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- SPECIAL 2016 LICENSE RENEWAL ISSUE

This issue of The Update contains
important information about the
renewal process.

For additional information,

visit the Commission’s website
arec.alabama.gov, Facebook,
Twitter and Instagram sites.

What Licenses
Must Be Renewed?

ALL licenses must be renewed EXCEPT temporary salesper-
son licenses and salesperson licenses of those who pass
the broker exam in June, July, August, or September and do
not want the broker license issued until October 1, 2016. If
you hold or are responsible for one of the following licenses,
you must pay the renewal fee for all licenses by August 31,
2016 to avoid an additional $150 penalty fee.

ACTIVE LICENSES

e Salesperson licenses (not temporaries)

¢ Broker licenses which includes:
First, second, third, fourth, etc. broker licenses
(not temporaries)

e All associate brokers

e All qualifying brokers

e All company licenses which includes:

Sole Proprietorships, Corporations,
Branch Offices, Partnerships

INACTIVE LICENSES

e Salesperson licenses (not temporaries)
e Broker licenses
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Other license transactions, such as a license transfer, must be
done through regular transfer procedures and cannot be
accomplished through the renewal process.

INACTIVE LICENSEES

Continuing Education is not required to renew or maintain
an inactive license; however, inactive licensees still have to
renew their inactive licenses by August 31 of each renewal

year to keep the license current and avoid penalty.
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RENEWAL FEES

» RENEWAL FEES

if paid by

August 31, 2016

e Broker ........................ $205

* Salesperson................. $185  feeonlyonce.
e Company ..................... $170

These fees are the license
renewal fee plus the $7.50 per
year (815 total for the two-year
license period) real estate
research and education fee for brokers and salespersons. Brokers
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with multiple licenses will pay the real estate research and education

All company licenses must be renewed, including the sole proprietorships.

Renewal fees received or postmarked September 1, 2016 through

LATE RENEWAL FEES

September 30, 2017 will be subject to a $150 penalty fee to be paid in

addition to the renewal fee.

if paid beginning
September 1, 2016

° Broker....................... $355
» Salesperson................ $335
e Company ..................... $320

RENEW ONLINE “%%

Quick. Easy. Instant Conflrmatlop" - ,—v

Renew your license online
at arec.alabama.gov.

Both active and inactive licenses must be renewed to
remain current. Renewing online is fast, convenient and
you receive immediate confirmation that your payment
has been processed. No need to mail a check and delay
confirmation, in addition to Visa, MasterCard, American
Express, and Discover you can pay online using an elec-
tronic check (eCheck). eCheck is another convenient
and quick way to pay for your license renewal
online. To use an eCheck online you simply enter your
checking account number from the bottom of a paper
check. All online renewal payment transactions, includ-
ing eCheck, are processed through NIC and Alabama
Interactive eGovernment Solution for the state of
Alabama.
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Acceptable Forms of Payment
Online: eCheck, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover

Mail: Personal check, business check, certified funds, and cash.
No credit cards by mail. No payments by phone.
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Renewing online is secure.

NIC and Alabama Interactive affirm, “...commitment to
security is unparalleled. Our security solutions focus on
the people, processes, and technology requirements to
ensure a forward leaning information security posture.
We maintain a layered security approach with audits,
testing, and governance controls. In addition, we are cer-
tified by the Payment Card Industry Data Security Stan-
dards (PCI-DSS) as a Level 1 Service Provider and listed
as a PCI-DSS Compliant provider on Visa's Global Reg-
istry of Service Providers. Our payment solutions not only
comply with accounting and audit standards, they also
exceed the standards set by the Payment Card Industry.”

Do not let August 31 sneak up on you.
Avoid the penalty and renew online today.
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If you have already created a username

and password and cannot remember your

login credentials, you can reset your pass-
word by selecting the option at the bottom of
the login application. Begin by entering your
username; however, if you have forgotten your username,

you can enter your license number or email address and proceed. You
should receive an email within thirty minutes of submitting your request
with instructions on completing the resetting of your password. If you
do not find the email in your inbox, check to make sure that it is not in
your spam or junk mail folder. If you do not receive an email after com-
pleting these steps, you should contact the Commission for assistance.
If you have never created a valid username and password, click on

Renewing a License Can Be Easy —

» Renewing Inactive License?

Renewal fee paid by August 31, 2016 + no continuing education
= a renewed current license that will be issued on October 1,
2016. (The license can be activated once your continuing education has
been satisfied for the 2017-2018 license period.)

» Renewing Active License?

Renewal fee paid by August 31, 2016 + 15 hours continuing edu-
cation by September 30, 2016 = an active current license on
October 1, 2016. (September 30, 2016 current license expires and
deadline for 15 hours of CE for an active license on October 1, 2016)

» Renewing Multiple Broker Licenses?

Pay $205 for one of your broker licenses (which includes the $15
research and education fee) + $190 for each additional broker
license you are renewing. (Pay research and education fee only once.)

» Renewing Active Company with
Registered Licensees Online?

When a company has registered licensees, the company
license AND qualifying broker license MUST be renewed
together online. (If no registered licensees are with the company,
then the Qualifying Broker license can be renewed without renewing
the company license. Company licenses not renewed by midnight on
September 30, 2016 will expire on October 1, 2016.)
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How to Reset Your Online Services Login Password

Online Services Login from the main page and enter your license num-
ber in the username field. When you enter your license number make
sure you enter it without the dash zero or number which follows the
nine-digit number. For example, if your license number is 000045555-2
then you should enter it as 000045555 or 45555. You will then be direct-
ed to a registration page where a username and password can be cre-
ated. Once your username and password have been created you can
immediately log in to the available services to renew your license.

You must renew your license online before midnight August 31, 2016
to avoid the $150 penalty fee. Please try to avoid waiting until the last
day to renew. The Commission offices close at 4:30 p.m. and after this
time no team members will be available to assist you should you
encounter an issue.

» Late Renewal Payment Deadline?

Renewal fees paid online or postmarked September 1, 2016
through September 30, 2017 will be assessed a $150 penalty in
addition to the renewal fee.

» Renewing Active and Inactive License
by Mail?
Please confirm that your check is filled out completely with
the correct amount, date, signature and made payable to the
Alabama Real Estate Commission. Return the renewal form +
pay renewal fee by check. If mailing a combined check for multi-

ple licenses, individual renewal forms for each licensee must be
included.

» Printing Renewed Licenses?

Renewed licenses are available for printing by your Broker after
all renewal requirements have been met and the license has
been issued. If a broker has a licensee who renewed by the August
31, 2016 deadline but did not complete CE requirements, the new
2017-2018 license will not be mailed or made available for printing
until CE credits have been reported to the Commission and the license
has been issued. Also, if CE is not satisfied before September 30, 2016
and the license is placed inactive by the Commission, the license will
not be available for mailing or printing until the license reactivation
and $25 fee have been processed.
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=S CONTINUING EDUCATION
Juestions

The 7 Most

(and Answers)

About CE

Q: Can | take more than six hours of Risk
Management?

A: Yes. A good example is a salesperson who takes Risk Management:
Avoiding Violations for Level 1 and Risk Management for Salesper-
sons for Level 2. That will satisfy the Risk Management requirement
but the salesperson can also take Risk Management for Brokers and
have that course satisfy three of the remaining 9 hours of CE. The
same would apply to brokers who desire to take Risk Management
for Salespersons as an extra course.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)a)b)c)]

Q: In what time frame do courses have to be taken
to count toward renewal for an active 2017-2018
license?

A Courses taken between the date of issuance of a renewed license
in 2014 and the date of September 30, 2016 are acceptable for
meeting renewal requirements for issuance of an active license on
October 1, 2016.

[License Law Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)]

Q: How do | know how many CE hours | have taken?

A: Al licensees can check their CE credit by logging in to the Online
Services section of the Commission’s website and selecting the link
entitled CE Credit under Available Services.

Q: How can I find out where courses are being
offered?

A There is a Course Search feature on the Commission’s website
located in the Education section under the Professionals heading.
This feature allows licensees to search for courses using any of the
following criteria: course type, course name, instructor's last name,

a [ETTHTTINED) ALABAMA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Popular

and location. You may also choose between classroom courses and
distance education (online) courses.

Q: If I am a new licensee and recently completed the
30-hour Post License course, do | have to take
more courses for renewal?

Az No. The 15 hours of CE eamned from the Post License course will be
applied toward the first renewal of a license.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (11)]

Q: If I took 15 hours of CE during this current license
period to activate my inactive license, will those
hours take care of my renewal for the next period?

A: No. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for the first time
during this license period, an additional 15 hours must be taken to
renew that activated license for the next period. For example, if your
license was activated for the first time in this license period in late
June, an additional 15 hours must be taken prior to September 30 in
order to have the renewed license on active status on October 1.
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.13 (1) and Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)]

Q: What if | took courses in another state?
A Courses taken in another state can be used to satisfy the requirement
of nine (9) hours of CE, but not the Risk Management requirement.
You must submit the following documentation to the Commission’s
Education Division in order to receive credit:
1. Verification that the course is approved by any real estate
commission
2. Verification of the number of hours for which it is approved
3. Verification that you attended 100% of the course
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (13)]
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e CERenewal Requirements

uCCULLINN  for Reciprocal Licensees
Requirements

. Reciprocal licensees have options from which to
for License choose to satisfy CE requirements for license renewal.
Renewal OPTION 1

= Take 15 hours of Alabama approved CE including six (6) hours of Risk Management
"] 201 6 and nine (9) hours of other approved courses. The nine (9) hours of CE can be taken
in another state as long as you provide verification that you attended the course,
verification that the course was approved by any real estate commission, and the
number of hours for which it was approved.

TOTAL CE OPTION 2

NEEDED Submit a cr_artification of licensure or letter from the regqlatory agency .in the state
where prelicense course work was completed and the licensing examination was

15 HOURS passed. The certification of licensure or letter must show:

1. The type of license

2. The license is active and current at least through September 30, 2016

3. The company by whom the license is held

4. Prelicense course work requirements were met in that state

5. Afulllicensing examination, not just the state portion, was passed in that state

D EAD LI N E The certification of licensure or letter must be dated no earlier than June 1, 2016
and it must be an original certification unless it was faxed directly to us from the
real estate commission office.
September 30,

A letter was mailed to all reciprocal licensees detailing these options and the require-

201 6 ments of each.

COURSES Exemptions for CE Requirement

TO TAKE As stated in Section 34-27-35(j)(2) of Alabama License Law, there are
two possibilities for exemption from CE required for license renewal.
6 HOURS 1. Any licensee reaching the age of 65 on or before September 30, 2000
in RiSk AND having been licensed 10 years prior to that date is exempt from
CE requirements.

Management Example: This CE exemption only applies to a licensee who is currently

9 HOURS 80 years old or older and was licensed prior to September 30, 1990.
- d 2. Reciprocal licensees who have held an Alabama license for less than one
In approve year are not required to show proof of CE for the first renewal of their

courses license.

Example: This CE exemption only applies to a reciprocal licensee who
received an Alabama license after September 30, 2015.
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Risk Management Requirements

CE requirements for the renewal of an active license
are six (6) hours of Risk Management coursework
and nine (9) hours of other approved CE courses.

A licensee must have both Levels 1 and 2 to satisfy
the requirement.

Level 1 for Risk Management includes
* the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations

course required for all licensees. ..

both salespersons and brokers.

Level 2 for Risk Management includes
a the Risk Management for Brokers course

which is required for all brokers...

both associate and qualifying.

Level 2 for Risk Management also includes
e the Risk Management for Salespersons

course and Risk Management courses in

other areas approved by the Commission.

Qualifying Broker
You must take Risk Management: Avoiding Violations for
Level 1 and Risk Management for Brokers for Level 2.

Associate Broker
You must take Risk Management: Avoiding Violations for
Level 1 and Risk Management for Brokers for Level 2.

Salesperson
You must take Risk Management: Avoiding Violations for Level 1.
You can choose from the following courses to satisfy Level 2:
* Risk Management for Salespersons
* Risk Management for Brokers
* Risk Management courses in other areas such as
Commercial Real Estate and Property Management
as long as they are approved by the Commission

(IESIANNES ALABAMA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

ATTENTION
QUALIFYING
BROKERS:

Check the CE
Credit for All
Licensees In
Your Company

As a Qualifying Broker, you have the
ability to check the CE for all licensees in
your company. This is encouraged to
make sure everyone has satisfied the CE
requirement for an active license.

Log in to the Commission’s Online
Services and select the CE Credit link
under Available Services. You can check
your own CE here and also see the CE
credit for licensees in your company.
Select your company and you will see a
list of licensees who have taken CE
courses. If a licensee’s name does not
appear, that means no CE credit has
been submitted. All company licensees
who have taken CE courses will be iden-
tified as meeting CE or not. Selecting the
license number of an individual will
reveal all courses currently submitted to
the Commission.

All Qualifying Brokers are encouraged
to continue reviewing this information to
make sure all company licensees have
satisfied the CE requirement allowing
them to have an active license on Octo-
ber 1. Some licensees may think they
have completed all 15 hours but may
have taken the wrong Risk Management
course.
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How to Plan for
a Successful
License Renewal

Ensure that

your renewal fee is paid
by August 31, 2016.

Pay by August 31, 2016 to avoid the additional $150
penalty fee required if renewal is done September 1,
2016 through September 30, 2017. Also, paying by this
deadline will ensure that your license will not expire or
lapse. If you plan to maintain an inactive license on
October 1, 2016, by accomplishing this one goal you
will have successfully renewed. If you plan to maintain
an active license, you can make the case that renewal
goal one has been accomplished; however, you still
must complete goal two-15 hours of CE by September
30, 2016.

GOAL 2: Ensure that
your 15 hours of CE is

completed by midnight
September 30, 2016.

If you plan to maintain an active license on October 1, 2016, in
addition to completing goal one, 15 hours of CE credit must be
completed and submitted by instructors to the Commission
before midnight September 30, 2016 in order for all license
renewal requirements to have been met and an active license
mailed or made available for printing online October 1, 2016.
Any active licensee who has not met CE requirements, regard-
less of paying the renewal fee, will be placed on inactive status
effective October 1, 2016.

Once renewed, if your license is issued inactive on October 1, 2016 and you wish to have an active license you can
easily accomplish this by assuring that all CE requirements have been satisfied, Qualifying Broker consent has
been confirmed, and a $25 activation fee has been paid. Activations can be accomplished from the Commission’s
website under “Online Services Login” or by mailing a completed Activation form and $25 fee.

H ow tO » Go to the Commission’s website at arec.alabama.gov to log in to Online Services.
» Once logged in, you will see the current contact information the Commission has on record

Check Your for you and also a list of Available Services. Click on “CE Credit” to see a list of all

- courses taken for which credit has been submitted. (/f you have completed a course and it
c E c re d |t is not identified in the list, you should contact the instructor or school and let them know.)

0 n th e » Click on the course title and you will see specific course information.
D In the list of courses, you will also see an option to evaluate the course. You have 30 days
CO mm I ss | 0 n's to evaluate each course. An expired course evaluation does not affect your course

credit in any way.

We bSlte D CE courses for the 2016 license renewal are archived when all renewal requirements have
been satisfied and the active license has been issued. Both current and archived courses can
be seen in a licensee’s Available Services.

D Once a CE course has been completed for the next license renewal in 2018, it will be shown
in this area of the website.
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is published for the benefit of the
Alabama Real Estate Industry by the
Alabama Real Estate Commission.

COMMISSION MEETINGS
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

All Commission meetings are open to the
public and that includes real estate licensees.
Commissioners welcome and encourage
attendance and observation by any licensee
in any location. Locations, dates, and times
can be found on the Commission’s website
at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2016
Remember to renew all broker,
salesperson, and company licenses

in every even-numbered year.
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