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RENEWONLINE
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Renewing online is the best way to renew your license.

It is quick, efficient and paperless. Upon completion, you will
receive a confirmation that you can print for your files and be
assured that you have paid your fee and renewed your license.

FOLLOW THESE EASY STEPS

B Go to the Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.alabama.gov and select the
button under the Quick Links labeled
“License Renewal.”

B You will then see a page with a link to
“Online Services” showing a list of on-
line services. Click on “Online Services.”

B You will be taken to a login screen
where you can access your record.
Enter your five-digit license number
(without the leading zeros and the
extension), the last four digits of your
social security number, and your date
of birth (format with 2 digits each for
month and day, 4 digits for year, ex.
MM/DD/YYYY).

B Once logged into your record, you will
see a screen that will allow you to
change your home address, home zip
code, phone number, and email ad-
dress, if needed. After the information
has been changed or confirmed, click
“Next” at the bottom of the screen.

B The next screen will show the current
contact information the Commission
has on record for you and also a list of
Available Services. Click on “License
Renewal” and begin the process of
renewing your license.

M In this phase you will be given the
renewal fee amount and payment
options. You will then put in your pay-
ment information for credit card or
eCheck. Upon completion of payment,
there will be a confirmation page that
you can print and keep for your
records.

DEADLINE

Remember, if renewing online, you
must do so by midnight on August 31,
2008, to avoid the $150 penalty. Do not
rely on your computer clock if you are
renewing close to midnight. The Alabama
Real Estate Commission is synced to the
NIST clock at nist.time.gov.

MULTIPLE BROKER LICENSES

Brokers who hold multiple licenses can
renew all licenses at one time after log-
ging in. If choosing not to renew all
licenses, make sure you are renewing the
one(s) you wish to renew.

B Renewing Company License Online:
Qualifying brokers can renew the
company license by logging into the
company record. On the login screen,
put in the company license number,
the last four digits of the qualifying
broker’s social security number, and
the qualifying broker’s date of birth.

B Renewing All Licensees in Company:
Qualifying brokers can renew all or
part of their licensees by logging into

the company record. There the quali-
fying broker will see a list of all sales-

person and broker licensees and can
check off the ones to be renewed. The
payment screen will then give a total
amount due for all licenses to be
renewed.

Again, we encourage all licensees to
renew online. There is then no worry
about whether or not the Commission
received your mailed renewal and you
will receive an immediate confirmation
that your license is renewed.

TRANSACTION FEE
A $3.50 fee is charged by Alabama Inter-
active to process the transactions.

PAYMENT ONLINE
B Credit Cards:
* Visa * MasterCard
* American Express ¢ Discover
B cCheck |

ATTENTION BROKER EXAMINEES

If you pass the broker’s examination anytime during June, July, August or September
of 2008, you will have a choice to make. You can continue to work under your salesper-
son’s license through September 30 and have the broker’s license issued effective Octo-
ber 1 OR you can have the broker’s license issued prior to September 30. If you choose
to have it issued prior to September 30, then you must renew the broker’s license.

When making your decision, remember this. In either case, there is no need to renew
your salesperson’s license UNLESS you fail to pass the broker’s exam and you need the
salesperson’s license in order to continue to operate after October 1, 2008. If you pay the
salesperson’s renewal fee, it cannot be refunded to you nor can it be credited toward your

broker original license fee.
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DEADLIRES

BY MAIL

FOR 2009-2010 LICENSES
M Submit your renewal form and f )
appropriate fee TOGETHER. \ M August 31, 2008 - last day to renew without penalty
B Have your renewal postmarked by l September 1, 2008 - add $150 penalty fee

August 31, 2008, to avoid the $150
penalty.

B September 30, 2008 - last day to renew in order to
have license issued to active status on
) October 1, 2008
/,/‘

M October 1, 2008 - 2006-2008 licenses expire.
If not renewed for 2009-2010, you are inac-
tive by operation of law and may not
engage in real estate activities that

AUGUST \ require a license.

3‘ \ M September 30, 2009 -

last day to renew the
2009-2010 licenses.

B Make sure the check is in the correct amount, please.

B No changes can be made on the renewal form.

B Do not use someone else’s renewal form unless you are &
trying to renew his/her license! ('/\

PAYMENT BY MAIL:

* Company check e Personal check ¢ Cashier’s check ¢ Money order

\\\
Licenses To Be Renewed

ALL licenses must be renewed EXCEPT 1) temporary
7 salesperson’s licenses and 2) salesperson’s licenses of
those who pass the broker exam in June, July, August or
September and do not want the broker’s license issued
until October 1, 2008. If you hold or are responsible for one

If submitted bv of the following licenses, renew it before September 1, 2008,
AUGUST 31, 2008 a4 to avoid an additional $150 penalty fee. The following must
(Submitted means paid online by midnight on August 31, 2008, be renewed if you want to keep them:
or if submitted by mail, the official postmark for the form and fee is ACTIVE LICENSES
on or before August 31, 2008.) W Salesperson licenses (not temporaries)
B Broker ............ $195 M Broker licenses, which includes:
B Sales person ........ $175 o First, secgnd, third, fourth, etc. broker licenses
» All associate brokers
M Company .......... $170 « All qualifying brokers

e All temporary brokers

If submitted on or after B All company licenses, which includes:

SEPTEMBER 1, 2008 * Sole Proprietorships

(Submitted means paid online after midnight on August 31, 2008, « Corporations

or if submitted by mail, the official postmark for the form and fee is o Branch Offices

on or after September 1, 2008) * Partnerships

M Broker ............ $345 INACTIVE LICENSES

M Salesperson ........ $325 B Salesperson licenses
t t i

M Company .......... $320 (not temporarics)

M Broker licenses
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EDUCATION CORNER
Check Your CE Credit on the Commission’s Web Site

By Ryan Adair, Education Director

Go to the Commission’s Web site at www.arec.alabama.gov
m and select the top button under the Quick Links labeled
“Check CE Credit.”

2 You will be taken to a login screen that requires your five-

m digit license number (without the leading zeros and the
extension), the last four digits of your social security num-
ber, and your date of birth (entered MM/DD/YYYY).

Once logged in, you will see a screen that will allow you to
m change your home address, home zip code, phone number, and
email address if needed. After the information has been
changed or confirmed, click “Next” at the bottom of the screen.

The next screen will show the current contact information
m the Commission has on record for you and also a list of
Available Services. Click on “Licensee CE Credit” to see a
list of all courses taken for which credit has been submit-
ted. If you have completed a course and it is not identified

in the list, you should contact the instructor or school and
let them know.

Click on the course title and you will see specific course
m information.

6 In the list of courses, you will also see an option to evaluate

m the course. Course evaluations are available 30 days after the
completion date of the course. The button in that column will
identify the number of days left to evaluate the course. If the
30 days have lapsed, it will tell you the course evaluation has
expired. An expired course evaluation does not affect your
course credit in any way.

NOTE CE credit for the 2008 license renewal will be
removed from the Commission’s Web site effective
October 1, 2008. Make sure you print a final copy of your

credit prior to that date so you will have a record of it in case it is
needed for other reasons. |

renewal?

A: Courses taken only be-
tween October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2008, are acceptable
for meeting renewal requirements in 2008.

[License Law Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)]

Q: In what time frame do
, , courses have to be taken
s S to count toward the 2008

0: How do | know how many CE hours | have taken?

A: All licensees must check their GE credit by logging into the
Online Services section of the Commission’s Web site and
selecting the link entitled Licensee GE Credit under Available
Services.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (7)]

0: How can | find out where courses are being offered?

A: There is a Real Estate Course Search feature on the Commis-
sion’s Web site located under the Quick Links on the home page.
This feature allows licensees to search for courses using any of
the following criteria: course type, location, course name, and
instructor’s last name.

[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (5)]

0: If | am a new licensee and recently completed the 30-hour Post
License course, do | have to take more courses for renewal?

A: No. The 15 hours of CE earned from the post license course will
be applied toward the first renewal of a license.
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (13)]

Q: If I took 15 hours of CE during this current license period to acti-
vate my license, will those hours take care of my renewal for the
next period?

A: No. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for the first
time during this license period, an additional 15 hours will need
to be taken to renew that license for the next period. Even if your
license was activated in late July, an additional 15 hours will
need to be taken prior to September 30 for renewal purposes.
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.13 (1) and Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)]

Q: What if | took some courses in another state?

A: Courses taken in another state can be used to satisfy the require-
ment of 12 elective hours of CE. If you have already taken
courses in another state since October 1, 2006, or are planning
on taking courses in another state prior to October 1, 2008, you
must submit the following documentation to the Commission’s
Education division in order to receive credit:

1. Verification that the course is approved by any real estate
commission

2. Verification of the number of hours for which it is approved
3. Verification that you attended 100 percent of the course
[License Law Rule 790-X-1-.12 (15)] [
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Renewal Requirements for

RECIPROCAL
LICENSEES

Reciprocal
licensees

have '
options from
which to choose to
satisfy continuing
education requirements for
license renewal.

Option 1

Take 15 hours of Alabama-approved CE, including three
hours of Risk Management and 12 elective hours. The elective
hours can be taken out-of-state as long as you provide verifica-
tion of the dates that you attended the course, verification that the
course was approved by any real estate commission, and the
number of hours for which it was approved.

Option 2

Submit a certification of licensure or letter from the regulato-
ry agency in the state where prelicense course work was com-
pleted and the licensing examination was passed. The certifica-
tion of licensure or letter must show:

1. the type of license

2. proof that the license is active and current at least through
September 30, 2008

3. proof that a full licensing examination, not just the state por-
tion, was passed in that state

The certification of licensure or letter must be dated no earlier
than June 1, 2008, and it must be an original unless it was faxed
directly from the real estate commission office.

A letter was mailed to all reciprocal licensees detailing these
options and requirements of each. If you are a reciprocal licens-
ee and did not receive this letter, please contact the Education
Division. |

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission UEDALE_

License Renewal Information
m All licenses, except temporary salesperson licenses, expire at

midnight on September 30, 2008.

B Both active and inactive licenses must be renewed to remain
current.

B Renew online at www.arec.alabama.gov.

B Renewal forms will be mailed by August 1, 2008.

* If you have not renewed online by August 10, 2008, and
have not received a renewal form by then, you must notify
the Alabama Real Estate Commission that you have not
received a form.

 Licenses not renewed by September 30, 2008, will be placed
on inactive status on October 1, 2008.

H Renewal fees are as follow:

* Broker: $195 - Salesperson: $175 ¢ Company: $170

 The above fees are the license renewal fee plus the $2.50 per
year ($5.00 total) real estate research and education fee.

 All company licenses must be renewed, including the sole
proprietorships.

* Renewal fees received September 1, 2008, through Septem-
ber 30, 2008, will be subject to a $150 penalty fee to be paid
in addition to the renewal fee.

H Late renewal fees are as follow:
* Broker: $345 ¢ Salesperson: $325 ¢ Company: $320

B Acceptable forms of payment:
* Online: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover,
eCheck
e Mail: Personal check, business check, certified funds. No
credit cards by mail.

Other license transactions, such as a license transfer, must be
done through regular transfer procedures and cannot be accom-
plished through the renewal process. The renewal process only
renews the license. [ ]

|
Continuing Education Requirements
for 2008 License Renewal

BASIC INFORMATION:

m Total CE needed: 15 hours
License Law Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11 (1)

B Deadline: September 30, 2008
License Law Section 34-27-35 (j) (1)

B Courses to take: 3 hours in Risk Management
12 hours in approved elective courses
License Law Rule 790-X-1-.11 (1)
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knows that it is against the rules to
pay any compensation or commis-
sion to an unlicensed person. Well then
how is it that we hear stories about unli-
censed friends and business acquain-

I bet when you are in a class everybody

—~

tances receiving gift certificates, dinner
certificates, and like compensation for refer-
ring business to some of you? I will make this
short and to the point, because we want your full atten-
tion directed towards complying with all requirements for
license renewal.

Real estate licensees are subject to disciplinary action for
violating Section 34-27-36(a)(11) Ala. Code which prohibits
“..paying and profit, compensation, commission, or fee to, or
dividing any profit, compensation, commission, or fee with any-
one other than a licensee or multiple listing service...” These
practices are also a violation of federal law. Section 8§ of the Real

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission l IEI ! A l E

BRIEFLY LEGAL
No Referral Fees to Unlicensed Persons

By Charles R. Sowell, General Counsel

from giving or accepting a fee, kickback or
any thing of value in exchange for refer-
rals to settlement service providers such
as real estate licensees. Violations
of this provision of RESPA are pun-
ishable both as criminal acts and by
civil penalties.
At a recent ARELLO conference I was
able to hear two top RESPA enforcement offi-
cials from The Department of Housing and Urban
Development give a presentation on this subject. They said
“any thing of value” includes dinners, gift certificates, and
the like. Perhaps there has been some confusion caused by
their admission that violations under $50 are usually not pursued,
simply as a matter of resource management. They added, howev-
er, that this should not be relied upon. They reserve the right to
go after any violations, depending on the facts. We at the Com-
mission take the same position, but we have no policy on value of

Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) prohibits anyone the payment, no matter how minimal. |

THE AGE EXEMPTION FOR CE CREDIT

onfusion still exists regarding the age exemption for CE credit. Many licensees think that the

exemption applies as soon as they turn 65. This is not true. As stated in Section 34-27-

35(j)(2), any licensee reaching the age of 65 on or before September 30, 2000, AND hav-
ing been licensed 10 years prior to that date is exempt from CE requirements. Rule 790-X-1-.13(2)
provides more detail by saying licensees are exempt from meeting continuing education require-
ments only if they were both 65 years old prior to October 1, 2000, AND held a real estate license
continuously from October 1, 1990-September 30, 2000. Licensure for that 10-year period could
J be active, inactive, or a combination of the two. You will see from both of these references to
|:| Alabama License Law that there are two qualifications required to meet the age exemption:

AGE
EXEMPTION

b9

T

TWO 1. You must have turned 65 on or before September 30, 2000
QUALIFICATIONS AND _ |
REQUIRED 2. You must have been licensed continuously from October 1, 1990

through September 30, 2000

Licensees must meet both of these requirements in order to be exempt from continuing educa-
tion requirements. Licensees who have reached age 65 since October 1, 2000, are not exempt
and MUST meet CE requirements. If you are exempt from taking continuing education, you will
see that identified when you log in through Online Services on the Commission’s Web site to
check your CE credit. Otherwise, 15 hours of continuing education must be completed by
September 30, 2008, to have your license renewed on active status as of October 1.
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DISPOSITION

The below were found guilty for violation
of Section 34-27-36(a)(16) by presenting
to the Alabama Real Estate Commission,
as payment for a fee or fine, a check which
was returned unpaid by the bank upon
which it was drawn.

Kesha Baltimore

License No. 000083352

Salesperson; Birmingham, Alabama

Date of Hearing: March 10, 2008

License Revoked; Ordered to replace
the $25 for the check and to pay the $30
bad check fee

Bradley A. Beasley

License No. 000076588

Qualifying Broker; Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 10, 2008
Fined $250

Betty Spradley Kimber
License No. 000092100
Salesperson; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 10, 2008
Fined $250

Nicole Shields

License No. 000090180
Salesperson; Montgomery, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 10, 2008
Fined $250

Tina H. Hunt
License No. 000090160

State of Alabama Real Estate Commission l IEI ! A l E

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN

March 2008 through April 2008

36(a)(8)b. for failure to deposit and
account for at all times all funds being held
for others by having a shortage of such
funds.

Alean W. Middleton

License No. 000046897

Qualifying Broker; Huntsville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 10, 2008
Fined $1,000

DISPOSITION

The below was found guilty of Count #1
and Count #2 for violation of Section 34-
27-31(j) and Section 34-27-31(k) through
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) for failing to noti-
fy the Commission of the institution and
disposition of a civil action involving a real
estate transaction and Count #3 for viola-
tion of 34-27-36(a)(23)b. for having a final

DISPOSITION

The below were found guilty of Count #1
for violation of Section 34-27-36(a)(2) for
engaging in misrepresentation or dishonest
or fraudulent acts when selling, buying,
trading, or renting real property of her own
or her spouse and failing to disclose the
existence of the two contracts and the
repayment to the buyer and Count #2 for
violation of Section 34-27-36(a)(21) for
misrepresenting or failing to disclose to a
lender and mortgage broker the true terms
of a sale of real estate.

Renae Jones

License No. 000081702

Associate Broker; Decatur, Alabama

Date of Hearing: April 4, 2008

Guilty of Count #1 and Count #2;
License Revoked

Theresa L. Simon

License No. 000089806

Salesperson; Decatur, Alabama

Date of Hearing: April 4, 2008

Guilty of Count #2; License Revoked l

REMEMBER... Check your CE Credit
at www.arec.alabama.gov

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE

ACTIONS

Salesperson; Huntsville, Alabama money judgment rendered against him DETERMINATION OF LICENSURE
Date of Hearing: April 4, 2008 which resulted from an act or omission Anproved 15
Fined $250 occurring in the pursuit of his real estate pp_ """""""""""""""""""""
Donna C. White business or involving the goodwill of an Denied......ooveeeeeee e 5
License No. 000091657 existing real estate business. DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY
gualifzilr;g B.roke;i N'E;s‘l‘lv;lle, Tennessee Shawn Pinion ApProved........ccevveiieeneeees 1
Fiariz‘;)$2560anng' pril 4, 2008 License No. 000053859 =] 1T R 4
fesociate Broker: Borihpor, Aabama COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES
REMEMBER... Al licenses, active and Rz er?malfgggg' are 5 HANDLED BY LEGAL AND
inactive, must be renewed. P INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
DISPOSITION REMEMBER... Renewal fees must From LiCenSees.........coccevvrereennee 887
arrive in the Commission office or be From Public......ccooeveiii 423
The below was found guilty of violation  postmarked by August 31, 2008, to ANONYMOUS ... 14
of Section 34-27-36(a)(8)a. and 34-27- avoid a $150 penalty.
SUMMER 2008 7



aréc,alabama.gov
v&eal Estate Commission

1201 Carmichael Way e Montgomery, AL 36106

OUR MISSION
To protect the public through the licensing
and regulating of Real Estate licensees.

OUR VISION
To insure public confidence in
real estate transactions.

OUR VALUES
Effective management of our resources,
excellent customer service, innovation,
and honesty and integrity.

COMMISSIONERS
Gordon Henderson, Albertville, Chairman

Jewel D. Buford, Tuscaloosa

Steve Cawthon, Huntsville

Robert S. Hewes, Dothan
Sheila S. Hodges, Gulf Shores
Chester Mallory, Montgomery
Janet R. Morris, Montgomery

Dorothy P. Riggins, Montgomery
Bill Watts, Birmingham

D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director
Patricia Anderson, Asst. Executive Director
Vernita Oliver-Lane, Editor
Lori Moneyham, Associate Editor

The Alabama Real Estate Commission
UPDATE is published for the benefit of the
Alabama Real Estate Industry by the Alaba-
ma Real Estate Commission.

Phone: 334.242.5544
Fax: 334.270.9118
www.arec.alahama.gov
arec@arec.alabama.gov

COMMISSION MEETINGS
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the
public and that includes real estate
licensees. Commissioners welcome and
encourage attendance and observation by
any licensee in any location.
Locations, dates and times can be found
on the Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.alabama.gov.

LICENSE RENEWAL DATES
Real Estate licenses expire
September 30, 2008.
Remember to renew all broker, salesperson
and company licenses in every even year.

Presort Standard
U.S. Postage
PAID
Montgomery, AL
Permit 286

SPECIAL RENEWAL ISSUE!
Renewal Deadline:
August 31, 2008

See inside for complete details on Renewal Requirements and Procedures,
Online Renewals, License Fees, Requirements for Reciprocal Licensees,
CE Requirements, CE Age Exemptions AND MORE.

The Alabhama Real Estate Commission will be closed
on the following 2008 official state holidays.

LADOT DAY ... September 1
Columbus Day/Fraternal Day/American Indian Heritage Day ................. October 13
VEIErANS DAY ....ooveeieeiceeeee e November 11
THANKSGIVING <.ttt November 27

CRFISIMAS DAY ....vevecveee et December 25
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