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IT’S NOT TOO LATE TO RENEW!

he deadline to renew

school, school
administrator, and
instructor  approval  was

September 30. Those who did
not renew were placed on
inactive status. However, it is
not too late to renew and
avoid losing your approval.
Here are some key points
concerning renewal for those
who have not yet renewed:

SCHOOLS THAT TEACH ONLY
CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES
may renew through December
31. The school can not offer
any courses until renewal is

accomplished. Any school that'

does not meet all renewal
requirements must submit a

new application for approval.

SCHOOLS THAT TEACH PRELICENSE
COURSES, OTHER THAN COLLEGES
AND UNIVERSITIES, must apply for
a school license in order to offer
prelicense and post license
courses. Applying for a school
license requires the submission
of a surety bond to the
Commission and the payment
of the $500 license fee. Schools
can not offer prelicense and
post  license~ courses until
obtaining the school license.

School administrators who are
not instructors may renew
through December 31. A school
administrator that is inactive
will not be able to access CMap.

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING FOR 2010

he Commission offered

some great training for

instructors  this past
year and is trying to maintain
that quality with training
programs in  2010. The
following  presenters  and
topics are being finalized for
next year.

AMY CHOREW

MARCH 12, 2010

Amy is a very popular and
effective instructor of real
estate  technology. She
presented the first instructor
training for credit in the
Commission’s training room in
2005. Amy is in high demand
and is used at many
Commission and REALTOR’
association trainings
throughout the country, as
well as conferences sponsored
by the Real Estate Educators
Association  (REEA), the
Association of Real Estate

License Law Officials (ARELLO),
and the National Association of
REALTORS® (NAR).

Jim LAWRENCE
May 14, 2010
Jim will once again offer the
Risk Management training for
those instructors who were not
able to attend the previous two

offerings and for newly
approved instructors  who
desire to teach Risk

Management in the summer
months  prior to license

renewal. The course text and

Continuing education
instructors may renew through
December 31. The instructor
can not teach any courses until
renewal is accomplished.

Prelicense/post license
instructors may renew through
December 31. Renewal includes
paying the renewal fee and
obtaining twelve hours of
instructor  training.  The
instructor may not teach any
courses until renewal " is
accomplished. Any instructor
who does not meet all renewal
requirements by December 31
will be required to submit a
new application and fee and
attend the New Instructor

PowerPoint presentation will be
provided.

LEN ELDER

AuGusT 13, 2010

Len is a very talented speaker
from Arizona who has made
presentations at REEA
conferences. He offers a good
variety of training programs and
will bring his unique way of
presenting  information  to
Alabama for the first time.

The next education renewal is
in 2011 but everyone s
encouraged to begin taking
instructor CE in 2010 and not
wait until the last minute to
obtain the 12 hours needed for
instructor  renewal. These
trainings are also open to any
CE instructor and school
administrator who would like to
attend. More specific
information will be provided in
early 2010.

Orientation in order to teach
again.

Courses that were not
renewed by September 30 can
not be offered until the course
is renewed. Courses may be
renewed through December
31. If the course is not
renewed by December 31, a
new course application and
fee would have to be
submitted in order to once
again  have the course
approved.

If 'you have any questions
concerning renewals, contact
the Education Division.
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SALESPERSON ORIGINAL APPLICATIONS AND THE ROLE OF INSTRUCTORS

hat does this have

to do with

instructors? It is
the responsibility of the
applicant to send the
application to the Commission
by the deadline...right? Well,
instructors play an important
role in making sure students/
applicants know what they
are required to do. Students
and applicants do not think to
look in the proper area of the
Commission’s Web site to find
out what has to be done. The
Commission depends on
instructors to include
licensing requirements and
deadlines in the prelicense
and post license courses.
However, many individuals
still miss deadlines and tell
commissioners that they did
not know what they were

supposed to do. That is the
reason we began requiring the
Licensing Process & Deadlines
Form for all instructors to
explain to students and keep a
signed copy on file. Another
responsibility of instructors is to
provide the  Salesperson
Original  Application to all
students completing the post
license course. As a matter of
fact, the original application is
actually included in the post
license outline in Module VIII:
Review and Test with the
following statement:

The instructor will review
instructions regarding applying
for an original (permanent)
license. [§34-27-33(c)(2); Rule
790-X-2-.03(2),(3),(5)]

If this is done by all post license
instructors then there will be no

INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES UPDATED

he Commission
continues to improve its
Web site by posting
anything that will aid licensees
and instructors in performing
their duties. The Education
section of the Web site
includes the following links

providing
g r e at
information:

m Approved
Schools

m Course
Requirements

m Real Estate
Course Search

m Real Estate
Exams

m Instructor
Resources

m Education Forms and
Applications

m Education Management
(CMmap)

m Risk Management Text
Order Form

m The Educator Index

ul

applicant using the excuse
didn’t know” when missing the
deadline and being notified his/
her temporary license has
lapsed.

Classroom instructors of the
post license course must give
each student a copy of the
Salesperson Original Application
and explain what has to be
done. This can easily be given to
all students while they are in
class and can be done at any
point during the course as long
as each student receives it.

Distance education (online)
instructors must make sure the
information is included in the
post license course material and
also must email the Salesperson
Original Application to all post
license students requiring a
read receipt for verification of
receipt. This is the best way to

m The Education Newsletter
m FAQs

The Education Forms and
Applications link include many
documents that are essential to
instructors and school
administrators. The Educator
Newsletter link contains past
issues of the newsletter, and
The Educator Index link
provides an easy way to find
articles on specific education
topics.

The FAQs link is currently
incomplete but will provide
answers to frequently asked
questions in the very near
future.

The area that we continue to
update and improve s
Instructor Resources. This area
includes Commission Prescribed
Outlines, AMP EED Information,
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make sure all students are
notified of the application
requirement.

This article is meant to make
sure all temporary licensees
know about the Salesperson
Original Application and also
to protect instructors when
those who miss the deadline
attempt to claim that they
were never told what to do by
the instructor. Documentation
will be requested by the
Commission verifying
explanation and provision of
the application by the school/
instructor if an individual with
a lapsed temporary license
claims he/she was never told.
This will offer protection for
instructors and show
commissioners that all
instructors are fulfilling their
responsibility.

Education Audit Checklists,
Instructor Training outlines for
the New Instructor
Orientation, Education Links,
and Textbook Publishers. Two
very useful areas are Student
Handouts and Instructor Tools.
The Student Handouts include
deadlines, CMap instructions,
and the Licensing Process and
Deadlines form required in
prelicense and post license
courses. The Instructor Tools
include useful resources
introduced in the August
License Law training as well as
Renewal Instructions for those
instructors who have not yet
renewed.

Take advantage of the
Commission’s Web site and
the valuable information that
can be obtained any time of
the day.
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AMP Changes

Two items have changed
involving AMP:

m The Candidate Handbook
has been revised. It is sent to
instructors at no charge so
order enough to give to your
salesperson and  broker
prelicense students. It is also
available on AMP’s Web site
at www.goamp.com for

quick reference.

m The examination fee has
been increased from $69 to
S71 as a
Commission’s contract with
AMP.

result of the

Please make sure vyour

prelicense  students are

aware of these changes.

ATTENTION: PRELICENSE INSTRUCTORS

With the implementation of
AMP’s  Electronic  Eligibility
Database (EED) questions have
arisen  regarding deadlines,
forms, and CMap entries for the
Reciprocal Prelicense courses
for salespersons and brokers.
These issues are addressed
below.

The reciprocal prelicense
education requirement can
only be satisfied by using the
current prelicense courses.
Approved CE courses are not to
be used. A reciprocal
salesperson applicant must
meet the education
requirement by attending the
appropriate content in a 60
hour salesperson prelicense
course, and a reciprocal broker
applicant must meet the
education  requirement by
attending  the  appropriate
content in a 60 hour broker
prelicense course.

The deadlines that currently
apply to the 60 hour prelicense
students/applicants also apply
to reciprocal students/

No MORE CERTIFICATES!

The days of paper certificates
have come and gone. Prelicense
instructors are no longer
required to issue certificates to
students, and the students are
no longer required to submit
the certificate at the exam test
site.

There have been many
problems with certificates in the
past including  incomplete
information, inaccurate
information, and failure by
students to take the certificate
to the test site.

A good solution to these
problems is the Electronic
Eligibility = Database  (EED)

provided by AMP. This is an
electronic entry of course

completion just like CMap with
the Commission. Instructors

Detailed instructions have
been placed on the
Commission’s Web site

and school administrators must
enter the completion
(graduation) date of all
prelicense  students  who
complete all requirements of
the salesperson and broker
prelicense courses, as well as
reciprocal prelicense courses.
Individuals will not be able to
schedule an examination until
their information has been
entered into the EED. It is

applicants:

They have one year to complete
the six hours of coursework
which includes License Law and
RECAD.

They have one year to pass the
reciprocal license examination.

They have 90 days to submit the
application after passing the
license examination.

The Licensing Process and
Deadlines Form does not have
to be signed by reciprocal
students/applicants. There are
only a couple of deadlines that
apply and the others may
confuse the student/applicant.
However, instructors MUST
make sure these individuals are
aware of the deadlines
identified above.

Course Schedules entered into
CMap are entered differently

for reciprocal prelicense
courses:
Classroom course schedules

MUST include Location, City,
Dates, and Comments.

Electronic
Eligibility
Database
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The Comments area of the
Course Schedule must contain
the following wording: “The six
hours of the reciprocal
prelicense  requirement s
contained within the 60 hour
salesperson or  broker
prelicense  course.  Please
contact the school for the
specific dates on which the
appropriate material will be
offered.”

Classroom dates MUST be
entered with October 1, 2009
as the Start Date and
December 31, 2009 as the End
Date. As for 2010, the Start
Date will be January 1, 2010
and the End Date will be
December 31, 2010. This is
necessary since the classroom
instructor may not know the
specific dates the appropriate
information will be covered in
the prelicense course.

Classroom course schedules
DO NOT include the time or
days of the week for reciprocal
prelicense courses.

important that all prelicense
instructors and school
administrators  make  sure
accurate information is entered
in a timely manner.

Once the information has been
entered into the EED, the
student will receive an email or
postcard stating he/she may
now schedule the examination
and go to the exam site with
only the required
identification...no certificates!

Detailed instructions have been
placed on the Commission’s
Web site in the Instructor
Resources area. Please refer to
the instructions and let the
Education staff know if you
have any questions.
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LICENSE LAW DEADLINES AND FEES

labama License Law contains many deadlines and fees,
and they seem to be scattered throughout the License

Law book. How is it possible to keep up with all of these?

Well, the answer to your question is to look on the
Commission’s Web site. The homepage contains a list of Quick
Links and you will find two links in that collection entitled
Deadlines and Fee Schedule.

The Deadlines document is a list of all important deadlines
associated with the licensing and approval of salespersons,
brokers, and instructors. This document also includes deadlines
for address changes, license transfers, renewals, co-brokerage
agreements, and legal actions including appeals. This document
combined with the Licensing Process & Deadlines Form provides
all necessary deadlines associated with real estate licensure and
renewal.

The Fee Schedule document includes a list of fees associated
with all areas of real estate licensure and approval including
applicants, instructors, schools, and timeshares.

Both of these easily accessible documents provide a quick way
to find the information you desire. Take advantage of the
Commission’s Web site for deadlines and fees as well as many
other areas of important information.

oopPsS

On multiple occasions Education auditors have traveled
to a location to audit an instructor only to discover the
course had been cancelled or rescheduled with no
change made to Course Schedules in CMap. Courses have
also been entered in CMap with the wrong location.
These oversights of the instructor and/or school
administrator result in wasted money and time for the
Commission.

According to Rule 790-X-.06 and Rule 790-X-1-.12,
changes must be made immediately to CMap when they
occur. Instructors and School Administrators must make

sure all CMap entries are current since they are
considered to be public notice to the Commission and
licensees. The first occurrence will warrant a warning and
the second occurrence will result in a formal complaint
being filed.

-. 2010 NEW
£ INSTRUCTOR
7¢ ORIENTATION

The Commission has scheduled dates for
the New Instructor Orientation for 2010.
If you know of anyone who desires to

rf’ . /)eeome an approved Prelicense Instructor

Uplease let them know about these dates.
Applicants must have their completed
applicatlﬁ\ package into the Commission
' at least two weeks prior to the
orientation.

{

The schedule is as follows:
) February 4-5, 2010
% July 22-23, 2010

___aqq_l October 28-29, 2010




