AUGUST 2012

%&uctor Training: NEW Rlsénagement
§ 11-12,2012
— Featuring Jim Lawrence & Anne Powell

—New Risk Management Courses

L]

CMap Is Not Like Facebook

\- ]
and Twitter "
Current Snapsho\ . '
% .
New Commission ebsite - 2
. 'f

Calendar of’lgsents

AREEA Meeting & Get-Together
October 11 / Hyundai Training Center

In conjunction with the Instructor Training being held at the Hyundai Training Center on (
would like to have a meeting and enjoyable evening on Thursday, October 11, in Montgo

oin AREEA
enues. AREEA

After a short business meeting to be held at the end of the training on Thursday afternoon,
members in historic downtown Montgomery for cocktails and dinner at one of several attrac
membership information, dinner details and directions will be available at the meeting.
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RISK MANAGEMENT REVISED

Instructor Training October 11-12 / Hyundai Training Center

The time has come to revise the content of the Risk
Management course that is required for all real estate
licensees. As a result of a ruling by commissioners and an
amendment to Rule 790-X-1-.11 of Alabama License Law, the
CE requirements for the next license period will be 6 hours in
Risk Management courses (Levels 1 and 2) and 9 hours in
other Commission-approved courses.

As shared in a June 29 memorandum, the new Risk
Management courses consist of the following:

M Risk Management: Avoiding Violations (3 hours)-Level 1
course required for all salespersons and brokers.

M Risk Management for Salespersons (3 hours)-Level 2
course available for all salespersons.

H Risk Management for Brokers (3 hours) — Level 2 course
required for all brokers and available for all salespersons
who are interested.

When 6 hours of Risk Management have been completed, the
remaining 9 hours of CE can be any Commission-approved
courses.

All instructors who plan on teaching Risk Management next
license period must attend this instructor training. You must
attend all 12 hours of the training to receive approval to
teach one or all of the courses. Those who do not attend will
not be able to teach Risk Management until the training has
been offered again. All three Risk Management courses will
be covered in this training.

The two days of training will provide attendees with all 12
hours required for instructor renewal in 2013. Remember,
these hours are not interchangeable with CE hours that are
needed to renew your broker license. These CE hours are only
applied toward the renewal of your instructor approval. Make
plans to attend this instructor training and acquire not only
the approval and knowledge to teach the new Risk
Management courses but also the hours needed for instructor
renewal.

LocATION Hyundai Training Center

REGISTRATION 8:30-9:00 a.m. (Thursday)

TIME 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. (Thursday)
8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. (Friday)
Cost $95 (includes lunches and breaks)

All participants must register through Auburn University’s
Office of Professional & Continuing Education (OPCE). Use
the registration form or register online at
auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re/arec.htm.

INSTRUCTORS

Anne Powell and Jim Lawrence will be presenting the

information and helping everyone prepare for instruction

since they were involved in the development of the new
courses.

F

ANNE POWELL is the Director of Career
Development at Roberts Brothers Company
in Mobile and is a senior member of the
Alabama Center for Real Estate’s (ACRE)
Leadership Council. She has also served on
the Commission’s Education Advisory
Committee for two years.

JiIM LAWRENCE is the Education Director for
the Alabama Center for Real Estate (ACRE) in
Tuscaloosa and has been busy developing
and offering education for ACRE since
accepting that position last year. Since
January of 2012, ACRE has offered over 60
CE courses teaching over 4,000 licensees.

DIRECTIONS & HOTEL INFORMATION

The training is being held at the Hyundai Training Center in
Montgomery just off of |-65 at Exit 164 (Pintlala/Hope Hull).
After exiting, follow the road signs to Hyundai Boulevard.
Take a right at the Pace Car onto Hyundai Boulevard and
cross over the interstate. Take a left into the Hyundai
Training Center with the white fence and fountain in front.

A block of 80 rooms is available at the Fairfield Inn & Suites
(334-281-6882) and the Hampton Inn (334-280-9592) at the
same exit for a group rate of $75 per night for the nights of
October 10 and 11. You must reserve a room within two
weeks of the training to get the special room rate. Tell them
you are with the “AREC Risk Management” group.

HYUNDAI PLANT TOUR

A Hyundai plant tour is available for those who are
interested. A tour accommodating up to 32 people will be
offered each day at lunch. The time required to drive to the
Hyundai plant, take the 30 minute tour, and return to the
Training Center will involve most of the lunch hour.
Participants must still attend the training when the afternoon
session begins, but will be able to eat during instruction if
needed. If you would like to take the tour, let us know when
registering online or using the registration form. The tour will
be closed when 64 registrants have identified their desire to
take the tour.



REGISTRATION FORM
Risk Management: Avoiding Violations
Risk Management for Salespersons
Risk Management for Brokers
Sponsored by the Alabama Real Estate Commission
Thursday, October 11, 2012 9:00 a.m. —5:00 p.m.
Friday, October 12, 2012 8:00 am. —5:00 p.m.
Hyundai Training Center
900 Hyundai Boulevard, Montgomery, AL 36105

REGISTRANT INFORMATION
Socia Security Number

Name
CAST FIRST M1
Address
Iy STATE ZIP CODE
Phone Fax

Email Address

NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG

Hyundai Plant Tour Option: 32 person maximum for each tour (check your preference)
O | want to take the plant tour on Thursday, October 11 at 12:30 p.m.
O | want to take the plant tour on Friday, October 12 at 12:30 p.m.

COURSE INFORMATION
Lunch will be provided.

O ($ 95) Revised Risk Management Cour ses— Received by September 28, 2012
O ($130) Revised Risk Management Cour ses— Received after September 28, 2012

FOUR EASY WAYSTO REGISTER

FAX  thisform to 334/844-3101

CALL inyourinformation to 334/844-5100

MAIL thisformto Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re/arec.htm

PAYMENT INFORMATION

O Check O Money Order O Purchase Order

O Visa O MasterCard O American Express (0 Discover
Expiration Date Card or Purchase Order Number
Authorized Signature

Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number. Otherwise, you will not be
considered registered.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY TOTAL ENCLOSED
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS

Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in arefund of feesless a $15 administration charge. Refund
requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of aregistrant who cannot attend.

Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections, to limit
registration, or to change instructors or speakers.

This programis designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100.
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SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS
CMap is Not Like Facebook and Twitter

« Does your school have a long list of approved
instructors in CMap?

« Is is sometimes difficult for you to locate the correct
instructor while searching through your extensive list?

» Why not have some of them removed?

If there are instructors on your list that have not taught for
your school for a long period of time or maybe they taught
on only one occasion, they can be removed from your list
of approved instructors just as easily as they were added.
Not only would this reduce the number of instructor names
you have to search through when adding a course in
CMap’s Manage Course Schedules, it would actually reduce
your liability.

How could this list create liability? We have had a couple of
incidences of individual instructors offering classes without
the school’s knowledge or active sponsorship. When
entering the course credit and selecting a school, the
instructor was able to select any of the schools for whom
he or she had been approved to teach without the school
administrator’s knowledge. As a result, the school and
school administrator are now held responsible. If this
situation occurs, what if the instructor doesn’t give you the
records and that is discovered during a school audit? What
if that instructor neglects to put a specific licensee’s credit
in CMap and that licensee goes inactive on October 1 of a
license renewal year? That student would be advised to call
you because you were identified as the sponsoring school.

The Education Division wants to help you avoid these
types of occurrences by removing all unnecessary
instructors from your list. Please take the time to review
your list of instructors and send us a list of those that you
would like removed. We do suggest that you wait at least
a month after an instructor has taught for you to have
them removed so that you can confirm that all credit for
that course has been entered into CMap. You will be
unable to enter credit into CMap for a course in which the
instructor has been removed. Therefore, if mistakes are
found at a later date, the Education staff will have to then
enter the credit for you.

If you want an instructor added back at some point in the
future, a simple email sent to the Education Division will
get them added back within minutes. This isn’t Facebook or
Twitter where you are trying to get as many friends and
followers as possible. Trim your list and make your life
easier.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

AUGUST
24 Commission Meeting
31 Deadline for License Renewal to Avoid $150
Penalty Fee
SEPTEMBER
3 Labor Day~*
18-20 AAR Annual Convention (New Orleans, LA)
27 Commission Meeting
30 Deadline for 15 Hours of Continuing Education
OCTOBER
8 Columbus Day*
11-12 New Risk Management Instructor Training
25 Commission Meeting
NOVEMBER
12 Veteran’s Day Observed*
15-16 New Instructor Orientation
22 Thanksgiving Day*
29 Commission Meeting

*Commission Offices Closed

Education Current Snapshot

Prelicense/Post License Instructors 141
Continuing Education Instructors 211
Licensed Schools 61

Approved Schools 100

Salesperson Examination (January-July 2012)
Taken - 967
Passed - 430
Overall Passing % - 44.5
1% Time Passing % - 54.7

Broker Examination (January-July 2012)
Taken—-111
Passed — 94
Overall Passing % - 84.7
1% Time Passing % - 89.0

Reciprocal Salesperson Examination (January-July 2012)
Taken - 73
Passed - 68
Overall Passing % - 93.2
1% Time Passing % - 93.8

Reciprocal Broker Examination (January-July 2012)
Taken - 64
Passed - 59
Overall Passing % - 92.2
1% Time Passing % - 96.6
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The Commission Has A New Website!
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The Commission

Connect § Educate | Jurisdiction § License Renewal

The website has been updated with our new Commission logo and brand information. The documents on the website remain
the same, but any links to specific pages on the site that you have established need to be reestablished. Therefore, update
your connections to the Commission’s website by deleting the old Favorites, Bookmarks, Browser Start Page, Shortcuts, Links,
etc. that reference information on the website.

The Education section is now found under Professionals on the website. Education Applications are located in the Education
section. The Consumer section has been expanded and now contains information on obtaining a license as well as the
Prelicense Course Evaluation (since prelicense students are not yet real estate professionals). The Educator newsletter and
License Law can now be found under Media.

The new website still contains all of the information that was provided on the previous website and the Commission staff will
continue to expand the site to include videos, tutorials, and other information for instructors, licensees, and consumers.

QUESTION what must my school do to be able to offer Distance Education (DE) courses?

ANSWER The approval process is very detailed and more involved than classroom courses. A brief summary of steps
include the following:

m The instructor you plan to use for the DE courses must obtain the Certified Distance Education Instructor (CDEI)
designation prior to being approved to offer the course(s). For more information on the CDEI, go to
www.idecc.org.

m Choose between offering DE as a primary provider or a secondary provider. Primary providers
develop their own courses and can offer them directly to licensees. Secondary providers sell the
courses that have been developed by primary providers.

m All DE courses that you wish to offer must be certified through ARELLO.

m Submit the course to the Commission for review and approval after obtaining ARELLO certification.

Rule 790-X-1-.21 in Alabama License Law provides more information regarding distance education
courses.






