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Notice of Public Hearing on Proposed Rules

Comments can be presented at the public hearing
scheduled at 10:15 a.m. on July 21, 2000, at the
Birmingham Area Association of Realtors office
located at 3501 Independence Drive, Birmingham,
Alabama. Additionally, written comments may be
addressed to D. Philip Lasater, Executive
Director, Alabama Real Estate Commission, 1201
Carmichael Way, Montgomery, Alabama 36106.
The final date to submit comments on the
proposed rule changes is August 4, 2000.

Synopsis of Proposed
Rule Amendments
Effective October 1, 2000

= Rule 790-X-1-.01. Organization.

The proposed amendment is to revise
the rule to correct out dated
information regarding the
Commission's address, number of
Commissioners and other pertinent
information.

= Rule 790-X-1-.06. Prelicense
and Post License School
Approval and Requirements.

The proposed amendment deletes the
requirement in paragraph (6) for
students to use the 30 hour post license
book since it has been discontinued
and adds a requirement in paragraph
(6) to require instructors to file all
course enrollment and completion
electronically beginning January 1,
2001.

= Rule 790-X-1-.07. Qualifications
for Instructors.
The proposed amendment is a change
to paragraph (4) that increases the
continuing education hours from 12 to

15 hours to agree with a recent change
in the statute.

= Rule 790-X-1-.20-.09. Instructor
Approval for Continuing
Education Courses.

The proposed amendment changes a
rule citing to agree with rule re-
numbering and adds a requirement in
paragraph (6) for instructors to file
their continuing education
electronically beginning January 1,
2001.

= Rule 790-X-1-.10. Renewal
Requirements for Instructors
and Schools.

This is a new rule written to enact the
statutory requirements of Section 34-
27-6 of the Alabama Rea Edtate
License Law. The proposed rule
requires instructors and schools to
renew their approval every two years
in the odd numbered years. The school
and instructor approva will run
October 1 — September 30. As
provided in the statute, the fee for
instructors will be $50 annually ($100
for the two year renewal period) and

no fee for school renewal.
Continued on page 4




Education Tidbits

Who Is Responsible?

We need your help. Some course
sponsors and instructors are not clear as
to  who is  responsible  for
communicating with the Commission
regarding the reporting of the course
information and course enrollment and
completion. Too many times, each
thinks the other has taken care of
reporting reguirements. Also, each
instructor should know your instructor
code and the course code. It is not up to
the course sponsor to run down these
codes for you. Each of you has been
given this information. We are getting
too many certificates with the WRONG
course codes; hence, some students may
not be getting appropriate credit. Thisis
a big problem. Instructors, you must
take more responsibility in these matters
for you are the ones who have the
information. Just showing up to teach is
not your only responsibility. Please help
us with this growing problem.

Course Information
Form Now on the Web

Save yourself mailing costs. Go to the
Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.state.al.us and click on CePc.
Then click on “Online Course
Information Form” and you can notify
the Commission about your course
offerings instantly. Once you fill in the
form, just click on “submit” and it
comes directly to the Commission. You
will receive a confirmation that it has
been received. There is aso a print
feature if you wish to print it out for
your records. We encourage you to
begin using this now. [an]

Some Jumped Ahead

The increase in CE hours does not start
until October 1, 2000, for the renewal of
the 2003-2004 licenses. There is some
misinformation getting around out there
among the licensees. Please help clarify
this as you talk with them. Everyone is
required to have only 12 hours to renew
this renewa period for the 2001-2002
license.

CePc and PowerPoint
Classes

Take advantage of these classes! Three
instructors  took  the  beginning
PowerPoint class held on May 25 and
can now deliver their enhanced classes
using wonderful visuals. Right now,
there is an Intermediate PowerPoint
class scheduled for July 19. Between the
printing of this edition of The Educator
and its being received by you, 8-10
instructors will have attended the CePc
instructor training on June 28. There is
another CePc class scheduled for
August 17. All classes are held at the
Commission office but you can register
for them through Auburn University at
www.auburn.edu/outreach/arectraining.

You can also register online by going to

the Commission's Web sdite at
www.arec.state.ad.us and click on
“training programs’. The last two

editions of The Educator have contained
registration forms. Don’t delay. Register
now as class size is limited to 15 per
session. m

Course I nformation Form

You must still submit your Course Information
Forms by mail, fax, e-mail, or online PRIOR to the
course being offered. This is important so that
we can provide information to licensees who
inquire about available courses. It is also
important in the event of Commission audit.




The New
Version of
CePc

Please go to the
Commission’s Web site at
www.arec.state.al.us and
download, free of charge, the
new version of CePc. Those
of you who are filing your
course rosters and
completion electronically are
using the first edition of the
program. We need for you to
begin using the new version
as it interfaces differently
with our system and it will:

Send you an automated
response that  your
transmission has been
received.

Maintain your enrollment
roster until course credit
is given, no need to re-
enter student names.
Transfer your data file by
Internet with just one
click, no more e-mail
attachments.
Automatically store your
files for Commission audit
of records, no need to
keep paper files.

It is available on CD-ROM
from the Alabama Real
Estate Commission for $10.
If you want individualized
instruction on using the
program, sign up for one of
the Commission’s classes.
Remember, the plan is to go
solely to electronic filing by
January 1, 2001.

Course Codes

Instructors: Be careful!! It is extremely
important that you use the correct
course code. Some of you have
confused the regular classroom codes
with the codes for distance education
courses. Others are simply using the
wrong course codes. Look at your charts
again that you received in your package
a last yea’'s Annua Instructors
Seminar. We cannot stress enough the
importance of being accurate with your
coding.

Code of Ethics

Remember: Code of Ethics is the only
elective course which does not carry the
009 code. The correct course code is
201. Thisoneis tracked separately in an
effort to assist licensees in verifying
credit to their local associations of
Realtors.

Distance Education
Course Evaluation Form

Instructors. Make sure you are giving
each student who takes Computer Based
Training courses the Distance Education
Course Evaluation Form. You should
also be keeping evauation data as well
for your records as it will be required at
the time of recertification. The

Commission can provide you with the
form in MSWord if you would like to
have it e-mailed to you.

Annual I nstructors Seminar

Mark Your Calendars! Friday,

October 20, 2000, is the date of
our annual meeting. It will be held
at the Auburn University Hotel and
Conference Center.

E-mail Addresses and
Fax Numbers

The Commission is building a data base
of instructor e-mail addresses and fax
numbers. This way, we can quickly get
information to the group. We are taking
the information off the sheets you filled
out at the last October’s seminar. If you
have had a change in either one, please

contact Gloria Ingram at
ingram@arec.state.a.us or  Anne
Funderburk a

funderburk@arec.state.a.us by August
1 and give them your revised
information.

License Law on CD

The Alabama Real Estate License
Law is now available on CD from
the Alabama Real Estate Research
and Education Center for $10.00.
The version you get will always be
current asto laws and rules
presently in effect at the time of
purchase. Laws and rules that will
become effective on October 1 will
not be on the CD until then. CD’s
can be ordered from AREREC, The
University of Alabama, Box
870221, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-
0221. Their eemail addressis
rerec@cba.ua.edu and their phone
number is 205-348-4117.

Risk Management
Manuals Required for
Post License and CE

Now that the 3-hour required CE course
in Risk Management is contained in the
post license course, be reminded that
students must have the required manual.
This includes students in the post
license course as well as those in the
continuing education course. m
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Rule 790-X-1-.09 .11. Course
Content for Continuing
Education.

The proposed amendment addresses
the statutory increase in continuing
education hours from 12 to 15 by
increasing the elective hours from 6
to 9. The required 3 hours in Risk
Management and the 3 hours in
mandatory courses will remain the
same. Paragraph (6) also contains a
change for a rule citing which
occurred as a result of rule re-
numbering.

Rule 790-X-1-.2% .12.
Continuing Education Course
Approval and Requirements.

The proposed amendment takes care
of some housekeeping items
regarding rule citings and
terminology, verifies the course
review fee for classroom continuing
education courses as set forth in the

statute, requires that beginning on
January 1, 2001, al instructors must
file course enrollment and
completion electronically to the
Commission and removes the
language which did not allow
licensees to earn credit for courses
already taken during the license
period.

Rule 790-X-1-.42 .13.
Exemptions from Continuing
Education Requirements.

The proposed amendment changes
the continuing education hours from
12 to 15 to agree with recent
statutory changes, deletes the 65
year old CE exemption and adds
language to explain the grandfather
clause for those exempt from CE as
of 9-30-00.

Rule 790-X-1-.17.
Disciplinary Actions for
Instructors and
Schools/Course Sponsors.
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The proposed amendment adds a
paragraph to alow disciplinary
action to be taken against an
instructor for inappropriate
language and behavior and changes
a rule citing to agree with rule re-
numbering.

Rule 790-X-1-.21. Distance
Education Courses.

The proposed amendment deletes
the previous requirements of the
rule except the requirement for
ARELLO (Association of Real
Estate License Law Officials)
certification and adds an
explanation of what is required for
providers with ARELLO certified
distance education courses to
submit them to the Alabama Real
Estate Commission for approval.



