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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

AREEA Spring Fling & Instructor Training 
March 29-30 - Alabama Real Estate Commission Office 
 

Featuring AMP Psychometrician Danny Breidenbach and Alabama Real Estate Commission General Counsel Charles Sowell. The cost is 
$49 for AREEA members and $59 for non-members. To register, contact Debbie Coe at 334.657.7827. 



 

 

LOCATION 

Alabama Real Estate Commission Training Room 
 

REGISTRATION 

8:30-9:00 a.m. 
 

TIME 

9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. 
 

COST 

$95 (includes lunch and breaks) 

All participants must register through Auburn 
University’s Outreach Program Office. Use the 

registration form or register online at 
auburn.edu/arec. 

M a y  4  I n s t r u c t o r  t r a i n i n g  
R i s k  M a n a g e m e n t :  T h a t  d e l i c a t e  b a l a n c e  

your instructor approval that will take place in 2013. Take 

advantage of these great training opportunities and 
acquire not only hours needed for instructor renewal but 

also valuable information and knowledge that can be used 
in the classroom. 

Once again, Jim Lawrence will be offering training for 

those who need preparation to teach the Commission’s 
required course entitled Risk Management: That Delicate 
Balance. The Commission has approved new instructors 
since the last Risk Management training was offered and 

other instructors may want to attend in order to be 
reminded of some effective methods of course delivery 

from the course author. Prelicense instructor applicants 
who are in need of points may attend as well. This 

instructor training is the first to be offered for the 
instructor renewal that will take place in 2013.  

 
Remember, these hours are not interchangeable with CE 

hours that are needed to renew your broker license.  
These CE hours are only applied toward the renewal of 
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Jim Lawrence 

 Education Director 

Alabama Center for Real Estate 

 
 

I M P O R T A N T  
The Risk Management course requirements are being changed through License Law rule amendments and new 

instructor training will be required in October. Therefore, those who attend the training on May 4 in order to teach Risk 
Management for the current license renewal must also attend the future training in order to continue teaching Risk 
Management after it has been revised. More information on the revised Risk Management courses will be provided in 

Education Essentials emails and in the next Educator newsletter.  

http://www.auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re/arec.htm


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
REGISTRANT INFORMATION 
 
Social Security Number __________________________________________________________ 
 
Name ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone _______________________________________ Fax __________________________ 
 
Email Address _________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER 
FAX this form to 334/844-3101 
CALL in your information to 334/844-5100 
MAIL this form to Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849 
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arec 
 
PAYMENT INFORMATION 
  Check   Money Order    Purchase Order 
  MasterCard    Visa    American Express   Discover 
 
Expiration Date ____________________ Card or Purchase Order Number _________________________________ 
 
Authorized Signature ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number.  Otherwise, you will not be 
considered registered. 
 
MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY  TOTAL ENCLOSED __________________ 
 
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS 
Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration charge.  
Refund requests received after that cannot be honored.  A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who cannot attend. 
Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections, 
to limit registration, or to change instructors or speakers. 
 
This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend.  Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100. 

REGISTRATION FORM 
Risk Management: That Delicate Balance 
Sponsored by the Alabama Real Estate Commission 

Presented by Jim Lawrence 
Friday, May 4, 2012  9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. 

1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL  
Alabama Real Estate Commission 

LAST 

NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG 

ZIP CODE STATE CITY 

MI FIRST 

COURSE INFORMATION 
Lunch will be provided. 
    
 ($  95) Risk Management: That Delicate Balance– Received by April 20, 2012 
 
 ($130) Risk Management: That Delicate Balance– Received after April 20, 2012 



 

 

The following information explains proposed changes to 
license law that have not yet been approved and will not take 
affect when approved until October 1, 2012. This is just the 
beginning of the amendment process and these proposed 
changes can be altered during the process. More information 
will be forthcoming to all licensees regarding this rule 
amendment. However, this article is being provided to 
educators so you will know what the proposed changes involve 
and will be able to answer questions and stop any rumors that 
may have been started.  
 

The proposed changes involve the following rule: 
 
 

Rule 790-X-1-.11(1)(2)  
Course Content For Continuing Education 

 
 

Beginning October 1, 2012, three (3) clock hours in Risk 
Management: Avoiding Violations will be required for all 
brokers and salespersons. Also, another three (3) clock hours in 
Risk Management will be required. All brokers must take the 
Risk Management for Brokers course. Salespersons can take 
the Risk Management for Salespersons course, Risk 
Management for Brokers course, or another Risk Management 
course that has been approved by the Commission. The 
remaining nine (9) hours of continuing education can be any 
approved course. These courses must be taken and on a 
licensee’s record for the license renewal in 2014. Instructor 
training for these new courses will be offered in October. The 
current Risk Management: That Delicate Balance course is still 
applicable for the license renewal this year and should still be 
taught until October. 
 

These are proposed changes to the rule. They are subject to 
change during the amendment process and are not official. 
Information will be presented to all licensees at the 
appropriate time for comments. This has been presented to 
instructors and school administrators so proper understanding 
will take place. 
 

To view and/or download the rule amendments in their entirety, 
go to the Commission’s Web site at arec.alabama.gov. The link 
can be found in the scrolling marquee entitled “News and 
Events.” 

 

PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED RULE AMENDMENT 
There will be a public hearing on proposed rule amendments at the Commission meeting to be held on Thursday, April 26, 2012 at the Alabama 

Real Estate Commission at 9:00 a.m. Comments can be presented at the public hearing or by written comments.  

Address any written comments to D. Philip Lasater, Executive Director, Alabama Real Estate Commission, 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, 
Alabama 36106. Comments may also be faxed to 334.270.9118. The deadline for written comments is 4:30 p.m. on May 4, 2012. The final decision 

will be made after hearing and studying all comments. 

Proposed Amendment to Rule 
790-X-1-.11(1)(2) 

Education Current Snapshot 
 
Prelicense/Post License Instructors 141 
Continuing Education Instructors 187 
Licensed Schools 60 
Approved Schools 94 
 

     Salesperson Examination (July-December 2011) 
 Taken - 684 
 Passed - 294 
 Overall Passing % - 43.0    
 1st Time Passing % - 54.9 
 

     Broker Examination (July-December 2011) 
 Taken – 76 
 Passed – 62 
 Overall Passing % - 81.6 

1st Time Passing % - 89.1 
 

     Reciprocal Salesperson Examination (July-December 2011) 
 Taken - 145 
 Passed - 136 
 Overall Passing % - 91.2 

1st Time Passing % - 92.1 
 

     Reciprocal Broker Examination (July-December 2011) 
 Taken - 56 
 Passed - 49 
 Overall Passing % - 87.5 

1st Time Passing % - 88.2 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
 

March 
23  Commission Meeting - Montgomery 
29-30  AREEA Meeting - Montgomery 
 

April  
11-14  ARELLO Midyear Meeting - Austin, TX 
22-24  Auburn Education Fair - Auburn 
23  Confederate Memorial Day (Commission Office Closed) 
26  Commission Meeting - Montgomery 
 

May  
  4 Instructor Training - Montgomery 
24  Commission Meeting - Montgomery 
28 Memorial Day 



 

SCHOOL FILES FALLING SHORT 

 
APPRAISERS 
Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board 
www.reab.state.al.us 
334.242.8747 
 
AUCTIONEERS 
Alabama State Board of Auctioneers 
www.auctioneer.state.al.us 
334.269.9990 

PRELICENSE (SALESPERSON/BROKER) 
 Registration 
 Attendance (Sign-in Sheets) 
 Exam Answer Sheet 
 CMap Verification (Course Credit History) 
 Licensing Process & Deadlines (Effective March 1, 2009) 
 Certificates of Completion (Prior to October 1, 2009) 
 

RECIPROCAL (SALESPERSON/BROKER) 
 Registration 
 Attendance (Sign-in Sheets) 
 CMap Verification (Course Credit History) 
 Reciprocal Licensing Process and Deadlines Form 
 

POST LICENSE 
 Registration 
 Attendance (Sign-in Sheets) 
 Exam Answer Sheet and/or Project Evaluation Sheet that  
 includes specific criteria 
 CMap Verification (Course Credit History) 
 Licensing Process and Deadlines form (Effective March 1,  
 2009) 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 Registration 
 Attendance (Sign-in Sheets) 
 CMap Verification (Course Credit History) 
 

You may use electronic files if they are actual scanned 

documents. For example, you may scan and file a student’s signed 
Licensing Process and Deadlines form; however, you cannot just 
indicate in a computer file the date the form was given to the 
student or returned to you by the student.  
 

FILING SUGGESTIONS 
Only you can determine what recordkeeping system works best for 
you, but here are a few suggestions: 
Include course name, class date, and session time on each 

sign-in sheet. 
Label all folders/files clearly. 
Review files after each course to verify that you have all 

required documentation. 
Organize continuing education classes by date. 
If students attend a class for which they did not pre-register, 

get registration information for your files from them as they 
arrive. 

Instructors and administrators should communicate clearly 
prior to a continuing education course offering to determine 
who will handle specific responsibilities such as sign-in 
sheets, handouts, and registration. The sponsoring school 
must keep required records.  

Read all Education Essentials emails and The Educator 
newsletter carefully to stay updated on records requirements.  

 
Call the Education Division at 334.242.5544 and ask for Julie 
Norris or Pam Oates if you have any questions. 

 

Many school audits conducted during 2011 revealed recordkeeping deficiencies. Records are a vital 
part of your school administration and may be subpoenaed by Commissioners to verify a person’s 
real estate education. Failure to keep the required records can result in a formal complaint leading 
to a reprimand, a suspension, a fine, and/or a revocation of your school or instructor license. This 
article will specify exactly what school records need to be kept and offer some recordkeeping 
suggestions to help you efficiently maintain all required school records. The following records are 
required: 

HOME INSPECTORS 
State of Alabama Building Commission 
www.bc.state.al.us 
334.242.4082 
 
HOME BUILDERS 
Home Builders Licensure Board 
www.hblb.alabama.gov 
334.242.2230 

MORTGAGE BANKERS 
State of Alabama Banking Department 
www.bank.state.al.us 
334.242.3452 

 

QUESTION: Does the Real Estate Commission issue a license to appraisers, auctioneers, home inspectors, homebuilders, 
and mortgage brokers? 
 

ANSWER:  No, the Real Estate Commission does not license any of these occupations. Individuals call the Commission 
asking for information that is provided by these agencies. Instructors may receive similar questions or requests. Such information can 
be obtained by contacting the following state agencies: 


	Social Security Number: 
	Name: 
	Address: 
	Phone: 
	Fax: 
	Email Address 1: 
	Email Address 2: 
	95 Risk Management That Delicate Balance Received by April 20 2012: Off
	130 Risk Management That Delicate Balance Received after April 20 2012: Off
	Check: Off
	Money Order: Off
	Purchase Order: Off
	MasterCard: Off
	Visa: Off
	American Express: Off
	Discover: Off
	Expiration Date: 
	Card or Purchase Order Number: 
	TOTAL ENCLOSED: 


