
2004 is an even numbered year. Even
numbered years are when real estate
licenses are renewed. Renewing

online will still be the best option by
which to accomplish renewal of your
salesperson, broker or company license.
New expanded features this time include
multiple broker licenses, company
renewals, and home change of address
options. In addition to being able to use
all major credit cards, “eCheck” (elec-
tronic check) capability has been added as
a payment option.

Log in: Begin from the Real Estate
Commission Web site and click on Online
Services. Licensees will access their per-
sonal license record. They will do so by
entering their  license number, date of
birth, and last four digits of the social
security number. This will insure that the
person being renewed is the person
intended. The screen will direct on
through the remainder of the process until
the transaction is terminated or con-
firmed. When the transaction is complete
you will be prompted to print a confirma-
tion of renewal.

Alabama Interactive is the State of
Alabama’s electronic online transaction
agent. When your license renewal charge
appears on your credit card invoice it will
be charged by Alabama Interactive. There
is a $3.50 convenience fee charge that
goes directly to Alabama Interactive. The
Real Estate Commission does not derive
any revenue from the convenience fees.

Our Web site is accessible seven days a
week and twenty-four hours a day. You

may choose to renew your license
online at anytime now until
midnight August 31, 2004
without penalty. The Real
Estate Commission com-
puter clock is synchro-
nized with the
NIST.gov Web site.
The computer clock
will trigger the addi-
tion of the penalty fee at
12:00 a.m. on September
1, 2004. Paper hard copy
notices will be mailed so
that they are received by all
licensees on or before August 1.
If you renew online prior to the hard
copy notices being printed you, will not
receive one in the mail.

Real Estate Commission Information
Technology staff will be traveling across
the state with scheduled visits to Board
and Association offices, some CE classes,
larger companies and others by request.
The purpose will be to assist anyone inter-
ested in a personal tutorial or anyone that
has primary responsibility for renewal
within his or her company the opportuni-
ty to confidently know how to successful-
ly complete online renewal. We are com-
mitted to demonstrating the ease of use
and mutual effectiveness of the online
process. In 2002 of all licensees that
renewed 48 percent did so online. We
would like to significantly increase that
percentage in 2004.

There are two key changes to note for
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The Alabama Real Estate Commission Announces Its

OPTIONAL INSTRUCTOR
TRAINING PROGRAM

October 21, 2004
And

ANNUAL INSTRUCTORS’
SEMINAR

October 22, 2004
Auburn University Hotel & Conference Center 

Auburn, Alabama

Basic Information:
• Total CE needed: 15 hours
• Deadline: September 30, 2004
• Courses to take: 3 hours in Risk Management

3 hours in one of the following:
• License Law
• RECAD
• Fair Housing

9 hours in approved elective courses

FAQs:
Q: In what time frame do courses have to be taken to count

toward the 2004 renewal?
A: Courses taken only between October 1, 2002 and Septem-

ber 30, 2004 are acceptable for meeting renewal require-
ments for the issuance of the 2005-2006 licenses.

Q: Do my certificates of course completion have to be sent to
the Commission office?

A: No.
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EDUCATION CORNER
The Scoop On Continuing Education

Requirements
By Pat Anderson, Education Director

EDUCATION CORNER

DON’T MISS OUT!

Q: What do I do with the certificates of completion from my
courses?

A: Keep them in case of a Commission audit in the future.
Active licensees must keep them on file at their real estate
office and inactive licensees who take any CE courses must
keep them at home.

Q: How long must I keep the certificates on file?
A: Until October 1, 2006.
Q: If I am a new licensee and recently completed the 30-hour

Post License course, do I have to take more courses for
renewal?

A: No. Anyone who completed the post license course after
October 1, 2002 does not have to take any hours for renew-
al. The 15 hours of CE earned from the post license course
will be applied toward license renewal.

Q: If I took 15 hours of CE during this current license period to
activate my license, do I have to take any more CE for the
upcoming license renewal?

A: Yes. If 15 hours of CE were taken to activate a license for
the first time during this license period, an additional 15
hours will need to be taken to renew that license for the next
period. Even if your license was activated in late July, an
additional 15 hours will need to be taken prior to September
30 for renewal purposes.

Q: Can I check the Commission’s Web site to see how much
CE I have completed?

A: No.
However, beginning October 1, 2004, instructors will report

course credit for prelicense, post license and continuing educa-
tion to the Commission by electronic transmission. That infor-
mation will then appear on the Commission’s Web site for your
review. Special note: If you take a course in another state from
an instructor who is not an Alabama approved instructor, that
instructor will likely not be trained in the electronic reporting
program. Therefore, you should obtain a certificate and send it to
the Commission where the data can be entered for you so it will
appear on the Web site. These kinds of courses must be approved
for CE credit by another real estate commission for them to be
acceptable in Alabama. REMEMBER: All of this does not begin
until October 1, 2004 for the next license period.

If you have any further questions, please call or email the
Alabama Real Estate Commission’s Education Division at edu-
cation@arec.state.al.us. �
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Mortgage Loan
Fraud—Don’t Do It

By Charles R. Sowell, General Counsel

Mortgage loan fraud, and attempts at it,
have become all too common. Our col-
leagues in other states report the same thing
in their jurisdictions. We are getting way
too many calls from brokers, who are very
concerned about what they are seeing.
Based on what I am hearing, they should be
concerned. 

Let’s go over the law first. The law under
which you could lose your real estate license
is Section 34-27-36(a)(21) Ala. Code. It says
you are subject to disciplinary action for
“misrepresenting or failing to disclose to any
lender, guaranteeing agency, or any other
interested party, the true terms of a sale of
real estate.” That means you have a duty to
tell the whole truth about what happens on a
sale, especially on the financial end. It is also
a criminal offense, a federal felony, to have
a similar failure in connection with a mort-
gage loan. These criminal laws apply to
those engaged in the activity, and to those
who participate or conspire to fraud the
lender. We have seen lots of federal indict-
ments for loan fraud. Usually, they simply
say that somebody gave a false statement to
a bank or other lender in connection with the
loan. It is just that easy to face doing some
time in a federal lock-up. I can tell you for a
fact that federal law enforcement is active
right here in our state. The Alabama State
Banking Department is also active.

There are plenty of creative ways to
cheat. Here are some common ways to
engage in mortgage loan fraud.

• Arrange to falsify income and or
employment verification documenta-
tion. You know, that red tape required in
the mortgage application process can
keep some buyers from getting financ-
ing. If you or a helpful friend could just
bogus-up some needed documents of
any kind, it might help.

• A demanding seller will sometimes
want money “under the table.” He or
she will not want it to show on the con-
tract, or on the settlement statement or
HUD-1. You or the buyer could leave
the closing and make that under the
table payment. Buyers can make similar
demands.

• A buyer really would like to get an
80/20 (20% down with 80% financed)
loan, but does not have enough down
payment money. You know that the
mortgage lender will not approve a gift,
loan, or a second mortgage for the need-
ed down payment. You or the seller
could make an undisclosed gift or loan
to the buyer to make the deal hap-
pen.

You do not have to be a mem-
ber of the Supreme Court to
know that this kind of stuff is
not honest or legal. All the
terms of the contract must be
shown on the face of the con-
tract so that lenders and other
parties can see them. All the
terms of the contract must be
approved by the mortgage

lender. All money payments must be shown
on the HUD-1 or settlement statement.

There is one other twist. It is not just real
estate licensees who are tempted to cheat.
Mortgage brokers, appraisers, and closing
attorneys or settlement agents can become
involved, too. Because their respective roles
are important in the process, they are partic-
ularly useful if they will help. Unfortunate-
ly, it appears some mortgage lending per-
sonnel are the ones inviting the improper
conduct. If anyone suggests doing some-
thing that does not seem right to you, first
consult with the mortgage lender and/or the
closing attorney about your concerns. If you
are still not satisfied, it is time to get your
own legal advice.

This is so unnecessary. There are plenty
of hard-working, honest people in the mort-
gage lending industry. They are constantly
working to earn your business and confi-
dence. If you heard a fraction of the stories
I have, you would appreciate them more.

BRIEFLY LEGALBRIEFLY LEGAL
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2005-2006 Renewal Requirements is in accordance with Code of
Alabama 1975, Section 34-27-35 and Rule 790-X-2-.16

Renew Online at www.arec.state.al.us

• All permanent licenses will expire on September 30, 2004.

• Renewal forms will be mailed by August 1, 2004. Licensees
that have already renewed their license online prior to the mail-
ing of renewal notices will not receive a renewal form. Notify
Commission of renewal forms not received by August 10, 2004.

• NO CHANGES are permitted on the renewal forms. Changes
will seriously delay processing time.

• If renewing by mail, the renewal form MUST be submitted with
the renewal fees. Fees received without the renewal form will
be returned. If renewal form was not received or has been lost
or misplaced, renew the license online or you must request
another form from the Commission.

• Renewal form received with fees that are less
than the amount listed on the form will be
returned for the proper amount.

• Renewal forms with fees are due in the
Commission office by August 31, 2004 or
postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service by
that date. If renewing online, your online
transaction must be completed before mid-
night, August 31, 2004.

• Renewal fees received September 1, 2004
through September 30, 2005 will be subject
to a penalty fee of $150 in addition to the
renewal fees. Failure to meet the September
30, 2004 deadline will result in the license
being placed on inactive status on October 1,
2004 and shall be subject to all reactivation
requirements.

• Personal checks, business checks, cash or
any certified funds are acceptable forms of
renewal payment.

• Renewal fees are as follows:

Broker $195
Salesperson $175
Company $170

• Inactive licenses must be renewed the same as active
licenses.

• Temporary Salesperson licenses are not subject to renewal
requirements.

• Any of the following type licenses issued prior to September 30,
2004, will be subject to renewal requirements:

—Original Salesperson

—Broker
—Reciprocal
—Company and Branch

LICENSING TIDBITS
What You Need To Know
For License Renewal 2004

By Annie Hall, Licensing Supervisor

LICENSING TIDBITS

www.arec.state.al.uswww.arec.state.al.us



5

WHAT’S NEW FOR LICENSE RENEWAL 2004?

— Now available for online renewal payment option is
eCheck! Process all online service payments fast, easy,
extremely secure and hassle-free with this most popular
non-cash payment choice. An eCheck is the electronic
version of a paper check and can be used with any exist-
ing consumer or business bank savings or checking
account.

— Brokers now have the option to renew all licensees regis-
tered to their companies online at one time.

— Brokers that hold multiple broker licenses can renew one
or all of his or her broker licenses online at one time.

— Licensees will be able to change their home address,
phone number and email address while renewing online.

— Brokers will be able to change their company’s email

address and telephone number only while renewing
online. No other changes are permitted while renewing.

— Errors and Omissions Insurance is no longer mandatory
for licensees.

— All sole proprietorships that have not already obtained a
company license will be required to obtain a license at
renewal. Those that have already obtained a license will
be mailed a renewal form and will be required to renew
the license.

— For those renewing by mail, renewal fees MUST be
accompanied with the proper renewal form. Fees
received without the form will be returned for resubmis-
sion with renewal form, which will delay the renewal
process.

this renewal cycle. All new sole propri-
etors were required to obtain a company
license in 2003. With the renewal of
2004, all existing sole proprietors will be
required to renew a company license.
The fee for a company license is the
same as salesperson.

The license fees take their last step
increase to $85 per year for company and
salespersons and $95 per year for bro-
kers. The penalty fee that is levied begin-
ning September 1 remains at $150. This
increase was enacted in 2001 and was
phased in over the 2002 and 2004
renewals. The 2004 renewal is for the
2005-2006 license period. This fee
schedule is listed in the Code of Alabama
Section 34-27-35(c)(2) page 29 of the
20th edition revised.

A new CE crediting plan with real
estate instructors is another major devel-
opment that will be implemented this
summer. The CE plan was directed by

Commissioners and is effective begin-
ning October 1, 2004. Between now and
the end of September licensees must
retain their CE certificates of comple-
tion. Beginning in October instructors
will submit credit to the Commission
electronically for each licensee complet-
ing approved CE. Licensees will be able
to access the record of their course com-
pletion online in their license history.
Brokers will be able to access the records
of those licensed under them. CE audits
will be conducted only on those
licensees whose record indicates hours
less than those required. It will be from
these that formal complaints may poten-
tially originate. Courses submitted elec-
tronically by approved instructors will
be listed in a directory on the Commis-
sion’s Web site so that one can check and
find out what courses are currently avail-
able for registration.

License Renewal Time
Continued from page 1
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Disposition: The below was found guilty
of violating Rule 790-X-1-.12(8) and
Rule 790-X-1-.12(9) via Section 34-27-
36(a)(19) by failing to provide to the
Commission, upon request, original cer-
tificates of completion of approved con-
tinuing education courses.

Name: Joseph H. Graham
Qualifying Broker, Jasper, Alabama
Date of Hearing: February 12, 2004,
Reprimanded

Disposition: The below were found
guilty of violating Section 34-27-
36(a)(16) by presenting to the Alabama
Real Estate Commission, as payment for
a fee or fine, a check which was returned
unpaid by the bank upon which it was
drawn.

Name: Tonya R. Gex
Inactive Salesperson, Spanish Fort,
Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 16, 2004, Fined
$250

Name: Chuck Neubert
Inactive Salesperson, Elberta, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 16, 2004, Fined
$250

Name: Kimberly Bentley
Salesperson, Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 16, 2004, Repri-
manded

Disposition: The below were found guilty
of violating Section 34-27-36(a)(8)a. and
Section 34-27-36(a)(8)b. for a broker to
fail to deposit and account for funds to be
held in trust for others at all times by hav-
ing a shortage of trust funds.

Name: James R. Briley, Jr. 
and Belview Real Estate
Company, Inc.
Qualifying Broker, Birmingham, Alabama

Date of Hearing: March 12, 2004, Mr.
Briley’s license suspended for one year
and company fined $1000

Name: C. D. Talley and 
Camellia Properties, Inc.
Qualifying Broker, Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 16, 2004, Both
licenses revoked

Name: Herman L. Smartt
Qualifying Broker, Huntsville, Alabama

Date of Hearing: May 7, 2004, Fined
$250

Disposition: The below surrendered the
license for alleged license law violations
in lieu of filing a formal complaint and
having a hearing.

Name: Larry M. Carter
Salesperson, Huntsville, Alabama
Date: May 7, 2004, License Revoked

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS
Determination for Licensure
Approved................................................2
Denied ....................................................1
Determination of Eligibility
Approved................................................4
Denied ....................................................4

COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES HANDLED 
BY LEGAL AND INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
From Licensees ................................1220
From Public........................................627
Anonymous ........................................15

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN
February through May 2004

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN

Are you using the correct real estate form or application? Get the most
recent Alabama Real Estate Commission forms and applications today at
www.arec.state.al.us.

• Company License Application
• Branch Office License

Application
• Application For Multiple

Broker's License
• License Activation Form
• Registration Form
• Reciprocal Salesperson

Application
• Reciprocal Broker Application
• Consumer Information Booklet
• Office Audit Checklist
• Optional E&O Coverage Form
• RECAD Forms

• Standard Interstate Co-
Brokerage Agreement Form

• Application For Continuing
Education Instructor

• Application For Real Estate
Instructor

• Real Estate Continuing
Education Course Application

• Real Estate School or Course
Sponsor Application

• Course Information Form
• Roster For Reporting Course

Enrollment
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Save Time.
Receive Instant Confirmation of Renewal.

RENEW ONLINE TODAY!
www.arec.state.al.us
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Commission Meetings 
Open to the Public

All Commission meetings are open
to the public and that includes real
estate licensees. Commissioners

welcome and encourage attendance
and observation by any licensee in
any location. Locations, dates and

times can be found on the 
Commission’s Web site at

www.arec.state.al.us.

License Renewal Dates
Real Estate licenses expire 

September 30, 2004. Remember to
renew all broker, salesperson and

company licenses in every even year.

 State of Alabama

REAL    ESTATE
                      Commission

HOLIDAY CLOSINGS FOR 2004

Labor Day September 6

Columbus Day October 11

Veterans’ Day November 11

Thanksgiving November 25

Christmas Day December 25


