
The Alabama Real Estate Commission is proud to 
welcome new Commissioner Emmette Barran from
Decatur, Alabama. He was appointed by the governor

and confirmed by the Alabama Senate to represent the 
fifth Congressional District. His term is effective through
September 30, 2022.

Commissioner Barran has held a real
estate license since 1996 with Gate-
way Commercial Brokerage, Inc. (a
family-owned real estate company
since 1958). He has assisted families
and businesses in helping to liquidate
their properties. He has completed
transactions with various owners and
tenants such as Compass Bank,
Regions Bank, Family Security Credit
Union, WW Grainger, Aaron’s Rent to
Own, Big Lots and Morgan County. 

His skills and ability to create
unique solutions for owners
show in his track record of 
consummating the most com-
plicated real estate transac-
tions. He specializes in market-
ing commercial property and
development of retail strip 
centers. He has also played a
strategic role in the redevelop-
ment of Downtown Decatur.
Along with bringing new restaurants to the area such as Mellow Mushroom
and Moe’s Barbeque, Commissioner Barran has been instrumental in bringing
the first luxury loft apartments (307 Second) to the area.

Commissioner Barran is a graduate of Auburn University with a Bachelor of
Business Administration in Finance. He has earned the Certified Commercial
Investment Member (CCIM) and Certified Property Manager (CPM) designa-
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tions and is a member of International Council of Shopping Centers
(ICSC). He currently serves on Decatur General Foundation, Calhoun
Community College Foundation, Decatur City Planning Commission
and Decatur Downtown Redevelopment Authority.

Commissioner Barran is married to Jill Barran and they have four
children, Shine, Rivers, Clay and Ocie. He is active in the community
and a member of First Bible Church in Decatur, Alabama.

Commissioner Barran joins current commission members Reid
Cummings (District 1), Danny Sharp (District 2), Carole Harrison
(District 3), Chairman Nancy Wright (District 4), Vice Chairman Bill
Watts (District 6), Cindy Denney (District 7); Clif Miller (Industry
Member-at-Large); and Vaughn Poe (Consumer Member-at-Large).
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By Patricia Anderson, Executive Director

The Home Builders Licensure law was enact-
ed to ensure that consumers are protected from
poor workmanship that could compromise the
various systems of a home and endanger the
health, safety, and welfare of the occupant.
This law, just like those regulating the plumb-
ing, HVAC, electrical, real estate, and other pro-
fessions, focuses on ensuring that the individ-
ual or business is competent and qualified
before undertaking the task of improvement,
remodeling or repair to a residential structure.

You already hold a real estate license, and
you’re not building houses, so why do you need
a home builders license? The answer is, you
don’t, unless…you are undertaking repairs and
improvements to property either on behalf of
clients or as a property manager that exceed
$10,000.00. Here’s what the law says:

Anyone who contracts, or offers to contract, to
perform residential construction, including
remodeling, renovation, repair, re-improvement,
and new construction, when the total cost of the
job, including materials, labor, supervision, over-
head, and profit, exceeds $10,000.00, is required
by law to hold a home builders license. Anyone
who contracts, or offers to contract, to superin-
tend, manage, assist, or provide consultation to
a homeowner regarding the residential construc-
tion, including remodeling, renovation, repair, 

re-improvement, and new construction of a 
residence, when the total cost of the job, includ-
ing materials, labor, supervision, overhead, and
profit, exceeds $10,000.00, is required to hold 
a home builders license. (Please see Alabama
Code Section 34-14A-2(10) for the complete 
definition of residential home builder.)

What that means for you as a licensee of the
Alabama Real Estate Commission is that if the
total cost of the project a client asks you to per-
form, supervise, manage, or provide assistance
or consultation on exceeds $10,000.00, you will
need to hire a licensed home builder or hold a
home builders license yourself in order to com-
plete the project.

However, licensed real estate agents are not
required to hold a license when the work they
are performing is within the scope of their
license. (Alabama Code Section 34-14A-6(4).)

The scope of your license is what you can law-
fully do under a real estate license, and is set
out in the statute governing your real estate
license. (Alabama Code Section 34-27-30.)

A recently adopted regulation (Ala. Admin.
Code r. 790-X-1-.03) further addresses actions
that are within the scope of the real estate
license, specifically rental leasing and/or prop-
erty management services. The new regulation
states that a real estate licensee can lawfully
coordinate physical maintenance and repairs
for real property under rental or lease manage-
ment agreement as long as the physical main-
tenance and repairs do not require licensure by
any other agency or board. If the physical main-
tenance and/or repair to a property exceeds
$10,000.00, you will need to hire a licensed
home builder or hold the license yourself.

The home builders licensure law also pro-
vides an exemption for homeowners who are
building, improving, or reimproving a house for
their own use and enjoyment, and specifically
not for sale. Proof of sale, or offering for sale, of
the residence within twelve months of substan-
tial completion is presumptive evidence that
the residence was built for the purpose of sale,
which makes the homeowners unlicensed
builders. However, the exemption is for the
homeowner only. The Alabama Court of Civil

Is Your Real Estate License Enough?

Why Do I Need a Home Builders License?
By Jamie A. Durham, General Counsel, Home Builders Licensure Board

As real estate licensees, you all know the laws and rules that govern our industry under the Alabama Real Estate License Law. 
Jamie A. Durham, General Counsel, Home Builders Licensure Board; Jeffrey Becraft, Deputy Director, Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning 

& Refrigeration Contractors; and David Wilcox, Executive Director, The Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board have provided articles below that 
outline what is required by you as a real estate licensee, as it pertains to performing duties that fall under the jurisdiction of their respective boards.

Please carefully read the following articles. As you undertake repair projects that may involve these services, please be aware of the regulations 
as they pertain to each board. If you have questions, you can contact the Home Builders Licensure Board, the Alabama Board of Heating, 

Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors and/or the Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board. Contact information is included in the articles.
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Appeals has ruled that the homeowner exemp-
tion applies to the homeowner only, not to any-
one else whose work meets the definitions set
out above. (See Hooks v. Pickens, 940 So.2d
1029 (Ala. Civ.App. 2006).)

Why does a real estate licensee need a 
home builders license? So they can undertake the
repair, improvement, reimprovement, or remodel-
ing of a residence requested by a client and total-
ing over $10,000.00, without violating the law.

Contact the Home Builders Licensure Board at
334-242-2230, visit the Board’s website at www.
hblb.alabama.gov, or send a written request to
the Board at 445 Herron Street, Montgomery 
Alabama, 36104 to request an application packet.

The State of Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fit-
ters Examining Board certifies and registers
over 14,000 individuals annually. We register
over 4,000 companies, 5,600 apprentices, 3,000
journeymen, and 5,000 master craftsmen. In
addition, the Board also certifies medical gas
fitters.

The plumbing and gas fitting industry is pri-
marily regulated by Alabama Code Section 34,
Chapter 37. During the 2015 legislative session,
this section of the Alabama Code underwent
major changes that clarified and strengthened
the law. In 2016, several of the Board’s admin-
istrative rules were updated to better fit the
recent law change. Some of these changes
focus primarily on property ownership and 
may directly affect the real estate industry. For

instance, Section 34-37-15 addresses work per-
mitted without Board certification or registra-
tion. In this section, it states that individuals
that are employed by a property owner as a
maintenance technician may perform plumbing
work on or about the property without certifica-
tion or registration. However, if the property is
managed by a separate entity, the exemption
does not extend to the managing party. The
managing party would be expected to either
contract with a certified plumber or gas fitter or
become a registered contractor with the Board. 

We certainly appreciate the relationship we
have always enjoyed with the real estate com-
munity. However, we understand that there has
been some confusion within the real estate
industry where maintenance and repair of sys-

tems is concerned. If there are ever any ques-
tions or any way we can assist please do not
hesitate to email or call the Board directly.

The Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining
Board can be contacted by email at staff@
pgfb.alabama.gov or phone at 205-945-4857.
The website can also be viewed at pgfb.
state.al.us.

The Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board
By David Wilcox, Executive Director

Alabama Board of Heating, 
Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors

By Jeffrey Becraft, Deputy Director

Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 34-31-18
through Section 34-31-35, states that it is
unlawful to perform any installation, service, or
repair on a heating and air conditioning system,
or commercial refrigeration equipment without
holding the proper certification by the Alabama

Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigera-
tion Contractors. This includes changing out
thermostats, changing air filters, duct cleaning,
and coil cleaning.

Many real estate property management 
companies who do business in the State of 
Alabama are unaware of the requirements 
for servicing and installing heating and air 
conditioning units on properties they do not
own. Section 440-X-3-.02(2) of the Alabama
Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigera-
tion Contractors Rules and Regulations requires
real estate property management companies
who manage property owned by others to hold
a certification by the Board if they perform 

heating, air conditioning, and/or commercial
refrigeration installation, service, or repair work
on those properties.

The Board considers the cleaning of duct
work and filter changing as servicing a heating
and air conditioning system. If the real estate
property management company only performs
filter changing services, they must be certified
by the Board. You can find more information
regarding duct cleaning and filter changing in
Section 440-X-3-.01(3) of the Board’s Rules
and Regulations.

To review the Board’s law, rules and regula-
tions, please visit us online at hacr.alabama.
gov or contact us at 866-855-1912.
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As the name implies, a temporary salesperson’s license does not last
forever. The license shall be valid only for a period of one year following
the first day of the month after its issuance. The license can be active for
the first six months of issuance. Therefore, a temporary salesperson’s
license issued on June 17, 2017 can be active until December 31, 2017
and will expire on June 30, 2018. You must complete all requirements and
have your original (permanent) salesperson’s license issued within the
one-year period of receiving your temporary salesperson license to remain
continuously licensed. To do this you must complete the 30-hour post
license course and submit the original salesperson’s application

with the appropriate fee, before the expiration date. Using the example
listed above, to maintain an active license, all requirements would have to
be met by December 31, 2017 or the temporary license will be placed on
inactive status by the Commission. The licensee would then have until
June 30, 2018, while inactive, to complete the requirements and have the
original salesperson’s license issued. Failure to do this will result in a
lapsed license. When a license lapses it is no longer useable. Any license
beyond this point will have to be earned all over again, starting with the
prelicense education process.

Temporary Salespersons Who Complete the
30-Hour Post License Course… You’re Not Finished

By Anthony Griffin, Licensing Administrator

Have you tried to check your CE (Continuing Education) credit on 
the Commission’s website and had trouble “interpreting the foreign 
language” or “solving the puzzle” to get the information you desired?  
No longer! The Commission’s Education and IT team members have
worked together to improve the course credit information that 
is provided.

There are 3 main points to identify:
1. The initial view is easier to understand. The listings of current CE courses 

and archived CE courses are better labeled and include an explanation letting 
the licensee know how the listed courses can be used.

2. Course information is now better organized. After clicking a course name, 
the course information is now better organized and easier to read.

3. Courses taken in previous license periods. Not only can you see the courses 
recently archived after the most recent license activation or renewal, but a link 
can now be selected to see all CE courses taken in previous license periods.

Prelicense instructors can see their Instructor CE in the revised format as well. 
Log in to see your CE credit and/or provide a course evaluation today. By the way, 
a course evaluation is requested but it is not required, so CE credit is not affected 
if the course evaluation expires. Enjoy taking CE courses and seeing the revised 
information on our website.

Checking CE Credit is Now Easier!

By Ryan Adair, Education Director

BEFORE

AFTER

(Continued on page 8.)
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We went back in our time machine (aka file cabinets) and found a map showing the 
number of active brokers and salespersons who were in Alabama as of April 1, 1949. 
Needless to say, we have come a long way. In 1949, there were less than 2,100 active 
brokers and salespersons in the state and more than 90 active non-resident (now
known as reciprocal) licensees. Today, there are more than 15,000 active brokers and 
salespersons and more than 2,400 active reciprocal licensees…and counting!

Check out the map and chart and see how your county stacked up in 1949 
compared to 2017.

Note: The 2017 numbers are as of November 2, 2017. Inactive licensees 
are not included in the 2017 column. There was no inactive status in 1949.
Inactive status was added to the law in 1983. As of November 2, 2017 
there were more than 1,500 inactive brokers and more than 5,500 inactive
salespersons, including reciprocals.

1949 2017 
County Brokers Salespersons Brokers Salespersons
Autauga 3 0 47 97
Baldwin 47 32 666 1025
Barbour 4 1 21 22
Bibb 0 0 12 11
Blount 2 1 17 61
Bullock 0 0 8 5
Butler 2 0 5 11
Calhoun 33 36 60 157
Chambers 2 0 9 30
Cherokee 4 5 13 6
Chilton 2 1 27 52
Choctaw 0 0 5 5
Clarke 1 1 21 12
Clay 0 0 6 11
Cleburne 1 0 2 14
Coffee 1 0 39 96
Colbert 14 7 45 73
Conecuh 0 0 1 4
Coosa 0 0 2 10
Covington 7 8 25 37
Crenshaw 2 0 7 4
Cullman 7 8 85 126
Dale 0 0 20 30
Dallas 19 15 27 34
DeKalb 9 8 45 30
Elmore 3 1 91 179
Escambia 3 1 13 15
Etowah 46 58 65 105
Fayette 1 0 4 3
Franklin 1 0 17 10
Geneva 1 0 16 9
Greene 0 0 2 5
Hale 6 5 9 13
Henry 1 1 12 20
Houston 13 3 82 179

1949 2017 
County Brokers Salespersons Brokers Salespersons
Jackson 4 7 29 26
Jefferson 274 547 1104 2385
Lamar 1 0 5 1
Lauderdale 21 11 113 166
Lawrence 2 2 6 18
Lee 10 7 181 303
Limestone 5 1 79 130
Lowndes 0 0 2 9
Macon 6 3 10 5
Madison 29 29 652 1158
Marengo 4 1 11 12
Marion 0 0 9 16
Marshall 11 9 89 108
Mobile 111 149 494 795
Monroe 2 2 16 11
Montgomery 101 120 362 487
Morgan 19 18 97 192
Perry 3 0 1 2
Pickens 2 1 9 6
Pike 3 0 26 30
Randolph 3 0 20 26
Russell 6 1 30 58
St. Clair 3 1 55 140
Shelby 5 1 178 458
Sumter 0 0 10 8
Talladega 11 9 33 52
Tallapoosa 1 1 51 76
Tuscaloosa 26 26 209 328
Walker 9 1 44 102
Washington 0 0 4 8
Wilcox 1 0 4 5
Winston 1 0 19 15

TOTAL 909 1139 5478 9637

From the Commission Archives and History
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DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating Sec-
tion 34-27-36(a)(16) for presenting to the Ala-
bama Real Estate Commission, as payment
for a fee or fine, a check which was returned
unpaid by the bank upon which it was drawn.

Marilyn Dumpson
License No. 000109156
Salesperson; Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 27, 2017
Fined $250

Amanda McAuley
License No. 000075290-1
Salesperson; Fairhope, Alabama
Date of Hearing: July 27, 2017
Fined $250

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(8)(b) for failing to proper-
ly deposit and account for, at all times, funds
belonging to or being held for others; guilty of
violating Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to
comply with Rule 790-X-3-.03(1) which states
“the deposit and accounting for at all times
of all funds belonging to or being held for
others in a separate federally insured account
or accounts in a financial institution located
in Alabama shall require that the qualifying
broker be a customer of the financial institu-
tion holding all accounts and the qualifying
broker shall be one of the persons with
authority to deposit and withdraw funds and
to write or make checks necessary on all such
accounts”; guilty of violating Section 34-27-
36(a)(19) by failing to comply with Rule 790-
X-3-.03(4) which states “…In cases where 
a successor qualifying broker is to provide

these services, the first broker shall provide 
a complete accounting of the funds and shall
transfer the funds to the successor broker.
The qualifying broker who is currently provid-
ing services to the owner shall be responsible
to the public and to the commission for all
funds”; and guilty of violating Section 34-27-
36(a)(17) by establishing an association, by
employment, with an unlicensed person who
is expected or required to act as a licensee,
or aiding, abetting, or conspiring with a 
person to circumvent the requirements of
Section 34-27-36 of Alabama License Law.

Sara Nicole Thompson
License No. 000102301
Qualifying Broker; Prattville, Alabama
Date of Hearing: August 24, 2017
Fined $7,500

Madison Andy Hawkins III
License No. 000072642
Associate Broker; Pell City, Alabama
Date of Hearing: August 24, 2017
Fined $10,000

DISPOSITION
The below were found guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) for failing to notify

the Commission within ten days of the 
institution of a civil suit against him which
related to a real estate transaction in 
violation of Section 34-27-31(j); guilty of 
violating Section 34-27-36(a)(23)b. by having
a settlement in the matter of a civil suit 
and failing to notify the Commission of the
disposition of the case; guilty of violating
Section 34-27-36(a)23b. by having a final
money judgment rendered against him which
resulted from an act or omission in the pur-
suit of real estate brokerage activities or
involving the goodwill of an existing real
estate business; and guilty of violating 
Section 34-27-36(a)(19) by failing to notify 
the Commission within ten days of the 
institution of a civil suit against them 
which related to a real estate transaction 
in violation of Section 34-27-31(j).

Hugh T. Praytor III
License No. 000009211-2
Qualifying Broker; Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 19, 2017
License revoked

Praytor Realty Company Inc.
License No. 000009190
Company; Mobile, Alabama
Date of Hearing: January 19, 2017
License revoked

DISPOSITION
The below surrendered his license 
for alleged license law violations in 
lieu of a formal complaint and hearing.

Joe D. Huddleston
License No. 000073019
Salesperson; Rainbow City, Alabama
Date of Hearing: August 24, 2017

Penalties for violations of the Real Estate License Law and Commission rules vary depending upon the 
particular facts and circumstances present in each case. Due to space limitations in the Update, 

a complete description of the facts cannot be reported below.
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JUNE - SEPTEMBER 2017

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE
(Includes Applications for Temporary, 
Broker or Reciprocal licenses.) 
These numbers represent persons 
who have come before the Commission 
requesting hardship extensions to renew
licenses, complete exams or submit 
applications past the deadline. They 
also represent those who request 
applications for change in status 
(i.e. salesperson to broker).

APPROVED  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11

DENIED  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6

DETERMINATION 
OF ELIGIBILITY
(Applications for Licensing Eligibility 
Determination) 
These numbers represent persons 
who have come before the Commission 
requesting approval to be licensed, 
mainly persons who have criminal 
prosecutions show in their criminal 
background checks. They have an 
opportunity to explain to Commissioners
the circumstances surrounding these 
incidences and be granted permission 
to proceed with the licensing process or
not, based on the Commissioners’ ruling.

APPROVED  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3

DENIED  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 0

COMPLAINTS AND INQUIRIES 
HANDLED BY LEGAL AND 
INVESTIGATIVE STAFF
FROM LICENSEE  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1,276

FROM PUBLIC  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 599

ANONYMOUS/COMMISSION  . . . . . . . 49

By Mandy Chambliss Lynn, 
Assistant General Counsel

Simply, if you are working with a buyer,
it is your responsibility to prepare and pro-
vide a net sheet form to the buyer at the
time the buyer signs an offer or counter-
offer. This form must be prepared by you
and signed by the buyer. It must contain
your best estimates of all cost items the
buyer is expected to have at closing and
the approximate amount of each item.

If you’re working with the seller, you
must provide a net sheet form to the sell-
er at the time an offer or counter-offer is
presented to the seller. (This does not
require you to prepare a net sheet to a
seller who is unrepresented by a licens-
ee; e.g. FSBO.) Again, this form must be
prepared by you and must be signed by
the seller. It must contain your best esti-
mates of all costs items the seller is
expected to have at closing and the
amount of each.

These are basically the key points to
remember when dealing with estimated
closing statements. You can keep these
handy:
■ Estimated closing statements are 

just that. Estimated. We expect you 
to make your best reasonable guess
about the items. You must make 
reasonable efforts to gather this 
information. If you later find out 
different information, you should 
make the corrections and have the
party sign off on the new or corrected
net sheet.

■ You cannot rely on any estimate of
costs provided by a mortgage lender.
It is your responsibility to prepare one.
There is no longer a requirement to
provide a net sheet at or after closing.

■ You must prepare or amend a net
sheet when preparing and presenting
counter offers or subsequent 
written offers.

■ The rule does not require you to 
prepare a net sheet for the seller
when you get a listing. Brokers can
require this, but the rule does not.

■ You must leave a signed copy with 
the buyer or seller and retain one in
your company files for three years, 
as is required for all records. You only
need a net sheet in your files for the
side of the transaction you worked.
There is no need to trade with the
other side’s licensee.

The requirements for estimated closing
statements can be found in Alabama Real
Estate Commission Rule 790-X-3-.04 and
are to help ensure that buyers and sellers
are informed of all expected costs. If the
parties know what to expect, you are like-
ly to have a smooth closing!

In the next The Update newsletter,
we would like to do a Q&A with the 
questions you have! Please email 
any questions to mandy.lynn@arec.
alabama.gov. As always, if there is
anything we can assist you with,
please call or email us.

Quick Thoughts on Estimated
Closing Statements (net sheets)

In the Summer 2017 issue of The Update, the Legal Division 
provided some clarification on estimated closing statements,

also known as net sheets. I just wanted to break down the 
key points of net sheets to clarify the basics of this topic…

a cheat sheet, so to speak.
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COMMISSION MEETINGS 
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
All Commission meetings are open to the 

public and that includes real estate licensees. 

Commissioners welcome and encourage 

attendance and observation by any licensee 

in any location. Locations, dates, and times 

can be found on the Commission’s website 

at arec.alabama.gov.

REAL ESTATE LICENSES
EXPIRE SEPTEMBER 30, 2018
Remember to renew all broker, 

salesperson, and company licenses 

in every even-numbered year.

It is common for Commission staff to be contacted by temporary salespersons who receive
our correspondence that their license went inactive or lapsed, unaware why this action 
happened, when they completed the 30-hour post license course before the deadline. It is
important that temporary salespersons are aware that after completing the course they 
must apply for the original salesperson’s license. This entails completing a separate application 
and submitting a fee.

There are two ways temporary salespersons can have their original license issued. First, you
may log in to the Commission’s website under Online Services Login, complete the original
salesperson’s online application process and pay the fee for the license in one convenient step.
Additionally, the online process allows the license to be issued to active or inactive status or be
transferred to another active company. Secondly, you can complete the Salesperson Original
Application found on the Commission’s website under “Forms” and mail it to the Commission
office with the appropriate fee.

If you are an instructor or licensee reading this article and know someone who is a tempo-
rary salesperson, please help ensure that they are aware of these requirements.

(Continued from page 4.)


