Alabama Real Estate Commission AUGUST 2015

Dekfucator

Administrator Responsibilities & Trainin
Instructor Training Attendance
AREEA Instructor Training
Fingerprint Requirements
Education Snapshot

Calendar of Events

New License Law Book

Q&A

reflew

EDUCATION

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING SCHEDULED AuGuUsT 28, 2015
10 Ways to Skyrocket Your Pass Rate on the AMP Exam with Mark Barker, DREI

Mark Barker DREI, owner of
Career Education Systems in
Kansas City and founder of
ExamSmart, has answers that
should help any instructor raise
license exam pass rates. Mark
teaches prelicense courses in two
different states and has
impressive pass rates for two
different exam providers
(including AMP).

If you have not changed your
material significantly from what
you taught four years ago, your
students may be walking into the
exam unprepared and you might
not even know it. If you are using
the same teaching approach as
four years ago, that could also be
part of your students' problem.
We will analyze what topics you
should consider adding into your
course and, even more
importantly, what topics you
need to remove. This course will
deal with the material/questions
you use PLUS the way you are
teaching it. Mark will show you
how to incorporate new material,

throw out old material that is no
longer being tested, and teach
content using the same
techniques taught in the DREI

With Alabama pass
rates declining on the
AMP real estate exam,
instructors keep asking
"Why? We haven't
changed our material or
teaching approach but
pass rates continue to
fall.”

(Distinguished Real Estate
Instructor) program. This will be
very beneficial as AMP is in the
process of using a new job
analysis survey to update
information used on the
examination.

Mark Barker has earned the DREI
designation and is the owner of
Career Education Systems, Inc.,
the largest real estate school in
the Mid-West, with offices in
Kansas City, St. Louis, and Wichita.
Mark has taught real estate in 49

states, and his company has
taught over 75,000 real estate
licensees. Mark has been a
broker for 30 years and is a past
national President of the Real
Estate Educators Association
(REEA). He also was the original
developer of ExamSmart, which is
used in many states for real
estate exam preparation. Mark
teaches GRI courses for many
state associations of REALTORS®,
as well as ABR courses for REBAC
and PMN classes for the
Women's Council of REALTORS®.
He has a Master's degree in adult
education that allows him to
make complex issues easy for
people to understand.

DATE: August 28, 2015

COURSE: 10 Ways to Skyrocket
Your Pass Rate on the AMP Exam

LOCATION: Alabama Real Estate
Commission Training Room

REGISTRATION: 8:30-9:00 a.m.
TIME: 9:00 a.m.—4:00 p.m.

CoST: $95.00 (includes lunch and
breaks)

All participants must register through Auburn University’s Office of Professional & Continuing Education
(OPCE). Use the registration form or register online at auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re/arec.htm.

Remember, the hours for this training are not interchangeable with CE hours that are needed to renew your
broker license. These CE hours are only applied toward the renewal of your instructor approval that will take
place in 2015. Take advantage of this great training opportunity and acquire not only hours needed for
instructor renewal, but also valuable information and knowledge that can be used in the classroom.

RENEWALS

It is that time again! All
instructors, administrators,
schools, and courses must be
renewed by September 30
according to Rule 790-X-1-.10
of Alabama License Law. As
with the education renewal in
2013, all renewals must take
place online through the
Commission’s website, and
payments must be made by
e-check or credit card.

As you prepare for renewals,
please remember important
expectations:

m On course renewals, you will
be asked to give a detailed
explanation of how your
course benefits the client or
customer of the licensee that
will take the course, not the
actual individual taking the
course. You will then write
your course objectives and
timed outline based on that
explanation.

m Do not submit the same
course outline that was
submitted for initial
approval or for renewal in
2013 if you have made
changes in the content and
delivery of the course.

The Education Division will be
available to answer any
questions you have during the
renewal process.



REGISTRATION FORM

10 Ways to Skyrocket Your Pass Rate on the AMP Exam
Presented by Mark Barker

Friday, August 28, 2015 9:00 a.m. —-4:00 p.m.
1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL
Alabama Real Estate Commission

REGISTRANT INFORMATION

Name

LAST FIRST MI
Address

CITY STATE ZIP
Phone Fax

Email Address

NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG

COURSE INFORMATION
Lunch will be provided.

O ($95) 10 Ways to Skyrocket Your Pass Rate — Received by August 14, 2015

O ($130) 10 Ways to Skyrocket Your Pass Rate — Received after August 14, 2015

FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER

FAX  this form to 334/844-3101

CALL inyour information to 334/844-5100

MAIL this form to Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arec

PAYMENT INFORMATION

O Check O Money Order O Purchase Order
O Visa O MasterCard O American Express O Discover
Expiration Date Card or Purchase Order Number

Authorized Signature

Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number. Otherwise, you will not be
considered registered.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY TOTAL ENCLOSED
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS

Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration charge.
Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who cannot attend.
Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections,
to limit registration, or to change instructors or speakers.

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100.
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IBAILING

Administrator Responsibilities
and Training

An article on the responsibilities of both Administrators and
Instructors was published in the January 2014 issue of The
Educator newsletter. Regarding these responsibilities, various
school audits have identified both lack of execution and lack of
knowledge for Administrators. As a regulatory body, we expect
everyone to maintain a current knowledge of the rules and
laws that are published and take appropriate steps to follow
them. However, this is not being done by everyone. An
Administrator’s responsibilities are just like those of a
Qualifying Broker. You may ask someone else to do things for
you, but YOU are the responsible party and can face
disciplinary actions for mistakes.

An Administrator Responsibilities Record was sent to all
Administrators at the beginning of July. This document
identifies all responsibilities and requires the signature of the
Administrator.

A summary of Administrator Responsibilities is below:

= Post correct information for course schedules and
student credit in CMap

= Monitor attendance (including the number and length
of breaks)

= Manage student behavior

= Ensure the students’ use of electronic devices is
related to instruction

= Provide student credit and course evaluation
instructions using the CMap Student Instructions
Sheet

= Maintain permanent records

= Provide licensure requirements to students (original
application/ID registration/Licensing Process and
Deadlines Form)

= Ensure compliant advertising

= Maintain school surety bond if applicable

= Meet renewal requirements

= Confirm the temporary license number of individuals
prior to the post license course

= Provide information for prelicense student ID number
registration

IMPORTANT

A required Administrator Training will be offered in the Fall.
All Administrators must complete this training. If an assistant
helps you with preparation for courses and entry of course
credit, that assistant must complete the training as well.
More information with specific dates will be provided in the
near future.

Instructor Training Attendance

Instructor CE is very
similar to Licensee CE.
There are three groups
of attendees: some
who want to attend as
many  trainings  as
possible, some who
attend trainings that

ATTENDANCE COURTS!

really interest them,
and those who only want to needed courses by the
attend trainings at the end deadline. The Commission

of the two-year period to get
the required number of
hours by the deadline.

tries to offer at least six
instructor trainings every
two years. Only two of them
need to be attended to
receive the number of hours
required for active renewal.
It is not a good idea to wait
until the last two trainings to

There are some licensees
and instructors who wait
until the very end of the
license period to start taking
CE and experience problems

satisfying the requirement satlsfy the instructor CE
by the deadline. Licensees requirement. Instructors
could cause themselves

and instructors should take
advantage of courses and
trainings early in the two

unnecessary worry trying to
get their hours when the

year period. That would help Commissio.n' has  offered
check it off 2 “To Do” list and more trainings than are
needed.

prevent problems such as
not being able to find the

AREEA Instructor Training

September 18, 2015
Instructors Renew and Regenerate

The Alabama Real Estate Educators Association
(AREEA) will be offering an instructor training on
September 18 entitled Instructors Renew and
Regenerate. The three main topics that will be
discussed include the following:

Tricks & Tips for PowerPoint
International Real Estate
Using Technology in Live Classrooms

This training will be held in the Commission’s
training room. More information regarding cost and
registration will be shared in the near future. All
participants must register through AREEA instead of
Auburn University.

To get the six hours of instructor CE credit, 100%
attendance is required.
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Fingerprint

Requirements

riminal History Record Information (CHRI) is

required of all applicants for an Alabama real

estate license. The Commission has been

informed by the Alabama Law Enforcement
Agency (ALEA) that CHRI will now be fingerprint-based since it
is more reliable than utilizing identifying information only.

An application for real estate licensure must now include a set
of professionally rolled fingerprints along with the Application
to Review Alabama Criminal History Record Information
among other things. A specific fingerprint card must be used
for this requirement. The Commission has sent these cards to
AMP so they will be available at all exam sites. Therefore, an
applicant will receive both a score report and fingerprint card
after passing the exam. Applicants taking the exam at an
AMP test site located outside the state should contact the
Commission’s Licensing Division to have a card sent to them.
While the Commission is providing this information to
applicants, we believe that prelicense instructors may be
asked about this process as well and need this information to
share with students before they complete a prelicense course.

Those persons passing the state exam prior to July 1, 2015 are
not required to submit the fingerprint card with their
application. Although not required for applicants meeting this
criteria, if a fingerprint card is submitted with an application it
will be accepted. Applicants passing the state exam on or after
July 1, 2015 are required to submit the fingerprint card with
their application.

Any questions regarding these new fingerprint requirements
can be directed toward the Commission’s Licensing Division.
The following is Applicant information on procedures for
fingerprinting:

Where to Go: You must have your prints professionally rolled
at a law enforcement agency. The ALEA office in Montgomery
will print you without requiring an appointment or a fee for
printing. You may also utilize a police or sheriff department
more convenient to you (including out-of-state), but not all
offices actually take fingerprints. Find out if the location you
choose requires an appointment and be prepared if they
charge a fee for printing. These policies vary from location to
location.

What to Take: You must have proper ID in order to get printed
such as one of the following:

B A valid unexpired U.S. state-issued photo driver license or
photo ID (non-driver) card;
B Avalid unexpired Active Duty, Retiree, or Reservist
military ID card (DD Form 2 or 2A);
B Avalid unexpired U.S. Military Dependent ID card (for
spouse or children of Active Duty Military personnel);
B A valid unexpired U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service
Documentation, which may include:
m Certificate of Naturalization N-550, N-570, N-578;
or
m Certificate of Citizenship N-560, N-561, N-645
B Avalid unexpired U.S. Passport; or
B Avalid unexpired Foreign Passport which meets the
following requirements:
m A foreign passport must contain a Valid U.S. Visa or
1-94 to be used as a primary proof of identification;
or
m A foreign passport, not issued in English, must be
translated and accompanied by a Certificate of
Accurate Translation. Passports are not acceptable
if un-translated into English and/or expired.

What to do with the Fingerprints: Take the fingerprints with
you as you leave the printing location. The fingerprints MUST
be submitted to the Commission with your license application
materials as instructed in the license application information.

90-Day Deadline: The completed application materials, which
include the fingerprints, MUST be submitted to the Commission
within 90 days of your examination date. The 90-day
timeframe is measured from examination date to postmark for
those applications mailed to the Commission. Failure to meet
this deadline will mean your exam score is null and void.

Notice: Occasionally, there is trouble with the fingerprints.
Should that occur, you will be contacted by the Commission
and required to submit another set of prints.
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Education
Snapshot

March-June 2015

SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 1543 Taken - 717
Passed - 592 Passed - 334

Overall Passing % - 38.4 First Time Passing % - 46.6

BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 60 Taken - 49
Passed - 50 Passed - 43

Overall Passing % - 83.3 First Time Passing % - 87.8

RECIPROCAL SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken-73 Taken - 64
Passed - 64 Passed - 57

Overall Passing % - 87.7 First Time Passing % - 89.1

RECIPROCAL BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 55 Taken - 53
Passed - 53 Passed - 51

Overall Passing % - 96.4 First Time Passing % - 96.2

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

AUGUST 20 Commission Meeting | Montgomery
28 Instructor Training with Mark Barker

SEPTEMBER 7 Labor Daye
9-13 ARELLO Annual Conference
Washington, D. C.
13-16  AAR Annual Convention | Grand Hotel
Marriott Resort

17 AREEA Meeting

18 AREEA Instructor Training

24 Commission Meeting | Montgomery

30 Deadline for Education Renewals
OCTOBER 12 Columbus Daye

22 Commission Meeting | Montgomery
NOVEMBER  5-6 New Instructor Orientation

11 Veterans’ Daye

18 Commission Meeting | Montgomery

26-27  Thanksgivinge

«Commission Offices Closed for State Holiday

New License
Law Book

A new License Law book is now
available. This is the 24™ edition
and contains all amended
statutes and rules since the last
book was published. This book
can be purchased from the
Alabama Center for Real Estate
(ACRE) through their website at
acre.cba.ua.edu.

QUESTION

Where can | get Salesperson
Prelicense Course Evaluation forms to
give my students?

ANSWER

The Salesperson Prelicense Course

Evaluation forms were discontinued in 2014. Instructors do
not need to give those to students. Evaluations are now
available under AVAILABLE SERVICES when students set up a
username and password and log in to Online Services. The
evaluation will be available for 30 days after prelicense

course completion. l
AVAILABLE SERVIEES

= Change Username and/or Password
= View Prelicense Course

Log Off

Pre-License Courses.

Course Name
(Click on course  Course  Course
name for course  Hours End Date
information.)

Course Evaluation

g’i%LEEflsCIDEE{"SSTE% 60 07/13/15 28 day(s) to submit evaluation.




