
SYNOPSIS: In the last two renewal
cycles the Real Estate Commission has
sent Request for Proposals to all potential
insurance vendors nationwide. Both times
there has been only one respondent. The
Commission awarded contracts to Rice
Insurance Services. Rice Insurance Com-
pany Services submitted with Frontier in
2000 and with Medmarc in 2002. Group
participation either time did not exceed
nine percent of active licensees. Both
times the program was terminated before
the license period began.

A BRIEF HISTORY: The statutory
requirement. E&O Insurance has been a
divisive issue in Alabama; essentially from
the time efforts to mandate the require-
ment were undertaken by industry and the
Commission. In the late 80’s and early
90’s the insurance market was not offering
coverage or coverage considered afford-
able by most real estate practitioners.
Mandating maintenance of insurance cov-
erage and establishing a state group policy
appeared to be a good solution for all con-
cerned. The enabling statute permitted
licensees to certify alternative coverage to
the group to maintain an active license.

THE GROUP HISTORY: St. Paul became
the group carrier in 1993. There was a
premium cap of $100 per year. The initial
premium was $73 per year. Claims mount-
ed in number and defense cost rose
accordingly. The program cost St. Paul
incurred after eight years resulted in a pay-

out of $1.62 for every dollar it collected in
premiums. St. Paul declined to exercise a
contract renewal option and exited the
state group mandatory market nationwide.
The premium cap was increased to $250
per year, but for the last two renewal
cycles, only one respondent has been lured
into Alabama for Commissioners to con-
sider awarding a contract.

REALITY: The factors and reasons may
for many be arguable or debatable but
what can not be refuted is that the market
has out performed the best a group could
put up against it two times in a row.

Nine out of every ten licensees chose
an alternative to the Group policy that
had been competitively bid and that
guaranteed issue to any licensee without
an option to cancel except for non-pay-
ment of premium. Licensees have voted,
if you will, with the payment of their
premium and have decided the question
of whether the open insurance market is
adequate to provide the means for good
business decisions and remuneration
options for consumers.

WHAT NOW? Commissioners have un-
dertaken a review of the entire mandatory
errors and omissions insurance concept
including the enabling legislation and
administrative rules. Chairman Bill Poole
appointed Commissioner Roy Bragg to
conduct a thorough and incisive probe
enlisting those others necessary to help
ascertain whether any legislative or policy

alterations could prospectively produce a
viable ongoing state group program. The
key question that Commissioners hope to
find a reasonably reliable answer to for
future direction is: What will it take for an
insurance company to submit a proposal
for a program that is market competitive
and will stick with the state group for two
years if awarded the contract? So while
the future of mandatory E&O is uncertain,
Commissioners plan on knowing if there
is hope for the state group’s future direc-
tion in the next few months.   ■

In This Issue
License Renewals Online  . . . . . . . . . . 2
Thomas Hays Confirmed 
as New Commissioner . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
Disciplinary Actions Taken . . . . . . . . . 3
Licensing Tidbits: Moved —
No Forwarding Address?  . . . . . . . . . . 4
Briefly Legal: 
Is That Your Final Answer?
Or Is It Fraudulent Suppression?  . . . . 5
Education Corner:
The Joy of CE Audits  . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Daily Computer Testing 
for Licensing Examinations 
Now Available!  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . 6
Real Estate Licensing Fees  . . . . . . . . . 7
New Risk Management Book 
and Course Available for 
Property Managers  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7

The Future Of
MANDATORY ERRORS & OMISSIONS

Is In Question 
By D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director

FALL 2002



2

License Renewals

ONLINE
The Alabama Real

Estate Commis-
sion is pleased to

provide online license
renewal service to its
twenty-seven thousand
licensees. On June 18,
2002, the Commission
launched this new Inter-
net feature for the first
time. The online renewal
service affords licensees
instant confirmation of
license renewal that
eliminates the hassle
and uncertainty of mail-
ing forms and checks. The Real Estate Commission’s license renewal was featured
at www.Alabama.gov, the state of Alabama’s official Web site, as the first online ser-
vice in the state that can be paid by credit card. All state online credit card transac-
tions are processed and managed through Alabama Interactive.

Alabama Interactive is the official eGovernment solutions provider for the state of
Alabama. The company builds and manages interactive government services on
behalf of the state and is a wholly owned subsidiary of eGovernment firm NIC.

NIC delivers more Web-enabled government services than any other provider in
the world. The company is helping to simplify how government and its constituents
communicate by providing convenient online government services that make life
easier for businesses and citizens. Through partnerships at all levels of government,
NIC manages transactions for over 1,400 state and local agencies that serve more
than 67 million people in the United States.

The Commission is excited about this positive innovation and is continuing the
quest for improved and convenient real estate licensee and consumer services. Look
for additional online services that will become available soon. Projected implemen-
tation dates are as follows:

Certification Of Licensure................ Projected November 2002

Change Of Business Address .............. Projected February 2003

Change Of Home Address......................... Projected April 2003

License Transfer ................................... Projected Summer 2003

Instructor Renewals ................................... Projected July 2003

Thomas Hays Confirmed 
As New Commissioner

Thomas L. Hays (Birmingham) was
appointed by the Governor and
confirmed by the Alabama Senate

to serve as a consumer member on the
Alabama Real Estate Commission. His
term with the Commission commenced
recently and is effective through Septem-
ber 30, 2006.

In 1973 Hays graduated from Athens
College and in 1975 he obtained a masters
degree from the University of Alabama at
Birmingham. Additional academic credits
include C.A.S.E. (Certificate of Advance
Study in Educational Psychology) from
the University of Alabama at Birmingham
in 1977; masters of business administra-
tion from Samford University in 1981; and
1985 School of Banking of the South,
Bank Graduate School, at Louisiana State
University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Hays is currently working as a financial
advisor and registered securities represen-
tative with Raymond James Financial Ser-
vices in Birmingham, Alabama. His other
professional experience includes being
vice president-registered securities repre-
sentative for Morgan Keegan and Compa-
ny, Incorporated from 1995-2001; person-
nel office (1978), assistant vice president
(1980), and vice president (1982) for
AmSouth Bank in Birmingham, Alabama;
and Commissioner for the Housing
Authority of the Birmingham District.

Hays is a member of the Registered
Securities Representative, National Asso-
ciation of Security Dealers, and Lebanon
United Methodist Church. He is married to
Dr. Sarah J. Hays, M.D. and they have two
children.  ■
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Disposition: The below were found guilty for

violation of Section 34-27-36(a)(16) by pre-

senting to the Alabama Real Estate Commis-

sion, as payment for a fee or fine, a check

which was returned unpaid by the bank upon

which it was drawn.

Name: Diedre Dawn Mosley, Temporary
Salesperson, Cullman, Alabama

Date of Hearing: June 28, 2002, Fined $250

Name: Erica L. Thomas, Salesperson,
Daphne, Alabama

Date of Hearing: June 28, 2002, Fined $250

Name: Levy Calvin Turner, Reciprocal 
Broker, Gadsden, Alabama

Date of Hearing: August 23, 2002,

Fined $250

Name: Barbara E. Lawson, Salesperson,
Fairhope, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Paula E. Yoe, Salesperson, 
Birmingham, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Juanita H. Muirhead, Qualifying 
Broker, Bessemer, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Karen J. Burns, Temporary 
Salesperson, Pelham, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Disposition: The below were found guilty for

violation of Rule 790-X-3-.01 via Section 34-

27-36(a)(19) for changing his or her place of

business as set out on his or her numbered

license certificate, and failing to notify the

commission in writing within 30 days after the

change.

Name: Robert A. Cates, Qualifying Broker,
Troy, Alabama

Date of Hearing: June 28, 2002, Fined $250

Name: Larry V. Harvill, Qualifying Broker,
Pike Road, Alabama

Date of Hearing: August 23, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Jeffrey D. Brooks, Qualifying Broker,
Pelham, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Charles M. Sisco, Jr., Qualifying 
Broker, New Market, Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Name: Maxwell G. Horkins, Jr., Qualifying
Broker, Nashville, Tennessee

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002, 

Fined $250

Disposition: The below were found guilty for

violation of Section 34-27-36(a)(8)a. and 34-

27-36(a)(8)b. for failing to deposit and account

for at all times all funds to be held in trust for

other parties and 34-27-32(e) via 34-27-

36(a)(19) for a qualifying broker to fail to

make application for a real estate corporation

license for a corporation conducting business

pursuant to the Alabama Real Estate License

Law.

Name: Robert A. Cates, Qualifying Broker
and David L. Adams, Salesperson, Troy,
Alabama

Date of Hearing: July 26, 2002, Mr. Cates

was fined $1000 and $250. Mr. Adams was

fined $1000 and his license suspended for 

90 days.

Disposition: In lieu of filing a formal 

complaint and having a hearing, the below 

surrendered the license for alleged license 

law violations.

Name: Brian A. Hardie, Qualifying Broker,
Gainesville, Georgia

Date of Hearing: June 28, 2002, License

Revoked

Name: Renee L. Jarrell, Salesperson, Ozark,
Alabama

Date of Hearing: September 27, 2002,

License Revoked

Disposition: The below was found guilty for

violation of Section 34-27-36(a)(29) for a bro-

ker to fail, within a reasonable amount of time,

to provide information requested by the Com-

mission during an investigation; Section 34-

27-36(a)(8)a. for a broker to fail within a rea-

sonable time, to properly account for money

coming into his possession which belongs to

others and Section 34-27-36(a)(19) for a bro-

ker to violate or disregard the place of business

requirements of Section 34-27-2(11) or to vio-

late or disregard the provisions of Alabama

Real Estate Commission Rule 790-X-3-.01

concerning notification to the Commission of a

change of business address.

Name: Fred H. Hawkins, Qualifying Broker,

Montgomery, Alabama

Date of Hearing: July 26, 2002, 

License Revoked

OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE
ACTIONS
Determination for Licensure

Approved . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

Denied. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 0

Determination of Eligibility

Approved . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4

Denied. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES HANDLED 
BY LEGAL AND INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
From Licensees. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1189

From Public . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 547

Anonymous . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 45

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN
June through September 2002

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN
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Change of Business Address
Attention brokers, this is a reminder that Rule 790-X-3-.01 of the Alabama Real Estate

License Law states: “It shall be a violation for any licensee to change the address

of his place of business as set out on his numbered license certificate

and fail to notify the Commission in writing within thirty (30)

days after such change has been made. To effect a change

of business address, the qualifying broker must return to

the commission the company license, if the company

is a corporation, partnership or branch office, plus all

broker and salesperson licenses. A $25 transfer

fee must be included for each license issued

to that company.”

Change of Residence Address
Section 34-27-35(h) of Real Estate License

Law states that each licensee shall notify the

commission in writing of any change in his or her

business or residence address within 30 days of the

change. There is no fee to change a licensee’s residence address.

All correspondence returned to the Commission by the U S Postal

Service marked “Undeliverable,” or “Forwarding Order Expired” will be indicat-

ed on the licensee’s record. No further correspondence will be mailed or transactions processed 

until the licensee notifies the commission of an address change. Changes can be sent by mail, fax or email. ■

LICENSING TIDBITS

Moved — No Forwarding Address?
By Annie Hall, Licensing Supervisor

LICENSING TIDBITS

EDUCATION
is what you get from reading
the License Law book.

EXPERIENCE is    
what you get from 

not reading it.
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Here is the situation.  You are the listing agent.  Your
company has an agency relationship with the sell-
ers of a house that has a basement.  You are show-

ing it to hopeful buyers.  While looking at the somewhat
dark basement, one of them asks, “Does the basement
leak?”  You know it does, but before you answer you think
to yourself; “Oh no.  That is the only problem with this
house.  Otherwise it is otherwise perfect, and a great buy for
these people.”  You remember what the sellers told you.
They said it had leaked some, and only after that freak hur-
ricane.  But you saw three or four high water stain marks a
foot or so above floor level.  You saw other evidence of leak-
ing and water damage, too.

Here are some possible answers to the buyers’ question:

1. I am not sure.  It has not really rained since we listed it.  

2. This house is being sold “as is.”  We are making no rep-
resentations about its condition.

3. We need to get back upstairs.  There is a lot more to see.

4. Maybe just a little in flooding conditions.

5. This house is a great buy for you.

Are any of these your final answer?  If so, the buyers’
attorney could be a millionaire.  All these answers are like-
ly fraud under Alabama law. 

Some of the best authority in this area is Cato v. Lowder
Realty Co., 630 So2d 378.  In this case the buyers sued the
sellers and the company over a leaky roof and defective fur-
nace. The case is based on statutory Alabama fraud law,
which says that suppression of a material fact, which a par-
ty is under an obligation to communicate, constitutes fraud.
The statute is Section 6-5-102 Code of Alabama 1975, as
amended.  In this case the court discusses caveat emptor,
and goes on to say, “Seller generally has a duty to disclose
defects to a buyer only if a fiduciary relationship exists

between the parties or if the buyer specifically inquires
about a material condition concerning the property, in which
case the seller has an obligation to disclose known facts.”

The court then cites Boswell v. Coker, 519 So2d 493.
This case says; “Where one responds to an inquiry, it is his
duty to impart correct information, and he is guilty of fraud
if he denies all knowledge of a fact which he knows to exist,
or if he gives equivocal, evasive, or misleading answers cal-
culated to convey a false impression, even though literally
true as far as they go, or if he fails to disclose the whole
truth.”  Let me cite one more case.  “This section does not
require proof of intent to deceive, as the breach of an oblig-
ation to disclose is sufficient to trigger liability for fraudu-
lent suppression.” Intercorp, Inc. v. Pennzoil Co., 877 F.2d
1524. If you are having trouble understanding the court’s
language, allow me to translate.  If you are asked a specific
question, the court is saying, “Spill your guts.”

Let’s summarize the law on fraudulent suppression in
Alabama.  If you are an agent for the buyer or seller, you
have a duty without being asked to disclose known, mater-
ial facts to your client.  Your client is the seller, if you are
the listing agency and have an agency-creating listing agree-
ment.  Your client is the buyer if you have a written buyer’s
agency agreement.  Regardless of agency relationships, you
have a duty to accurately and completely answer any spe-
cific questions about known, material facts regarding the
property, regardless of who poses the questions.

Now back to our question.  The buyers asked, “Does the
basement leak?”  Your final answer should be; “Yes.  The
sellers said it has leaked, and there is evidence of leaking
and water damage.”  In the Lowder case the buyer did not
ask anyone about the condition of the roof or the furnace.
Lowder Realty was an agent for the sellers.  For these rea-
sons, neither the sellers nor Lowder Realty were held
liable. ■

BRIEFLY LEGAL

Is That Your Final Answer?
Or Is It Fraudulent Suppression?

By Charles R. Sowell, General Counsel

Note: This is a reprint of an article that was previously published only on the Commission’s Web site.

BRIEFLY LEGAL



Daily Computer Testing for 
Licensing Examinations Now Available!

Daily administration of salesperson and broker licensing examinations began on October
21, 2002. A person who meets all qualifications for licensure can now schedule an examina-
tion at their convenience. Examinations are administered at designated H&R Block offices
in Huntsville, Birmingham, Montgomery and Mobile each weekday morning at 9:00 a.m.
and each afternoon at 1:30 p.m. Examination sites are closed on specified holidays.

After an intensive competitive bid process, the Commission awarded the contract to
Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). Potential exam candidates can obtain all nec-
essary information from their real estate schools or by going to AMP’s Web site at www.goamp.com
where the Alabama Candidate Handbook can be viewed and/or downloaded. The cost of the exam is $63.00. 

Applicants may register for the salesperson’s or broker’s exam one of the following ways: 1) Online at AMP’s Web
site; 2) By phone by calling AMP at 1.800.345.6559; 3) By mail to Alabama Real Estate Exam Candidate Services, 8310 Nieman
Road, Lenexa, Kansas 66214-1579. If registering online or by phone, credit card payment is required by use of Visa, MasterCard,
American Express or Discover. If registering by mail, the applicant must complete and mail with the application, certified funds for the
$63.00 examination fee. Walk-in testing will not be allowed. Candidates must register in advance to be admitted to the testing center.

An additional benefit of daily testing both for exam candidates and companies is that the exams are scored on-site. Passing can-
didates leave the exam site with a combined score report and license application. This is speeding up the licensing process by more
than ten days.

The Commission is very proud of this major step forward and our improved service to real estate licensees. ■
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If you hold an active real estate license, you either complet-
ed your required 15 hours of continuing education by
August 31, 2002, or you placed your license inactive until

you did complete it and then re-activated it -right? And, you
have your certificates of completion in a file at your office —
right?

We hope the answer to both questions is “yes.” CE compliance
audits will begin soon. A Real Estate Commission auditor will
check some certificates during routine audits but most audits will
be initiated by computer generated lists of randomly selected
licensees. These licensees will receive a written notice from the
Commission to send in CE certificates within thirty days. As
Commission resources are available, random mail-in audits will
be performed over the next two-year period. All of you must
keep your certificates for the entire 2003-2004 license period
ending September 30, 2004. If you are not included in the first
round of audits, do not despair. You are subject to audit at any

time and may be included in a future audit. If for some reason
you do not have a certificate for each course you completed, you
need to contact the school immediately and obtain a replacement
certificate.  

In January 2002, the Commission mailed out Certificates of
Completion to all active licensees and to all inactive licensees
who completed continuing education courses between October
1, 2000 and October 31, 2001. If you completed courses during
this time and do not have a Commission issued certificate, you
may obtain one by sending a written request and a $10.00 check.

Most want to know what will happen for non-compliance.
Failure to produce acceptable CE certificates showing that
requirements were completed prior to your having an active
license will result in a formal complaint being filed and a hear-
ing before the Commission being scheduled. If found guilty of a
License Law violation, the Commission can reprimand, fine,
suspend, and/or revoke your license. ■

EDUCATION CORNER

The Joy of CE Audits
By Pat Anderson, Education Director

EDUCATION CORNER
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ANNUAL
INSTRUCTORS’

SEMINAR
OCTOBER 10, 2003

Auburn Hotel and 
Conference Center

Auburn, Alabama

New Risk Management Book
and Course Available for

Property Managers

Just released in October by the
Alabama Real Estate Research and
Education Center (AREREC) at the
University of Alabama is a three-
hour course book in Risk Manage-
ment written specifically for those
who engage in property manage-
ment. Alabama’s educators were
introduced to it at their Annual Sem-
inar held in mid October. That
means that two Risk Management
courses will now be offered.
Licensees, whether or not they
engage in property management,
can take either of the Risk Manage-
ment courses in order to meet the
three-hour CE requirement for Risk
Management. The new book can be
obtained from the AREREC by call-
ing 205.348.4117 or going to
www.arerec.cba.us.edu, click on
Products/Research Order Form, and
order online.

MARK YOUR
CALENDAR

REAL ESTATE LICENSING FEES
October 1, 2002 - September 30, 2004

■ Original Broker 
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety, $30 Research)  .......................... $205
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety) .....................................................$175

■ Second Broker’s Application .................................................................. $150

■ Temporary Broker’s Application ............................................................. $150

■ Reciprocal Broker Active Application Fees
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety, 
$30 Recovery, $30 Research) ................................................................ $235

■ Reciprocal Broker Inactive Application Fees
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety, $30 Research) ............................ $205

■ Original Salesperson
From October 1, 2002 to Sept. 30, 2003 ................................................ $130
From October 1, 2003 to Sept. 30, 2004 .................................................. $65
(Add $30 Recovery Fund Fee if Temporary License was never active)

■ Temporary Salesperson Active Application Fees 
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety, 
$30 Recovery, $30 Research) ................................................................. $235

■ Temporary Salesperson Inactive Application Fees
($150 License Fee, $25 Public Safety, $30 Research) ............................ $205

■ Reciprocal Salesperson Active Application Fees
(From 10-1-02 to 9-30-03: $130 License Fee, 
$25 Public Safety, $30 Recovery) .......................................................... $185
(From 10-1-03 to 9-30-04:  $65 License Fee, 
$25 Public Safety, $30 Recovery) .......................................................... $120

■ Reciprocal Salesperson Inactive Application Fees
(From October 1, 2002 to Sept. 30, 2003: 
$130 License Fee, $25 Public Safety) ..................................................... $155
(From October 1, 2003 to Sept. 30, 2004: 
$65 License Fee, $25 Public Safety)  ....................................................... $90

■ Corporation, Branch, Partnership Application Fee
(From October 1, 2002 to Sept. 30, 2003) .......................................... $130
(From October 1, 2003 to Sept. 30, 2004)  ........................................... $65
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Commission Meetings 
Open to the Public

All Commission meetings are open
to the public and that includes real
estate licensees. Commissioners

welcome and encourage attendance
and observation by any licensee in
any location. Locations, dates and

times can be found on the 
Commission’s Web site at

www.arec.state.al.us.

License Renewal Dates
Real Estate licenses expire 

September 30, 2004. Remember to
renew all broker, salesperson and

company licenses in every even year.

 State of Alabama

REAL    ESTATE
                      Commission


