
Real Estate License Law has been
amended by a bill enacted during
the Special Session. Over two

years ago commissioners initiated and
actively lobbied industry leaders and 
legislators about their proposals. These
amendments become effective November
1, 2005.

DISCIPLINARY AUTHORITY
Fine schedule increased.
Previously, any licensee found
guilty in a formal hearing of
violating license law could be

fined $25 to $1000 per count. Now the
amendment increases the fine schedule
that commissioners may levy from $100 to
$2500 per count.

Requirement to take addi-
tional continuing education
or make restitution to trust
accounts added to discipli-

nary actions. This change allows the
Commission three choices when dealing
with the decision to suspend or revoke a
license:
1) Allow the suspension or revocation to

stand for the length of time specified
by the Commission.

2) Suspend or revoke the license but stay
the action pending the completion of a
continuing education course or restitu-
tion of a trust account.

3) Suspend or revoke the license and
have the suspension or revocation run
until such time as a specific continuing
education course is completed or a
trust account is restored.

MEETING VENUE
P r e v i o u s l y ,

licensees had the
right by law to
assert that a hear-
ing be held either in

the county of their residence or practice.
Hearings held otherwise required the
Commission to obtain waivers of hearing
in order to hold the hearing elsewhere.
Commissioners strongly believed that they
should legally have the authority to exer-
cise discretion and direction on where
meetings and hearings are conducted.
Demanding a hearing in ones county of
practice of residence can not be used to
delay or require the Commission to travel
to an area that would be considered remote
for lack of no other relevant, convenient or
practical business. The amendment estab-
lishes that all meetings will be held in
Montgomery but allows commissioners to
determine whether the best interest of the
public or the Commission’s case is better
served in another location.

RESEARCH AND EDUCATION FEE
The amended law will now
require reciprocal licensees
to pay the $30 Research and
Education fee just as any
Alabama licensee does.

There was an inadvertent gap previously
because Alabama salespeople pay at 
the Temporary application stage. The
reciprocal language ties reciprocal fees 
to that of original sales and broker
licensees for which there is no research
and education fee. ■

License Law Changes Important to
Commissioners: Act 2005-314 

By D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director

FALL 2005

In This Issue
Briefly Legal: 
New Mininum Services Law  . . . . . . . . . . 2

New Open Meetings Law  . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Disciplinary Actions Taken  . . . . . . . . . . 4

Licensing Tidbits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

Education Corner: 
Commissioners’ Commitment to 
Quality Instructor Education  . . . . . . . . . . . 6

Keep Track of CE Credit 
Online with CMap!  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

Commission Web and 
Email Addresses Changed  . . . . . . . . . . 7

Duplicate
Company

Names
By Pat Anderson, Assistant

Executive Director

Nothing in Alabama Real Estate
License Law prohibits one compa-

ny from having the same name as anoth-
er company. Whenever asked by
licensees if the Commission will allow
their company name to be used by anoth-
er company, the answer is that the
Commission has no statutory authority
to refuse to issue a license to a company
in the name requested.

Registering with the 
Secretary of State’s Office

Business entities including but not 
limited to Corporations, Limited Part-
nerships (LP), Limited Liability Part-
nerships (LLP), Limited Liability Limited
Partnerships (LLLP) and Limited Liabil-
ity Companies (LLC) must register with

(Continued on back page.)



Effective November 1, 2005 Section 34-27-84 Alabama
Code has been amended. This is the section of RECAD
(Real Estate Consumer Agency Disclosure Act) that

deals with obligations of real estate licensees to the parties in a
transaction. The amendment adds provisions commonly
referred to as “minimum services” to a listing broker’s obliga-
tions under a listing agreement. Here is what the law now says:
“When accepting an agreement to list an owner’s property for
sale, the broker or his or her licensee shall, at minimum, accept
delivery of and present to the consumer all offers, counterof-
fers, and addenda to assist the consumer in negotiating offers,
counteroffers, and addenda, and to answer the consumer’s
questions relating to the transaction.”

A little context is in order to help explain this new law.
Alabama is one of several states that have added, or are consid-
ering adding similar provisions. These changes have come as a
reaction to concerns about a fairly new business practice being
offered by some brokers. These brokers are accepting a partic-
ular kind of listing agreement from property owners. The
agreement typically provides that the broker will place the
owner’s property in the local multiple listing service, and the
broker will give no further service to the owner. These brokers
have become known as minimum services brokers. This is why
the law dealing with this issue has become known as minimum
services legislation. The reason for the concern about this
should be obvious. Owners should not be left on their own to
deal with all the details of a transaction, and not even have their
questions answered. My goal is to help you understand what
the new law means in every day practice. As we will see, too,
the law applies to all brokers and their personnel, not just to
limited services brokers. The list that follows is not all inclu-
sive. These are just the major points the law addresses or
affects.

■ The law applies only to listing brokers and their licensed
office personnel. Existing law deals with responsibilities of
licensees working with buyers, commonly called selling
agents, although they might not have an agency relationship
with their buyer.

■ The law applies regardless of any agency relationship estab-
lished between the listing broker and the consumer. This

means the requirements apply to agents, limited consensual
dual agents, and transaction brokers. It is not at all likely
that a limited services broker will be anything other than a
transaction broker, but the new requirements apply, regard-
less.

■ It requires that listing company licensed personnel accept
and transmit offers, etc., to the owner and to a buyer with
whom they might be working. Let’s not forget existing
license law on this point. Alabama Real Estate Commission
Rule 790-X-3-.08 has always required that agents acting for
a principal shall transmit to the principal all written offers.
Also preserved is existing Section 34-27-84(a)(5) Alabama
Code which requires presentation of all written offers when
assisting a party in negotiations.

■ There is no explicit provision in the license law that requires
a licensee to actually draft or reduce an offer or counterof-
fer to writing. Licensees will have to continue to use their
judgment and whatever commitments, such as agency
agreements, they make to consumers along this line.

■ Alabama Real Estate Commission Rule 790-X-3-.04 will
continue to apply. This is the rule that requires estimated
closing statements. A licensee who procures a written offer
from a buyer in a single family residential transaction is
obligated to prepare and furnish one to the buyer. A licens-
ee who presents a written offer to a seller in a single family
residential transaction is obligated to prepare and furnish
one to the seller.

■ The requirement to assist the consumer in negotiations
means, at minimum, that the licensee will relay a party’s
position on a particular matter to the other party. This obli-
gation will continue as long as negotiations last between the
seller and a potential buyer.

■ The last point is easy to understand. If the licensee gets
questions from a consumer, buyer or seller, those questions
will be answered, consistent with existing law. For example,
this provision does not change existing law on keeping con-
fidential information.

BRIEFLY LEGAL

NEW MINIMUM SERVICES LAW
By Charles R. Sowell, General Counsel

BRIEFLY LEGAL
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E ffective on October 1, 2005 Alabama has a new law that
governs the conduct of meetings of most public bodies. The

Commission is subject the new law. Actually, our procedures
will change very little, because the Commission has always
been as open as possible in the conduct of the public’s busi-
ness. Here is a plain English summary of the act.

■ NOTICE OF MEETINGS
Notice of meetings of bodies with statewide jurisdiction like
the Commission must be given at least seven days before the
meeting. Notice must be given to the Secretary of State for
posting on the Internet. The notice must include the date,
time, and place of the meeting and a preliminary agenda as
soon as it is practicable to provide one.

■ WHAT IS A MEETING?
A meeting is any gathering of a quorum (majority of the
voting members) where deliberations (Commission busi-
ness discussions) occur. A social gathering or conference
where no Commission business discussions occur is not
considered a meeting.

■ EXECUTIVE SESSIONS PROCEDURE
Executive sessions are not required but may be held as fol-
lows:
• If an applicant with a criminal record requests an execu-

tive session hearing, the Commission may declare that it
is about to go into an executive session hearing and may
conduct the hearing in executive session.

• The Commission may declare that it is about to deliberate
a contested case decision, and may conduct an executive
session for that purpose.

• In all other executive sessions it is necessary to first con-
vene an open meeting. Then a majority of the commis-
sioners present must adopt, by recorded vote, a motion
calling for executive session and must set out the purpose
of the executive session (character or employee or attor-
ney discussions as described below.) The vote of each
member must be recorded in the minutes. Before the
executive session is called to order, the presiding officer
must state whether the Commission will reconvene in
open session, and approximately when it expects to do so.

■ USES OF EXECUTIVE SESSIONS
Executive sessions may be held for the following purposes:
• To discuss the general reputation and character of individ-

uals. This would apply to an applicant with a criminal

record, who requests an executive session hearing. This
does not apply to discussions concerning the job perform-
ance or salary, compensation or job benefits of elected or
appointed public officials or to state employees who have
to file a Statement of Economic Interest with the Ethics
Commission, so these would have to be discussed in open
session.

• To discuss with the commission attorney the legal consid-
erations of pending litigation or controversies imminently
likely to be litigated. Before the executive session begins
the attorney must declare on the minutes that the session
is proper under the law. No deliberations or decisions can
occur in the session. The open session must be recon-
vened before any deliberations or decisions are made.

• To deliberate and discuss evidence presented at a hearing
(contested case) and vote upon the outcome. After the
deliberations the Commission may reconvene the open
meeting and make its decision; or it may choose to issue
a written decision in the executive session.

■ OPEN MEETING PROVISIONS
• The Commission must maintain records (minutes) of its

meetings.
• Except for votes in executive session hearings (contested

cases) all votes must be made in open meeting and no
other votes may be made in executive session.

■ ENFORCEMENT
• Enforcement of the provisions of this law shall be by civil

action in circuit court filed by any media organization,
any Alabama citizen, the Attorney General, or district
attorney.

• The court may enter a temporary restraining order,
declaratory judgment, or injunction and may under cer-
tain circumstances invalidate actions by the Commission
in violation of the law.

• Individual commission members found in violation may
receive a civil penalty for each meeting not to exceed
$1,000 or one-half of the member’s monthly salary,
whichever is less. In improper discussions during executive
session monetary penalties may only be assessed against
those members who improperly remained in a discussion.
Monetary penalties may not be paid or reimbursed by the
Commission, but must be paid by the individual member. 

• The Commission may pay for legal expenses of members
and former members named as defendants in enforcement
actions. ■

NEW OPEN MEETINGS LAW



DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty for violation
of Sections 34-27-35(b)(c)(2) and 34-27-
36(a)(19) for a real estate licensee to can-
cel a credit card payment for required
fees, therefore, failing to pay the fees
required.

Susan M. Horton
Inactive Associate Broker 
Niceville, Florida
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Fined $250

Leigh R. Campbell
Salesperson
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Reprimanded

DISPOSITION 
The below were found guilty for violation
of Section 34-27-36(a)(8)a. and Section
34-27-36(a)(8)b. for a broker to fail to
deposit and account for funds to be held
in trust for others at all times by having a
shortage of trust funds.

Odell White, Jr.
Qualifying Broker, and 
White and Associates Realty, Inc.
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Fined $1000

Sara L. Whitworth
Qualifying Broker
Madison, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 15, 2005

Fined $250

Ray L. Huff
Qualifying Broker
Auburn, Alabama
Date of Hearing: May 20, 2005

Fined $500

Denise S. Stafford
Associate Broker
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 29, 2005 

Reprimanded

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty for violation
of Rule 790-X-3-.01 via Section 34-
27-36(a)(19) for changing her place of
business as set out on her numbered
license certificate, and failing to notify the
commission in writing within 30 days
after the change.

Marsha R. Slyman
Qualifying Broker
Huntsville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Fined $250

DISPOSITION 
The below were found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(16) by presenting to
the Alabama Real Estate Commission, as
payment for a fee or fine, a check which
was returned unpaid by the bank upon
which it was drawn.

Glenda A. Vaughn
Inactive Salesperson
Crane Hill, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005 

Reprimanded

Jessica Escott
Salesperson
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Fined $250

Timothy A. McDaniel
Salesperson
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 29, 2005

Fined $250

DISPOSITION 
The below were found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by violating or
disregarding a Commission order for fail-
ure to pay an ordered fine.

Nicholas R. Noffsinger
Inactive Temporary Salesperson
Pelham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

License Revoked

Amy Diane Tortorigi
Inactive Salesperson
Trussville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 29, 2005

License Revoked

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to comply
with Rule 790-X-1-.12(8) and Rule 790-X-1-
.12(9) by failing to provide to the
Commission, upon request, original certifi-
cates of completion of all the requested hours
of approved continuing education courses.

Dina M. Chappell
Salesperson
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 29, 2005

Reprimanded

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
34-27-31(j) and (k) via Section 34-27-

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN
March through July 2005

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN
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36(a)(19) for failing to notify the
Commission within 10 days of the institu-
tion of criminal prosecutions and Section
34-27-36(a)(23)a. for being found guilty of
or convicted of a felony or a crime involv-
ing moral turpitude.

Glenda A. Vaughn
Inactive Salesperson
Crane Hill, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

License Revoked

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to
comply with Rule 790-X-3-.04(1), (2),
and (3) in failing to furnish to buyers and
sellers, in single family residential trans-
actions, an estimated closing statement at
the time offers were presented; Section
34-27-82(g) and Rule 790-X-3-.13 in fail-
ing to use and provide to buyers and sell-
ers the mandatory Real Estate Brokerage
Services Disclosure form; and Section
34-27-8(c) by failing to have in
Respondent’s purchase agreement form
the required “AGENCY DISCLOSURE”
clause with the appropriate blocks to be
checked on all offers prepared after
August 1, 1998.

Barbara F. Harrison
Qualifying Broker
Luverne, Alabama
Date of Hearing: March 11, 2005

Fined $600

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) via Section 34-27-
32(g) for maintaining more than one place
of business without having a company
license and qualifying broker at each office.

William T. Broglan
Qualifying Broker and 
Swords Property Management
Huntsville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 15, 2005

Fined $1,000 & 
License Revoked for 
Swords Property Management

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(23)a. for being found
guilty of or convicted of a felony or a
crime involving moral turpitude.

Karen Elaine Glidewell
Salesperson
Birmingham, Alabama
Date of Hearing: April 15, 2005

License Revoked

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) via Section 34-
27-34(a)(1) for not being in a position to
actually supervise the real estate activities
of salespersons on a full-time basis.

Stephen W. Spellman, Jr.
Qualifying Broker
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Date of Hearing: June 20, 2005

Fined $1000

DISPOSITION 
The below was found guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)(17) for aiding, abet-
ting, or conspiring with a person to circum-
vent qualifying broker responsibilities.

Cindy Woodson
Salesperson
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Date of Hearing: June 20, 2005

Fined $1000

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS
Determination for Licensure
Approved . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Denied . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Determination of Eligibility
Approved . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
Denied . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12

COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES 
HANDLED BY LEGAL AND 
INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
From Licensees . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1956
From Public . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1128

Anonymous . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33
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Licensing TidbitsLicensing Tidbits
Online Change of Address
Available Now

Section 34-27-35(h) of Real Estate
License Law requires that licensees
shall notify the Commission in writing
of any change in their address within
thirty days of the change. Notifying the
Commission just got easier—announc-
ing the new online change of address
service. The Commission recently
unveiled this service that allows real
estate licensees to submit their change
of home address, home telephone,
home email, company telephone, and
company email online.

There is no fee for making these
changes online. Just login to “Online
Services” (www.arec.alabama.gov) by
entering your license number, last four
digits of your social security number
and your date of birth with slash marks
using two digits for the month, two dig-
its for the day, and four digits for the
year (mm/dd/yyyy). Upon completion,
an instant on screen “Confirmation ID”
number will be provided for your
records.

Please note that company addresses
can not be changed online at this time,
but look for this feature and other
enhancements to be added soon.

Company Change of Name 
and Address Form
There is now a form available on the
Commission’s Web site at www.arec.
alabama.gov for use by qualifying 
brokers who wish to
submit either a com-
pany name change or
company address
change. Go to “Quick
Links” and click on
“Forms and Appli-
cations” to down-
load it.     ■



Commissioners have adopted by policy and program a
commitment to strengthening instructor training.
Commissioners seized the opportunity to develop a

training room within the Commission office by renovating exist-
ing attic space. Education staff offices are now also housed on
the second floor with the fully equipped training room. This new
training room will allow for
regular ongoing training to be
offered throughout the year.

Commissioners have two key objectives in training: 1) to
improve the level of content knowledge and 2) to improve the
methods of delivery and encourage classroom interactivity.

The first instructor training program was Risk Management
offered on August 17. Popular educator and current Alabama
Association of REALTORS® president Randy McKinney provid-
ed the training in front of a packed house of over fifty attendees.
This was the first in what will be a series of varied regular ongo-
ing training opportunities. 

The second instructor training program was recently held on
October 7 with Amy Chorew, a nationally recognized instructor,
who offered “Using Technology in Course Design” resulting in
thirty-eight attendees gaining valuable information from the
training.

The wheels of education continue to roll in an effort to improve
the knowledge and understanding of Alabama licensees and the
Commission’s new training room is playing a big part in reaching
that goal. It is anticipated that four to six training programs per year
will be planned for instructors. The Commission also offers train-
ing for new instructors in the training room on a quarterly basis.

Commissioners are committed to making the best instructor
training available in this facility. They have recently adopted rule
changes which will require twelve hours of instructor continuing
education every two years for the purpose of instructor renewal.
This is in addition to the fifteen hours of real estate continuing
education required for those instructors who hold real estate
licenses.      ■
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EDUCATION CORNEREDUCATION CORNER
Commissioners’Commitment to Quality Instructor Education

By Ryan Adair, Education Specialist

Customer Service:
How Are We Doing? 
We would like to hear from 
you. The Commission is 
interested in receiving 
feedback from the real estate
licensee population and 
others who have contact with 
the Commission office. Go to 
www.arec.alabama.gov to complete our
“Licensee/Consumer Service Satisfaction
Survey.” All comments are welcome.

Popular educator and Alabama Association of REALTORS® president,
Randy McKinney provided the training in front of a packed house.

On October 7, Amy Chorew, a nationally recognized instructor, offered
“Using Technology in Course Design” resulting in thirty-eight attendees
gaining valuable information. 



Commission Web and Email Addresses Changed
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Keep Track of CE Credit 
Online with CMap!
Licensees Can Check 
Their CE Credit:
Go to the Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.alabama.gov

✔ Click on CMap under the Quick Links

✔ Select Licensee Login and enter:

• License number

• Last four digits of your 
social security number

• Date of birth with slash marks using 
two digits for month, two digits for day,
and four digits for year (mm/dd/yyyy).

✔ A list of all courses for which credit has 
been submitted will be shown

✔ If you have completed a course and it is 
not identified in the list, contact the
instructor or school and let them know

✔ Click on the course title to see 
specific course information

✔ Evaluate courses electronically 
within thirty days after completion

Qualifying Brokers Can Check 
the CE Credit of Individuals 
Licensed Under Them:
✔ Go to the Commission’s Web site at 

www.arec.alabama.gov

✔ Click on CMap under the Quick Links

✔ Select Licensee Login and enter:
• Company license number

• Last four digits of your social 
security number

• Date of birth with slash marks using
two digits for month, two digits for day,
and four digits for year (mm/dd/yyyy).

✔ A list of all licensees who have had 
credit submitted into CMap will be shown

✔ Click the license number of each 
individual to see a list of the courses
taken

T he Alabama Real Estate Commission online news and resource of information is
still just a click away; however, the Web site address has changed. The new Web

address is www.arec.alabama.gov. Please change your Web browser URL (Favorites
and Bookmarks) to reflect this new address.

Likewise, as a result of the State of Alabama’s ACE (Alabama Centralized Email)
project, all email addresses for the Commission have changed. The ACE project over-
all goal is providing the state with a secure, scalable and reliable messaging platform.
The ACE system has tightened security and is ensuring that the State of Alabama has
a dependable email system available at all times. Update your contact information
with the new Commission email addresses listed below.

DEPARTMENT /NAME EMAIL
Administrative 

D. Philip Lasater . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . philip.lasater@arec.alabama.gov
Executive Director

Pat Anderson . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . pat.anderson@arec.alabama.gov
Assistant Executive Director

Angela Slade . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . angela.slade@arec.alabama.gov

Accounting
Janie Jordan  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . janie.jordan@arec.alabama.gov
Molli Jones  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . molli.jones@arec.alabama.gov
Hattie Thomas  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . hattie.thomas@arec.alabama.gov
Cullene Sanders  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . cullene.sanders@arec.alabama.gov

Education
Ryan Adair  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ryan.adair@arec.alabama.gov
David Bowen  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . david.bowen@arec.alabama.gov
Gloria Ingram  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . gloria.ingram@arec.alabama.gov

Information Technology
Nancy Barfield  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . nancy.barfield@arec.alabama.gov
Brett Scott . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . brett.scott@arec.alabama.gov
Zan Thomas  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . zan.thomas@arec.alabama.gov
Matt Davis  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . matt.davis@arec.alabama.gov
Steve Brown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . steven.brown@arec.alabama.gov

Legal
Charles Sowell  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . charles.sowell@arec.alabama.gov
Chris Booth . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . chris.booth@arec.alabama.gov
David Erfman  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . david.erfman@arec.alabama.gov
Chuck Kelly  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . chuck.kelly@arec.alabama.gov
Anthony Brown  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . anthony.brown@arec.alabama.gov
Denise Blevins  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . denise.blevins@arec.alabama.gov
Vickie Shackleford  . . . . . . . . . . . . . vickie.shackleford@arec.alabama.gov
Reginald Foster . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . reginald.foster@arec.alabama.gov

Licensing
Annie Hall  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . annie.hall@arec.alabama.gov
Robina Jenkins  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . robina.jenkins@arec.alabama.gov

Public Relations
Vernita Oliver-Lane  . . . . . . . . . . . . vernita.oliver-lane@arec.alabama.gov

http//:www.arec.alabama.gov
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Commission Meetings 
Open to the Public

All Commission meetings are open
to the public and that includes real
estate licensees. Commissioners

welcome and encourage attendance
and observation by any licensee in
any location. Locations, dates and

times can be found on the 
Commission’s Web site at

www.arec.alabama.gov

License Renewal Dates
Real Estate licenses expire 

September 30, 2006. Remember to
renew all broker, salesperson and

company licenses in every even year.

 

the Secretary of State’s office before
transacting business in the State of
Alabama. Under the Model Business
Corporation Act, the Secretary of State’s
office prohibits the use of duplicate com-
pany names for corporations. Even
though other business entities such as
those mentioned above can use duplicate
company names, corporations can not.
The Secretary of State’s office does not
recognize the DBA names as duplicate
names even when they are attached to the
name of a corporation.

Here is an example which is both
acceptable to the Commission and to the
Secretary of State.

• Smith, Inc. DBA XYZ Realty
• Scott-Lane Realty, Inc. DBA 

XYZ Realty

This meets requirements of the

Secretary of State’s office because the cor-
porate names are different even though the
DBA names are the same. Some licensees
have mistakenly thought that a company in
the same geographic area could not have
the same DBA name as them. Although
perhaps unwise, there is no prohibition
against this.

This explanation does not take into
account any civil action that may be filed
in a court for use of same name. For exam-
ple, it you wanted to name your company
Walt Disney Realty, Inc. or Walt Disney
Realty, you would probably encounter a
problem.

Sole Proprietorships
Sole proprietorships do not have to reg-

ister with the Secretary of State’s office.
Therefore, the duplicate name rule does
not apply to them.                              ■

Duplicate Company Names...
Continued from page 1


