
the license will not be available for printing online and/or
mailed until the CE credit has been reported and the license
has been issued.

' When mailing in a combined check to pay for multiple
license renewals, please submit the payment with all
renewal forms, indicating the licenses you are renewing.
Do not give renewd forms to individual licensees to be
mailed unless each individual is taking care of higher own
license renewal.

Reminders for
General License Renewal

You must renew your license by midnight August 31,
2010, to avoid the $150 late penalty; however, try to
avoid waiting until the last day after 4:30 p.m. During
this time there can be a lot of users trying to log on to
renew their licenses, which can cause the system to be
dow. Since the Alabama Real Estate Commission hours
arefrom 7:30 am. to 4:30 p.m. there will be no staff avail-
able to assist you should you encounter a problem.

' All licensees can conveniently and efficiently renew
their real estate license online starting July 1, 2010,
from the Real Estate Commission’s website, www.ar ec.
alabama.gov, and get immediate confirmation and assur-
ance of renewal completion. The renewal confirmation can
also be printed for your files.

' If you choose to renew your license by mail, please
ensure that it has a postal service postmark date of
August 31, 2010, or earlier. Therefore, if your renewal
gets to the Commission office after August 31, 2010, then
the postmark date will be used to determine timeliness.
Please note: The metered postal date is not used to
determine the official postmark or mail timeliness.

’ Temporary Salesperson licensees who will remain
under Temporary status, whether activeor inactive, past
September 30, 2010, do not haveto renew their licenses.

Make sure checks are signed and made payableto the
Alabama Real Estate Commission. [ |
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Renewal Fees
If submitted on or before

August 31, 2010
Submitted means paid online by
midnight on August 31, 2010,

or if submitted by mail, the official
postmark for the form and fee

is on or before August 31, 2010.
B BrOKEF ...
B SalESPEISON.....ciiiceceieeeee et
B COMPANY .ot

If submitted on or after September 1, 2010
Submitted means paid online after midnight on August 31, 2010,
or if submitted by mail, the official postmark for the form and fee
is on or after September 1, 2010.

0]
B SalESPEISON.....ciivcieieriercee et
B COMPANY ..ot

Renewal by Mail
* Submit your renewal form and appropriate
fee TOGETHER.
* Have your renewal postmarked by
August 31, 2010, to avoid the $150 penalty.
 Make sure the check is in the correct amount, please.
« No changes can be made on the renewal form.
* Do not use someone else’s renewal form unless
you are trying to renew their license!

ayment « Company check e Cashier’s check
by Mail - Personal check - Money order

¢

Online License Print

By now, Qualifying Brokers have received informa-
tion regarding the new online license print feature.
Effective July 1, 2010, the Alabama Real Estate |,
Commission will no longer print and mail licenses to
real estate companies unless the Qualifying Broker 2%
sends a written request to the Commission. i

You can go to the Commission’s website and download the License
Print and Mail Form that is located under “Forms & Info.” Mail that form
back to the Commission or send a request in writing that includes the
company and Qualifying Broker’s name; company license number; and
the best contact phone number. Requests can be emailed, faxed, or
mailed to the Alabama Real Estate Commission, Attention: Licensing
Division. No telephone calls will be accepted to effect any change.
Qualifying Brokers DO NOT need to notify the Commission to take
advantage of the NEW license print option now available online. |
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EDUCATION CORNER

By Ryan Adair, Education Director

CE CREDITC A

Check Your

CE Credit on the
Commisson’s
Webste

B Go to the Commission's website at www.ar ec.

alabama.gov to seethelist of Quick Links onthe
left Side of the homepage. Select the link entitled
“Check CE Credit.”

You will be taken to a screen entitled Online
Services. The Start button under Online Services
will take you to alogin screen. The login screen
requires your license number (without the leading
zeros and the extension), the last four digits
of your social security number, and your date
of birth.

Once logged in, you will see the current contact
information the Commission has on record for
you and also alist of Available Services. Click on
“Licensee CE Credit” to see alist of dl courses
taken for which credit has been submitted. If you
have completed a course and it is not identified in
the list, you should contact the instructor or
school and let them know.

Click on the course title and you will see specific
course information.

In the list of courses, you will also see an option
to evaluate the course. You have 30 daysto evalu-
ate a course. An expired course evaluation does
not affect your course credit in any way.

CE credit for the 2010 license renewa will be
removed from the Commission’s website when
all renewa requirements have been met and the
license has been issued. Make sure you print a
fina copy of your credit prior to that date so you
will have a record of it in case it is needed for
other reasons.

>www.arec.alabama.gov

Q:
A:

In what time frame do courses have to be taken to count toward
renewal for an active 2011-2012 license?

Courses taken between October 1, 2008, and September 30, 2010, are
acceptable for meeting renewal requirements for issuance of an active
license on October 1, 2010. [ License Law Section 34-27-35())(1)]

> How do | know how many CE hours| have taken?
. All licensees can check their CE credit by logging in to the Online

Services section of the Commission’s website and selecting the link
entitled Licensee CE Credit under Available Services.

: How can | find out where cour ses are being offered?
: ThereisaRed Estate Course Search feature on the Commission’s website

located under both the Education and Online Services headings. This
feature allows licensees to search for courses using any of the following
criteria; course type, course hame, and instructor’s last name. You may
also choose between classroom courses and distance education (online)
COUrSes.

. If I am anew licensee and recently completed the 30 hour Post License

course, do | have to take more cour ses for renewal ?

. No. The 30 hour post license course completed during this renewal period

satisfies renewal requirements. [License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(11)]

. If I took 15 hoursof CE during this current license period to activate

my license, will those hours take care of my renewal for the next
period?

- No. If 15 hours of CE weretaken to activate alicense for the first time dur-

ing this license period, an additional 15 hours must be taken to renew that
license for the next period. For example, if your license was activated for
thefirst timein thislicense period in late July, an additional 15 hours must
be taken prior to September 30 in order to have an active license issued on
October 1. [License Law Rule 790-X-1-.13(1) and Section 34-27-35(j)(1)]

: What if | took some coursesin another state?
. Courses taken in another state can be used to satisfy the requirement of

12 elective hours of CE. You must submit the following documentation to
the Commission’s Education Division in order to receive credit:
1. Verification that the course is approved by any real estate commission
2. Verification of the number of hours for which it is approved
3. Verification that you attended 100 percent of the course.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (13)] [ |
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Alabama Real Estate Commission

CONTINUING
EDUCATION

ATTE\ |ON: RECIPROCAL
PERSON AND
XAMIINEES

Broker Examinees

If you pass the broker’'s examination anytime during June,
July, August, or September 2010, you have a choice to make.
You can choose to continue to work under your salesperson’s
license through September 30, 2010, and have the broker’'s
license issued effective October 1, 2010, eliminating the need
to renew your salesperson’s license OR you can choose to
have the broker’s license issued prior to September 30, 2010,
which means you must renew the broker’s license.

When making your decision, remember that in either case
there is no need to renew your salesperson’s license unless
you fail to pass the broker’s exam and you need the salesper-
son's license in order to continue practicing rea estate after
October 1, 2010. If you pay the salesperson’s renewal feg, it
cannot be refunded to you nor can it be credited toward your
broker original license fee.

Reciprocal Salesperson
& Broker Examinees

If you pass the reciprocal salesperson or brokers examina
tion, you may choose to have your license issued prior to
October 1, 2010, OR on or after October 1, 2010. If you
choose to have the license issued prior to October 1, 2010,
it must be renewed. If you choose to have it issued October
1, 2010, or later when €eligible, it will not have to be renewed.
Reciprocal licensees who were licensed in the second year
of the license period (October 1, 2009-September 30, 2010)
are not required to take 15 hours of CE for their first
license renewal. [ |
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License Issuance and
Continuing Education Credit

ince licenses will be issued and available for print this year
S once al renewal requirements have been met, licensees may

begin earning continuing education credit for the next period’s
requirement after the license is issued.

Let’s say that Sam pays hisrenewal fee on July 12, 2010. Sam
then completes 15 hours of CE on August 9 and the instructor
transmits the credit to the Commission on August 16. On
August 16 Sam has now met all renewal requirements and his
license will be issued on August 17 or on the next business
day. Sam can check to be sure of the exact date his license is
issued by going to www.arec.alabama. gov and clicking on
“License Verification” under Licensing. Looking at the
“Renewal License Issue Date” Sam will see 08-17-2010. The
category “ License Expires’ will have a date of 09-30-2012.
Now Sam is sure that his new license has been issued and he
can begin earning continuing education credit for the next
license period. Take note, August 17, 2010, is the earliest date
Sam can begin to earn CE credit for the next renewal period.
In this scenario, if he took a course on August 16 before the
license was issued, the CE would not have counted and he
would have simply lost that credit.

EXEMPTIONS from CE Requirement

As stated in Section 34-27-35(j)(2), there is an for exemption
from CE required for license renewal. Any licensee reaching
the age of 65 on or before September 30, 2000, AND having
been licensed 10 years prior to that date is exempt from CE
requirements. [ |

Continuing Education Requirements
for 2010 License Renewal

¢/ Total CE 15 hours
needed: License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)

¢/ Deadline: September 30, 2010
License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)

¢/ Courses 3 hours in Risk Management
to take: 12 hours in approved elective courses
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)
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Real Estate Commission
1201 Carmichael Way « Montgomery, AL 36106

OUR MISSION
To protect the public through the licensing
and regulating of Real Estate licensees.

OUR VISION
To insure public confidence in
real estate transactions.

OUR VALUES
Excellence in stewardship, service,
innovation, and integrity.
COMMISSIONERS
Jewel D. Buford, Tuscaloosa
Steve Cawthon, Huntsville
Robert S. Hewes, Dothan
Sheila S. Hodges, Gulf Shores
Clifton Miller, Huntsville
Janet R. Morris, Montgomery
Dorothy P. Riggins-Allen, Montgomery
Bill Watts, Birmingham
Nancy Wright, Cullman

D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director
Patricia Anderson, Asst. Executive Director
Vernita Oliver-Lane, Editor
Lori Moneyham, Associate Editor

The Alabama Real Estate Commission
UPDATE is published for the benefit of the
Alabama Real Estate Industry by the
Alabama Real Estate Commission.

Phone: 334.242.5544
Fax: 334.270.9118
www.arec.alabama.gov
arec@arec.alabama.gov

COMMISSION MEETINGS
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the
public and that includes real estate
licensees. Commissioners welcome and
encourage attendance and observation by
any licensee in any location.
Locations, dates, and times can be found
on the Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES EXPIRE
September 30, 2010
Remember to renew all broker,
salesperson, and company licenses
in every even-numbered year.

Presort Standard
U.S. Postage
PAID
Montgomery, AL
Permit 286

Renewal Requirements for Reciprocal Licensees
Option 1

Take 15 hours of Alabama-approved CE including three hours of Risk Management
and 12 elective hours. The elective hours can be taken out of state as long as you
provide verification that you attended the course, verification that the course was
approved by any real estate commission, and the number of hours for which it was
approved.

Option 2

Submit a certification of licensure or letter from the regulatory agency in the state
where prelicense course work was completed and the licensing examination was
passed. The certification of licensure or letter must show:

1. The type of license

2. The company by whom the license is held

3. Proof that the license is active and current at least through September 30, 2010
4. Proof that prelicense course work requirements were met in that state

5. Proof that a full licensing examination, not just the state portion, was passed
in that state

* The certification of licensure or letter must be an original certification
unless it was faxed directly from the real estate commission office.

« A letter was mailed to all reciprocal licensees detailing these options
and the requirements of each. |



