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SPECIAL 2018 LICENSE RENEWAL ISSUE

This issue of The Update contains important information about the renewal process.
For additional information, visit the Commission’s website arec.alabama.gov,
Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

LICENSE RENEWAL DEADLINE IS AUGUST 31, 2018.
Payment Must Be Received by AUGUST 31, 2018 to Avoid $150 Penalty.

What Licenses Must Be Renewed?

ALL licenses must be renewed EXCEPT temporary salesperson TEMPORARY SALESPERSON LICENSES

Iicensgs and salesperson licenses of those who pass the broker Temporary Salesperson licenses are not renewed;
exam in June, July, August, or September and do not want the . oo if vou have a temporary salesperson's license
broker I_|cense issued until Octoper 1, 2_018. If_ you_holq or are and you can maintain that license after September 30,
responsible for one of the following active or inactive licenses, 2018 you will not have to renew your license in 2018,
you must pay the renewal fee by August 31, 2018 to avoid an addi- For example, if your Temporary Salesperson’s license

tional $150 penalty fee. expires October 31, 2018 then you could complete your

ACTIVE LICENSES post license coursework requirements and have your

o Salesperson licenses (not temporaries) original salesperson’s license issued on October 1, 2018.
P . L P This license would not expire until September 30, 2020.
¢ Broker licenses which includes:

First, second, third, fourth, etc. broker licenses (not temporaries)

- Al quaiying boker onses SSYTTIIIAD (N 1118 15s1

e All company licenses which includes: sole proprietorships,
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RENEWAL FEES

These fee totals are the license renewal fee plus the real estate
research and education fee ($7.50 per year; $15 total for the two-year
license period) for salespersons and brokers. Brokers with multiple
licenses will only pay the real estate research and education fee once.

All companies, including sole proprietorships must pay license

renewal fee.

Renewal fees received or postmarked September 1, 2018 through
September 30, 2019 will be subject to a $150 penalty fee to be paid

in addition to the renewal fee.

Acceptable Forms of Payment

No credit card payments can be accepted by phone or mail.

Online: Mail
eCheck Personal check
Visa Business check
MasterCard Certified funds
American Express
Discover

» RENEWAL FEES

(for active and inactive licenses)

if paid by

August 31, 2018

* Broker ....................... $205
 Salesperson................ $185
e Company .................... $170

» LATE RENEWAL FEES

(for active and inactive licenses)

if paid beginning

September 1, 2018

° Broker..................... $355
» Salesperson............... $335
o Company .................... $320

Pl.E ASE NOTE Credit card billing statement will show transaction description as a charge from
“State of Alabama” for payments made to the Alabama Real Estate Commission.

RENEVW ONLINE .....samesor

Quick. Secure. Instant Confirmation.
Renew your license online at arec.alabama.gov.

Both active and inactive licenses must be renewed to remain cur-
rent. Renewing online is fast, convenient and you receive immedi-
ate confirmation that your payment has been processed. No need
to mail a check and delay confirmation, in addition to Visa, Master-
Card, American Express, and Discover you can pay online using an
electronic check (eCheck). eCheck is another convenient and quick
way to pay for your license renewal online. To use an eCheck online
you simply enter your checking account number from the bottom of
a paper check. All online renewal payment transactions, including
eCheck, are processed through NIC and Alabama Interactive
eGovernment Solution for the state of Alabama.

AUGUST 31, 2018
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Renewing online is secure.

NIC and Alabama Interactive affirm, “...commitment to secu-
rity is unparalleled. Our security solutions focus on the people,
processes, and technology requirements to ensure a forward lean-
ing information security posture. We maintain a layered security
approach with audits, testing, and governance controls. In addi-
tion, we are certified by the Payment Card Industry Data Security
Standards (PCI-DSS) as a Level 1 Service Provider and listed as a
PCI-DSS Compliant provider on Visa's Global Registry of Service
Providers. Our payment solutions nat only comply with accounting
and audit standards, they also exceed the standards set by the
Payment Card Industry.”

DO NOT LET AUGUST 31 SNEAK UP ON YOU.
Avoid the penalty and renew online today.
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meorrant RENEVWAL REMINDERS

Renewal Reminders for INACTIVE LICENSEES

@@ Inactive licensees must renew their inactive licenses by
August 31 of each renewal year to keep the license current
and avoid penalty.

@@ License renewal forms are scheduled to be printed and mailed
by mid-July to your home or mailing address for those who
have not renewed online, which means you should receive them
by the end of July. If your address or other contact information has
changed, please update this information with the Commission
through our online process or by notifying the Commission in writing.
If renewal form is not received by August 10, you should renew
online or request another from the Commission.

Renewal Reminders for ACTIVE LICENSEES

@ License renewal forms are scheduled to be mailed by mid-July
to your company's address for those who have not yet
renewed online. This means licensees should get renewal forms by
the end of July. Contact your qualifying broker or company represen-
tative to confirm that your renewal form has been received. If renew-
al form is not received by August 10, you should renew online or
request another from the Commission.

@ Licensees who completed the 30-hour post license course on
or after October 1, 2016 do not have to complete an additional
15 hours of CE. The 30-hour post license course, which was com-
pleted as a requirement for obtaining the original license, will count
as all 15 hours of CE.

Renewal Reminders for QUALIFYING BROKERS

@ Ensure all renewal forms, including the company’s form, are in

the renewal package and then distribute them to all licensees.
Any licensee who has renewed online prior to renewal notices being
mailed from the Commission will not receive a renewal form. If you
have licensees who inactivate or transfer to other companies after
renewal forms are mailed, please ensure that you forward their
renewal forms to them since they are still required to renew their
licenses. If you cannot forward their renewal forms, please contact
the Commission and we will send them new renewal forms.

@@~ If you are renewing an active company license online and you
have active licensees registered under you, then you MUST
renew your company license AND qualifying broker license
together. If you do not have licensees registered under you, then
you may renew your qualifying broker license without renewing the
company license. However, if you do not renew the company license
by midnight on September 30, 2018 it will expire on October 1, 2018.

@@ Remember, licenses are available for printing only after all
renewal requirements have been met and the license has
been issued. Therefore, if you have a licensee who has paid their
renewal fee by the August 31 deadline, but has not completed CE
requirements, the new 2019-2020 license will not be mailed or made
available for printing until the CE credit has been reported to the
Commission and the license has been issued.

@ If you are mailing one check to pay for multiple license
renewals, please include all renewal forms for the licenses
you are renewing. Do not give a renewal form to an individual
licensee to be mailed unless that person is paying for his/her own
license renewal fee.

How to Reset Your Online Services Login Password

If you have already created a username and pass-
word for Online Services and cannot remember your
login credentials, you can reset your password by
selecting the option at the bottom of the login applica-
tion. Begin by entering your username; however, if you have
forgotten your username, you can enter your license number
or email address and proceed. You should receive an email
within thirty minutes of submitting your request with
instructions on completing the resetting of your password.
If you do not find the email in your inbox, check to make
sure that it is not in your spam or junk mail folder. If you do
not receive an email after completing these steps, you
should contact the Commission for assistance.
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If you have never created a valid username and
password, click on Online Services Login from the
main page and enter your license number in the
username field. \When you enter your license number
make sure you enter it without the dash zero or number
which follows the nine-digit number. For example, if your
license number is 000045555-2 then you should enter it as
000045555 or 45555. You will then be directed to a regis-
tration page where a username and password can be cre-
ated. Once your username and password have been creat-
ed you can immediately log in to the available services to
renew your license.
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RENEWING A LICENSE CAN BE EASY —

ANSWERS PROVIDED HERE

»¢ Renewing Inactive License?

Renewal fee paid by August 31, 2018
+ no continuing education
= a renewed current license that will be issued
on October 1, 2018.
(The license can be activated once your continuing education
has been satisfied for the 2019-2020 license period.)

»¢ Renewing Active License?

Renewal fee paid by August 31, 2018

+ 15 hours continuing education by September 30, 2018
= an active current license on October 1, 2018.
(September 30, 2018 is when the current license expires and

it is also the deadline for completing 15 hours of CE for an
active license on October 1, 2018.)

o¢ Renewing Multiple Broker
Licenses?

Pay $205 for one of your broker licenses
(which includes the $15 research and education fee)

+ $190 for each additional broker license
you are renewing.

(You pay the research and education fee only once.)

o¢ Renewing Active Company with

Registered Licensees Online?

When a company has registered licensees, the company
license AND qualifying broker license MUST be renewed
together online. (If no registered licensees are with the compa-
ny, then the qualifying broker’s license can be renewed without

renewing the company license. Company licenses not renewed by
midnight on September 30, 2018 will expire on October 1, 2018.)

o¢ Late Renewal Payment

Deadline?

Renewal fees paid online or postmarked September 1,
2018 through September 30, 2019 will be assessed a
$150 penalty in addition to the renewal fee.

Renewing Active and Inactive
License by Mail?

Please confirm that your check is filled out completely with the
correct amount, date, signature and made payable to the Alabama
Real Estate Commission.

Return the renewal form

+ pay the renewal fee by check.

If mailing a combined check for multiple licenses, individual
renewal forms for each licensee must be included.

*¢ Printing Renewed Licenses?

Renewed licenses are available for printing by your quali-
fying broker after all renewal requirements have been met
and the license has been issued. If a broker has a licensee
who renewed by the August 31, 2018 deadline but did not com-
plete CE requirements, the new 2019-2020 license will not be
mailed or made available for printing until CE credits have been
reported to the Commission and the license has been issued.
Also, if CE is not satisfied before September 30, 2018 and the
license is placed inactive by the Commission, the license will not
be available for mailing or printing until CE is satisfied and the
license reactivation and $25 fee have been processed.

UG You must renew your license online before midnight
August 31, 2018 to avoid the $150 penalty fee.

a [ETTRITINED) ALABAMA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Please try to avoid waiting until the last day to renew. The Commission
offices close at 4:30 p.m. and after this time no team members will be
available to assist you should you encounter an issue.
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HOW TO PLAN

A SUCCESSFUL RENEWAL

GOAL1: GOAL 2:

Ensure that your renewal fee is paid Ensure that your 15 hours of CE is com-
by August 31, 2018. pleted by midnight September 30, 2018.

Pay by August 31, 2018 to avoid the additional $150 penalty fee If you plan to maintain an active license on October 1, 2018, in addition to
required if renewal is done September 1, 2018 through September 30, completing goal one, 15 hours of CE credit must be completed and submit-
2019. Also, paying by this deadline will ensure that your license will ted by instructors to the Commission before midnight September 30, 2018
not expire or lapse. If you plan to maintain an inactive license on for all license renewal requirements to have been met and an active license
October 1, 2018, by accomplishing this one goal you will have suc- mailed or made available for printing online October 1, 2018. Any active
cessfully renewed. If you plan to maintain an active license, you must licensee who has not met CE requirements, regardless of paying the renew-
also complete goal two — 15 hours of CE by September 30, 2018. al fee, will be placed on inactive status effective October 1, 2018.

Once renewed, if your license is issued inactive on October 1, 2018 and you wish to have an active license
you can easily accomplish this by assuring that all CE requirements have been satisfied, qualifying broker
consent has been confirmed, and a $25 activation fee has been paid. Activations can be accomplished
from the Commission’s website under Online Services Login or by mailing
a completed activation form and $25 fee.

Risk Management Requirements

CE requirements for the renewal of an active license are six (6) hours of Risk Management coursework and nine (9) hours of
other approved CE courses. A licensee must have both Levels 1 and 2 of Risk Management courses to satisfy the requirement.

You must take Risk Management: Avoiding

Level 1 for Risk Management includes Violations for Level 1

* the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations
course required for all licensees —
both salespersons and brokers. You can choose from the following courses
to satisfy Level 2:

Level 2 for Risk Management includes the * Risk Management for Salespersons

a Risk Management for Salespersons course,
the Risk Management for Brokers course
or an industry-specific Risk Management
course approved by the Commission.

* Risk Management for Brokers

* Risk Management courses in other areas
such as Commercial Real Estate and
Property Management if they are approved
by the Commission

SPECIAL LICENSE RENEWAL ISSUE 2018 ALABAMA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION @HIIRUARNEN 5



Continuing Education
REC]UIrementS for License Renewal in 2018

Basic Information

» Total CEneeded. .. ... ... 15 hours
License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)

Deadline ..................... September 30, 2018
License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)

» Courses to take...6 hours in Risk Management
9 hours in approved courses
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)

0:A

= Can | take more than six hours of

* Risk Management?

YES. A good example is a salesperson who takes Risk Manage-
ment: Avoiding Violations for Level 1 and Risk Management for
Salespersons for Level 2. That will satisfy the Risk Management
requirement but the salesperson can also take Risk Management
for Brokers and have that course satisfy three of the remaining 9
hours of CE. The same would apply to brokers who desire to take
Risk Management for Salespersons as an extra course.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)a)(b)c)]

A

In what time frame must courses be taken to

* count toward renewal for an active 2019-2020
license?

Courses taken between the date of issuance of a renewed license
in 2016 and the date of September 30, 2018 are acceptable for
meeting renewal requirements for issuance of an active license on
October 1, 2018.

[License Law Section 34-27-35(j)(1)]

2 P

How do | know how many CE hours

| have taken?

All licensees can check their CE credit by logging in to the Online
" Services section of the Commission’s website and selecting the
link entitled CE Credit under Available Services.

>0
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How can | find out where courses are
being offered?

There is a Course Search feature on the Commission's website
located in the Education section under the Professionals heading.
This feature allows licensees to search for courses using any of
the following criteria: course type, course name, instructor’s last
name, and location. You may also choose between classroom
courses and distance education (online) courses.

= |f I am a new licensee and recently completed

the 30-hour Post License course, do | have to
take more courses for renewal?
No. The 15 hours of CE earned from the Post License course will

satisfy the CE requirement for the first renewal of a license.
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(11)]

= If I took 15 hours of CE during this current

license period to activate my inactive license,
will those hours take care of my renewal for
the next period?

No. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for the first
time during this license period, an additional 15 hours must be tak-
en to renew that activated license for the next period. For exam-
ple, if your license was activated for the first time in this license
period in late June, an additional 15 hours must be taken prior to
September 30 to have the renewed license issued on active status
on October 1.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.13(1) and Section 34-27-35(j)(1)]

" What if | took courses in another state?
= Classroom courses taken in another state can be used to satisfy

the requirement of nine (9) hours of CE, but not the Risk Manage-
ment requirement. You must submit the following documentation
to the Commission’s Education Division to receive credit:

1. Verification that the course is approved by any real estate
commission

2. Verification of the number of hours for which it is approved
3. Verification that you attended 100% of the course
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12(13)]

SPECIAL LICENSE RENEWAL ISSUE 2018



ATTENTION: Qualifying Brokers

Check the CE Credit for All Licensees in Your Company

As a qualifying broker, you can check the CE for all licensees in your company.
This is encouraged to make sure everyone has satisfied
the CE requirement for an active license.

Log in to the Commission’s Online Services and select the
CE Credit link under Available Services. You can check your
own CE here but also see the CE credit for licensees in your
company. Select your company and you will see a list of
licensees who have taken CE courses. If a licensee’s name
does not appear, that means no CE credit has been submit-
ted. All company licensees who have taken CE courses will
be identified as meeting CE or not. Selecting the license
number of an individual will reveal all courses currently sub-
mitted to the Commission.

All qualifying brokers are encouraged to continue review-
ing this information to make sure all company licensees have
satisfied the CE requirement allowing them to have an active
license on October 1. Some licensees may think they have
completed all 15 hours but may not have taken a required
Risk Management course.

Exemptions from CE Requirement

As stated in Section 34-27-35(j)(2) of Alabama License
Law, there are two possibilities for exemption from CE
required for license renewal.

1) Any licensee reaching the age of 65 on or before September
30, 2000 AND having been licensed 10 years prior to that date
is exempt from CE requirements.

Example: This CE exemption only applies to a licensee who
is currently 82 years old or older and was licensed prior to
September 30, 1990.

2) Reciprocal licensees who have held an Alabama license for
less than one year are not required to show proof of CE for the
first renewal of their license.

Example: This CE exemption only applies to a reciprocal
licensee who received an Alabama license after
September 30, 2017.

Log in to Online Services on the Commission’s website at
arec.alabama.gov.

‘/ Once logged in, you will see the current contact informa-
tion the Commission has on record for you as well as a
list of Available Services. Click on CE Creditto see a list
of all courses taken for which credit has been submitted.

(If you have completed a course and it is not identified in
the list, you should contact the instructor or school and

let them know.)

Click on the course title and you will see specific course
information.

SPECIAL LICENSE RENEWAL ISSUE 2018

In the list of courses, you will also see an option to
evaluate the course. You have 30 days to evaluate
each course. An expired course evaluation does not
affect your course credit in any way.

‘/ CE courses for the 2018 license renewal are archived
when all renewal requirements have been satisfied and
the active license has been issued. Both current and
archived courses can be seen in a licensee’s Available
Services.

./ After meeting renewal requirements for this renewal,
courses completed for the next license renewal in 2020
will be shown in this area of the website.
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EMPOWER, CONNECT, AND EDUCATE

INIIWER Empowering the real estate
professional and the consumer.

[INYEET Connecting the real estate
professional and consumer to
the resources they need.

FITEATE Educating the real estate
professional and the consumer.
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THE UPDATE
is published for the benefit of the

Alabama Real Estate Industry by the
Alabama Real Estate Commission.

COMMISSION MEETINGS
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

All Commission meetings are open to the
public and that includes real estate licensees.
Commissioners welcome and encourage
attendance and observation by any licensee
in any location. Locations, dates, and times
can be found on the Commission’s website
at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2018
Remember to renew all broker,
salesperson, and company licenses

in every even-numbered year.
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Montgomery, AL
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RECIPROCAL LICENSEES

Reciprocal licensees have options from which to choose to satisfy CE
requirements for license renewal.

M OPTION 1: Take 15 hours of Alabama-approved CE including six (6) hours of Risk

Management and nine (9) hours of other approved courses. The nine (9) hours of CE can
be taken in another state as long you provide verification that you attended the course,
verification that the course was approved by any real estate commission, and the number
of hours for which it was approved.

Submit a certification of licensure or letter from the regulatory agency in
the state where prelicense coursework was completed and the licensing examination was
passed. The certification of licensure or letter must show:

1. The type of license

The license is active and expires after September 30, 2018
The company by whom the license is held

Prelicense coursework requirements were met in that state

A

Afull licensing examination, not just the state portion, was passed in that state

The certification of licensure or letter must be dated no earlier than June 1, 2018.
A real estate commission may mail or email original certifications of licensure
to our Education Division. Licensees who can access their official certification
of licensure on their real estate commission’s website may mail or email it to
our Education Division.

A letter was mailed to all reciprocal licensees detailing these options and the require-
ments of each.



