
 

A s all of you are 
aware, instructors 
must attend a six 
hour instructor 

training program for RECAD, 
Risk Management and Fair 
Housing before being able to 
gain approval to teach them. 
Additionally, new instructors 
who are teaching prelicense or 
post license must also com-
plete these programs the first 
time they are offered as all of 
these topics are covered in 
those courses. The last time 
RECAD and Risk Management 
instructor training was offered 
was May 20-21, 2002. If you 
have been approved as a new 
instructor since that time you 
must attend both days to con-
tinue teaching prelicense and 
post license and certainly be-
fore you can teach the con-
tinuing education courses in 
these topics. For those of you 
who would like a refresher, 
this is a grand opportunity at a 
reduced fee. Mark your calen-
dars now! 

DATES 
March 22–RECAD 
March 23–Risk Management 

LOCATION 
Montgomery Area Association 
of REALTORS® 
4280 Carmichael Road, Mont-
gomery, Alabama 

COST 
RECAD 
$75 First time attendee 
$49 Refresher course attendee 
 

Risk Management 
$95 First Time attendee-
(includes manual) 

$49 Refresher course atten-
dee-(bring your own manual) 
 

LATE FEE 
All costs increase by $35 per 
program for registrations re-
ceived after Monday, March 8, 
2004. 
 

 
Costs include—continental 
breakfast, breaks, lunch, hand-
out materials and instruction 
by Randy McKinney! 

REGISTRATION 
All participants must register 
through Auburn University for 
both RECAD and Risk Manage-
ment. Those paying by check 
will make it payable to Auburn 
University. See enclosed regis-
tration form for more details. 
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Announcing Instructor Training Programs 
RECAD Instructor Training in Montgomery-March 22, 2004 and 
Risk Management Instructor Training in Montgomery-March 23, 2004 

ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR 
Randy McKinney is currently 
a broker, attorney and educa-
tor. He is a popular speaker 
and CE instructor. He has 
taught many RECAD and Risk 
Management courses through-
out the state and has taught 
both instructor training pro-
grams in the past. Other teach-
ing duties find him serving on 
the Alabama GRI (Graduate, 
REALTOR® Institute) faculty 
and the national CRB 
(Certified Real Estate Broker) 
faculty. Randy also maintains a 
CCIM (Certified Commercial 
Investment Member) designa-
tion. He is the current Presi-
dent-Elect for the Alabama 
Association of REALTORS®. 
 

Randy received his Bachelor of 
Science Degree from the Uni-
versity of South Alabama in 
1977 and then obtained his 
salesperson’s license in 1978. 
In 1980 he received a Master 
of Religious Education from 
the New Orleans Baptist 
Theological Seminary. He ob-
tained his broker’s license and 
earned his GRI designation in 
1981. In 1985 he received a 
Juris Doctor (J.D.) from the 
Birmingham School of Law and 
was admitted to the state bar 
in 1986. Since then Randy has 
practiced both law and real 
estate brokerage which gives 
him a unique perspective into 
both RECAD and risk manage-
ment. 
 

Randy is a talented educator 
who possesses both the deliv-
ery skills and knowledge of the 
subject matter to make him 
among the best in the country. 

 
The Alabama Real Estate 

Commission announces its 
Optional Instructor 

Training Program on 
Thursday, October 21, 

2004 and Annual 
Instructors’ Seminar on 

Friday, October 22, 2004 
at the Auburn University 

Hotel and Conference 
Center in Auburn, 

Alabama 

Registration Forms 
Enclosed 

Featuring Instructor 
Randy McKinney 



REGISTRATION FORM 
RECAD Instructor Training 

Sponsored by the Alabama Real Estate Commission 
Taught by Popular Educator and Trainer Randy McKinney 

Monday, March 22, 2004          9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. 
 

Held at the office of the Montgomery Area Association of REALTORS® 
4280 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, AL 

 
Registration Fees and Forms Received After Deadline Will Increase $35 

 
REGISTRANT INFORMATION 
 

Social Security Number ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name _________________________________________________________________________________ 
                        LAST                                                                             FIRST                                                                     MI 
 
Address _______________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                      CITY                                                    STATE                                 ZIP CODE 
 
Phone ___________________________________        Fax ______________________________________ 
 
E-mail Address  _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE ON NAME TAG 
 
COURSE INFORMATION 
 
 
      ($75) RECAD Instructor Training — first timers—Received by March 8, 2004 
      ($110) RECAD Instructor Training — first timers—Received after March 8, 2004 

 
      ($49) RECAD Instructor Training — refresher—Received by March 8, 2004 
      ($84) RECAD Instructor Training — refresher—Received after March 8, 2004 
 
 
FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER 
FAX  this form to 334/844-3101 
CALL  in your information to 334/844-5100 
MAIL this form to Outreach Program Office, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arecrecad 
 
PAYMENT INFORMATION 

 Check                    Money Order   MasterCard   Visa   Purchase Order 
 
Expiration Date ________________________  Card or Purchase Order Number ____________________________________________ 
 

Authorized Signature ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number.  Otherwise, you 
will not be considered registered. 
 
MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY   TOTAL ENCLOSED_____________________________ 
 
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS 
  Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration 
charge. Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who 
cannot attend. 
  Auburn University and the Outreach Program Office reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections, to limit 
registration, or to change instructors or speakers. 
 

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100. 



REGISTRATION FORM 
Risk Management Instructor Training 

Sponsored by the Alabama Real Estate Commission 
Taught by Popular Educator and Trainer Randy McKinney 

Tuesday, March 23, 2004           9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. 
 

Held at the office of the Montgomery Area Association of REALTORS® 
4280 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, AL 

 
 

Registration Fees and Forms Received After Deadline Will Increase $35 
 
REGISTRANT INFORMATION 
 

Social Security Number ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name _________________________________________________________________________________ 
                        LAST                                                                             FIRST                                                                     MI 
 
Address  _______________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                                      CITY                                                    STATE                                 ZIP CODE 
 
Phone  ___________________________________        Fax ______________________________________ 
 
E-mail Address __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE ON NAME TAG 
 
COURSE INFORMATION 

Fee covers cost of manuals for first timers.  Those attending program for refresher, bring your own manuals. 
 
  ($95) Risk Management Instructor Training—first timers—Received by March 8, 2004 
  ($130) Risk Management Instructor Training—first timers—Received after March 8, 2004 
 
  ($49) Risk Management Instructor Training—refresher—Received by March 8, 2004 
  ($84) Risk Management Instructor Training—refresher—Received after March 8, 2004 
 
 
FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER 
FAX  this form to 334/844-3101 
CALL  in your information to 334/844-5100 
MAIL this form to Outreach Program Office, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn University, AL 36849 
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arecriskmgmt 
 
PAYMENT INFORMATION 

 Check                    Money Order   MasterCard   Visa   Purchase Order 
 
Expiration Date ________________________  Card or Purchase Order Number ____________________________________________ 
 

Authorized Signature ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number.  Otherwise, you 
will not be considered registered. 
 
MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY   TOTAL ENCLOSED_____________________________ 
 
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS 
  Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration 
charge. Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who 
cannot attend. 
  Auburn University and the Outreach Program Office reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections, to limit 
registration, or to change instructors or speakers. 
 

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100. 
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1-.10(4) and (5) state the re-
quirement of instructors to 
renew both their instructor 
approval and course approvals. 
The instructor renewal must 
be accomplished by August 31 
of the second year of each 
approval period or the ap-
proval will be placed on inac-
tive status meaning no courses 
can be taught until the ap-
proval is renewed. The instruc-
tor must also renew each indi-
vidual course that is approved 
under him/her by submitting a 
fee and outline including learn-
ing objectives. Courses that 
are not renewed by the dead-
line set by the Commission will 
be deleted from the instruc-
tor’s list of approved courses. 
 

The second area of responsibil-
ity is confined to those instruc-
tors who teach the 30-hour 
post license course. According 
to Rule 790-X-1-.06(6)(j), post 
license instructors must verify the 
temporary license number of a 

Who’s Responsible for This?Who’s Responsible for This?Who’s Responsible for This?   
By Ryan Adair, Education Specialist 

20% of the total classroom 
time covered by the course in 
the absence of the approved 
instructor. Guest instructors 
may be used more than 20% 
provided the instructor is pre-
sent. 
 

The final area of responsibility 
is record keeping, which rests 
on school administrators. Rule 
790-X-1-.06(l) requires schools 
to maintain permanent records 
showing attendance and course 
completion scores for a mini-
mum of three (3) years. Rule 
790-X-1-.12(10) requires 
schools (course sponsors) of 
continuing education courses 
to maintain permanent atten-
dance records for its students 
for a minimum of four years. 
 

You are urged to review the 
Rules 790-X-1-.06 through 
790-X-1-.21 from time to time 
to insure that you remain up 
to date on your responsibility 
as an instructor or administra-
tor.  

student prior to admitting him/
her to a post license course. 
No student can be allowed to 
begin a post license course 
without a temporary license. If 
a student begins a post license 
course before the temporary 
license is issued, the student 
must start over at whatever 
time the error is discovered, 
even if the student has success-
fully completed the course. 
 

The third area of responsibility 
deals with an instructor’s pres-
ence in the classroom. Rules 
790-X-1-.08 and 790-X-1-.12
(2) state the instructor’s re-
sponsibility as far as attendance 
is concerned. All approved 
instructors must be in the 
classroom at all times with 
only two exceptions. The first 
exception involves a distance 
education course. The second 
exception involves the use of 
guest instructors. As the rule 
states, a guest instructor is not 
allowed to teach in excess of 

cense or post license course. 
Continuing education courses 
are addressed in Rules 790-X-
1-.12(7) and .14(2) once again 
specifying the instructor as the 
one who issues the certificates. 
Please note that the entire 
Certificate of Completion is 
the responsibility of the in-
structor, not just the signature. 
Never, never, never sign blank 
certificates and hand them 
over to others to fill out. You 
should sign certificates only 
after they are filled in and you 
can verify that the person at-
tended the course and the 
information on the certificate 
is complete and accurate. You 
will be held responsible for any 
mistakes on the certificate. 
There have been some serious 
situations arise because in-
structors turned this responsi-
bility over to others. Do not 
let this happen to you. 

Therefore, each instructor 
with the desire to teach a 
course must submit the 
Course Application with the 
completed content outline. 
Once approved, the instructor 
can then teach the course for 
any approved school. 
 

Course Information Form 
Instructor Responsibility 
for Prelicense and Post 
License and School Admin-
istrator Responsibility for 
Continuing Education: Rule 
790-X-1-.06(3) specifies the 
instructor’s responsibility of 
sending information concerning 
the exact location, times and 
dates of prelicense and post 
license courses. Rule 790-X-1-
.12(5) states that course spon-
sors of CE courses must sub-
mit the Course Information 
Form. For all courses, the 
course information must be 
submitted at least one week in 

advance of the course. 
 

Rosters 
Instructor Responsibility: 
Paragraphs (4) and (5) of Rule 
790-X-1-.06 address rosters 
for prelicense and post license 
courses. Just as paragraph (3) 
states the instructor is respon-
sible for the Course Informa-
tion Form, he/she must also 
submit the rosters. Rosters are 
not required to be submitted 
for continuing education 
classes but that does not re-
lieve the instructor of the re-
sponsibility of keeping student 
records as prescribed by the 
rules. 
 

Certificates of Completion 
Instructor Responsibility: 
According to Rule 790-X-1-.06
(6)(k), “…a Commission ap-
proved Certificate of Comple-
tion shall be completed by the 
instructor and given to each 
student” at the end of a preli-

Many instructors and even 
school administrators delegate 
some of their responsibilities 
to others particularly as it 
pertains to submitting required 
paperwork. If you choose to 
do this, remember that you are 
ultimately responsible for in-
suring that forms are submit-
ted accurately and timely to 
the Commission. 
 

Let’s look at specific real estate 
education forms and the re-
sponsibility of instructors or 
administrators for each. 
 

Real Estate Continuing 
Education Course Applica-
tion 
Instructor Responsibility: 
According to Rule 790-X-1-.10
(1) of Alabama license law, 
instructors must submit appli-
cation for elective CE course 
approval on this form. Courses 
are approved for individual 
instructors, not for schools. 

R esponsibility. This is a 
word that strikes 
fear in the hearts of 
many people. The 

dreaded question “Who’s re-
sponsible for this?” makes 
some individuals run and hide. 
However, there are others 
who thrive on responsibility. 
The more the better, as far as 
they are concerned. It keeps 
the creative and entrepreneu-
rial juices flowing. Well, you 
may have guessed by now the 
direction in which this article is 
heading. As real estate instruc-
tors, you carry many responsi-
bilities. This statement may 
bring either anxiety or excite-
ment when you read it. Re-
gardless of the feeling that has 
been aroused, we must ad-
dress the responsibilities of 
instructors and make sure that 
everyone is on the same page. 
 

The first area of responsibility 
is the renewal of instructor ap-
proval and courses. Rule 790-X-
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Instructors If you have not 
renewed your instructor ap-
proval effective on or after 
October 1, 2003, you are listed 
with the Commission as inac-
tive and can not be teaching 
approved courses. However, 
you have until September 30, 
2004 to renew your instructor 
approval before it will lapse. 

You can do that online at 
www.arec.state.al.us. At the 
top of the page click on 
“Online Services” and then 
choose “Online Education Re-
newals.” Just follow the on 
screen instructions from there. 
 

Courses Instructors are re-
sponsible for renewing their 
own courses. Once the instruc-
tor renewal has been accom-
plished, the instructor will re-
ceive from the Commission a 
list of courses to be renewed.  
 

Schools Administrators are  

responsible for renewing 
school approvals. If the school 
approval was not done so that 
it was effective on or after 
October 1, 2003, the school is 
now listed as inactive. Adminis-
trators have until September 
30, 2004 to renew the school 
before the approval will lapse. 
Should it lapse the school will 
be deleted from Commission 
records and the administrator 
must again go through the ap-
proval process to re-open. 
Schools must be renewed 
online at www.arec.state.al.us. 

will take on this year is to assist 
the Alabama Real Estate 
Commission in identifying 
appropriate topics to be 

included in a completely 
updated Risk Management 
course. The Commission has 
also enlisted AREEA’s help to 

Instructor, Course and School Renewals 

Alabama Real Estate Educators Association News 

Prelicense and Post License Instructors 

Course Rosters Some are 
getting careless about getting 
the rosters in on time and that 
is assuming they are sent at all. 
Too many cases are coming up 
where applicants are being 
delayed license issuance be-
cause the rosters are missing 
or the course dates do not 
match those on the certificates. 
Remember, prelicense and post 
license rosters are due in the 
Commission office within one 
week after the course begins. 
Make sure you include a course 
completion date on the roster. 

Certificates On prelicense 
and post license certificates, be 
very careful of the dates. Both 
beginning and completion dates 
frequently do not match the 
roster dates. At minimum, the 
course beginning dates MUST 
match. As for the completion 
date, if the student finishes 
earlier than originally reported 
on the roster, instructors must 
submit an amended date show-
ing the correct date of comple-
tion. If the student finishes after 
the course completion date on 
the roster, an amended roster 
is not necessary. 

At the annual meeting held in 
Auburn, AL on October 9, 
2003, the AREEA (Alabama 
Rea l  E s t a te  Educa tor s 
Association) chapter elected 
officers for 2004. Elected were 
President Harriett Isaacson 
from Birmingham; President-
Elect Bo Goodson from 
Montgomery ;  Secretary /
Treasurer Anne Powell of 
Mobile; Directors Fraser 
Sparkman, Birmingham; Emil 
Ankermiller, Gadsden and 
Donnis Palmer, Birmingham. 
 

One of the projects that the 
real estate educator’s chapter 

Revised Alabama 
License Law Books 

Available 
 

The 20th edition revised 2003 
Alabama License Law Book 

including Rules and Regulations 
is now available. This edition 

contains a couple of new 
features that will hopefully 

enhance its use by licensees. In 
the back just prior to the 

regular index is a handy quick 
reference “key word” index. 

Also, recent pertinent 
Commission rulings and 

guidelines have been included 
for periodic review and referral. 

 

A complimentary License Law 
book is being mailed to each 
instructor. License Law books 

for your classes can be 
purchased from the University 

of Alabama Real Estate 
Research and Education Center 
by phone at 205.348.4117 or 

on the Web at http://
arerec.cba.ua.edu/Research/

Order/form.htm. 

update the post license course. 
 

The chapter is planning an early 
spring retreat in Biloxi. The 
committee is busy lining up 
speakers on various topics for 
this program. There will also be 
time included to put in some 
work on the risk management 
course. Come and be a part of 
the work, fun and networking. 
AREEA members should watch 
for registration flyers to reach 
you mid to late February. If you 
are not an AREEA member and 
wish to join the chapter, please 
contact Harriett Isaacson at 
harriett@realtysouth.com.   

“Some are getting careless 
about getting the rosters in on 
time and that is assuming they 

are sent at all.” 
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The Clock on the Wall Says It’s Time to Go NowThe Clock on the Wall Says It’s Time to Go NowThe Clock on the Wall Says It’s Time to Go Now   
By Chris Porter, Education Specialist 

On  March 1, 
2004, I will 

retire from the 
Alabama Real 
Estate Commission. 
It is hard for me to 
accept that the time 
has come for me to 
go. I keep telling 
myself that retiring 
from this agency is 
not retiring for life 
just taking time out 
to enjoy the other 
finer things that life 
has to offer and 
grow with my 
grandson, TJ. 

I have enjoyed my 
employment of 
sixteen years here 
with the 
Commission. I am 
retiring from the 
state with a total of 
thirty-two years of 
dedicated service. 
Sixteen of those 
years were served as 
a high school 
guidance counselor 
with the Elmore 
County Board of 
Education. 
Over the years with 
the Commission, I 

have been most 
fortunate to have 
met so many 
wonderful, loving, 
and caring people. 
The friendships, 
hugs, love, smiles 
and memories will 
forever be embedded 
in my heart. I will 
cherish these 
memories forever. 
You are the best!! 
Sincerely, 
Chris 


