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Instructor Training
Risk Management—May 20, 2016

Anne Powell will be presenting
the Risk Management training for
individuals desiring to teach the
Risk Management courses. This
training is open to instructors
who have been approved since
the last Risk Management
training, as well as individuals
who attended a previous Risk
Management instructor training,
but may want to attend again as
a refresher course and still get
instructor CE credit for the next
education renewal.

Anne is the Director of Career
Development for Roberts
Brothers, Inc. and is a Certified
Real Estate Instructor. She
specializes in real estate

education, consulting,
motivational training, and
coaching. She has taught in
multiple states, is a GRI instructor
and is certified to teach a variety
of REBAC courses including ABR,
SFR, SRES, and others. She
assisted in developing outlines
for the 30 Hour Post License and
60 Hour Broker Prelicense
courses for the state of Alabama.

Date: May 20, 2016

Course: Risk Management
Instructor Training

Location: Alabama Real Estate
Commission Training Room
Registration: 8:00-8:30 a.m.
Time: 8:30 a.m.—4:30 p.m.
Cost: $95.00 (includes lunch
and breaks)

In 2012, The Mobile Area
Association of REALTORS®
honored her by naming her
REALTOR® of the Year. Anne is
known throughout the state as
someone who willingly offers
wise counsel on a variety of real
estate issues based on over 30

years of real estate experience.
Her courses and coaching have
assisted many agents,
salespersons, and managers in
moving their business to the
highest level of success while
enjoying their career in real
estate.

Completion of this training will
provide six of the twelve hours
needed to renew instructor
approval in 2017. Remember,
these hours are not
interchangeable with CE hours
that are needed to renew your
broker license. These CE hours
are only applied toward the
renewal of your instructor
approval. Make plans to attend
this instructor training and
acquire not only the hours
needed for instructor renewal
but also valuable information and
knowledge that can be used in
the classroom. ,

Registration

All participants must register
through Auburn University's
Office of Professional &
Continuing Education (OPCE). The
registration fee is $95.00 which
includes lunch and breaks.

New Instructor
Orientation

Anyone who desires to teach prelicense
and post license courses must attend a
New Instructor Orientation at the
Commission. The next orientation is
scheduled for July 14-15, 2016 and will
include the following:

Alabama License Law
Bloom’s Taxonomy
Learning Levels
Learning Objectives
Teaching Strategies
Presentations
If you know of individuals who desire or
are working to become a Prelicense/
Post License Instructor, please have
them contact David Bowen at
david.bowen@arec.alabama.gov to
develop a plan to achieve the required
number of points on the Application for
Prelicense/Post License Instructor.
Applicants must hold a current broker’s
license as stated in Alabama License
Law Rule 790-X-1-.07 in order to be
approved as a Prelicense/Post License
Instructor.

Prelicense ID
Numbers

Instructors who teach salesperson or
reciprocal prelicense courses are asked
to let students know that a valid tele-
phone number and email address
MUST be entered when the student
goes to the Commission website to
obtain an ID number. Failure to do so
will cause the record to be rejected by
AMP.

Also, anyone who has been previously
licensed in Alabama but let that license
lapse will use the original license num-
ber as the ID number when taking
steps to become licensed again. How-
ever, the student MUST go to the Com-
mission website and update his/her
contact information and include a
current mailing address, email ad-
dress, and a valid telephone number.
Again, failure to do so will cause the
record to be rejected by AMP and ex-
am scheduling to be delayed.




REGISTRATION FORM

Risk Management
Presented by Anne Powell

Friday, May 20, 2016 9:00 a.m. —4:00 p.m.
1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL
Alabama Real Estate Commission

REGISTRANT INFORMATION

Name

LAST FIRST MI
Address

CITY STATE ZIP
Phone Fax

Email Address

NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG

COURSE INFORMATION
Lunch will be provided.

O ($ 95) Risk Management — Received by May 6, 2016

O ($130) Risk Management — Received after May 6, 2016

FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER

FAX  this form to 334/844-3101

CALL inyour information to 334/844-5100

MAIL this form to Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arec

PAYMENT INFORMATION

O Check O Money Order O Purchase Order
O Visa O MasterCard O American Express O Discover
Expiration Date Card or Purchase Order Number

Authorized Signature

Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number. Otherwise, you will not be
considered registered.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY TOTAL ENCLOSED
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS

Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration charge.
Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who cannot attend.
Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections,
to limit registration, or to change instructors or speakers.

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100.
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Ways to Increase Your Pass Rate

Salesperson examination pass
rates have been suffering for a
long period of time now and
efforts have been made to
increase them. However, some
prelicense instructors still
question what they need to do.
The following are 5 ways to
increase the pass rate of a school.

1. challenge students with the
education provided in the
salesperson prelicense course.

The purpose of the salesperson
prelicense course is to educate
and prepare students for the
license examination. Students
must be challenged in the course
and earn the right to take the
examination. Even though some
students may not have
experienced “school” in several
decades, there is no reason to
make the course easy for them.

2. Don’t let students complete
the prelicense course until they
prove to be ready for the
examination.

Require your prelicense students
to prove they are prepared for
the license examination instead
of allowing all students an
opportunity to take the
examination. All tests in a
salesperson prelicense course
must be passed and they must be
challenging enough to adequately
prepare students for the license
examination. Students who are
not ready to take the
examination will be revealed in
failed course exams.

3. Don’t scare your students
with false information regarding
the license exam.

Some instructors attempt to
prepare students for the license
examination by telling them how
hard it is and how tricky the

questions are. Both of those
accusations are incorrect and
have the opposite effect of
preparing students for the license
examination. Concentrate on
preparing your students with the
understanding that the
examination items are proven to
be correct and effective based on
overall performance by all
examinees. A problem with the
performance on an item will
result in its removal from the
examination for possible
correction.

4. Tell students to take the
license examination within one
month of completing the
prelicense course.

Statistics show that the best
performance on the license
examination takes place within
one month of prelicense course
completion. Students who decide
to wait several months after

When Can a Student Begin a Prelicense Course?

Alabama’s passing percentage
rate on the salesperson
examination has decreased to an
unacceptable level. The Real
Estate Commission and staff have
been researching the various
causes of this and have been
working with schools and
instructors to improve this pass
rate. However, we have not seen
the positive impact that is
needed. In various discussions
with Commissioners, staff and
instructors, each party
independently identified the
practice of continuous
enrollment in prelicense courses
as having a probable negative
impact on learning and
preparation for the license
examination.

There are real estate schools that
offer a continuous enrollment
allowing a student to begin the
course at any point as long as all
content is covered and the 60
hour requirement is satisfied.
This type of course opposes
conventional principles of course

and curriculum design which
indicate that students learn best
when taught in a carefully
constructed sequence where
knowledge is developed by
concepts building upon each
other in a planned progression.

Surveys support this by revealing
a majority of states who contract
with AMP for examination
services, and have higher pass
rates than Alabama, require
students to begin a prelicense
course on the first lesson as the
course was submitted to the
Commission for approval. Beyond
this, a majority of states who
contract with other examination
providers also require courses to
be taken in a uniform sequence
from beginning to end.

Therefore, having received
instructor input and researching
the matter further,
Commissioners voted to require
all schools that currently offer
prelicense courses with
continuous enrollment to
discontinue that offering and

have students

begin a prelicense

course at the

same time. This

decision is supported by a

ruling from the United States
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals. This
change will allow students to
progress through the course in a
uniform manner allowing
concepts to build on each other
in a proper sequence for effective
learning.

The following bullet points
provide a more detailed
explanation of the Commission’s
requirement:

® Currently, students can begin a
salesperson prelicense course
at any time. However, when
Lesson 1 of the course is
reached, that is when new
students must begin the course
with the understanding of
progressing through the course
sequentially. No new students
can begin the course after
Lesson 1 until the course is
completed and a new course

completing the course are putting
themselves at a disadvantage
when trying to pass the exam.
Instructors have no control over
the actions of students, but
strong encouragement to take
the license examination as early
as possible can help students.

5. stay in contact with students
after prelicense course
completion.

This may be easier said than
done. Instructors are not able to
make students do anything after
prelicense course completion.
However, if students are told to
keep the instructor informed on
license examination performance
in order to receive assistance
after failing, they can take the
necessary steps to receive
assistance when needed. As an
instructor, you can keep up with
student performance by logging
in to the School User portal on
AMP’s website.

begins. Students who
started the course prior
= to Lesson 1 will take the
lessons needed to
complete the 60 hours.

® Astudentin a new course may
miss a session for various
reasons. That student can
attend that session in another
prelicense course offered at a
different time at the same
school to cover the
information that was missed.

® Please make appropriate
changes to Manage Course
Schedules in CMap so all new
courses show the correct
beginning and ending date.

We are optimistic that this
measure will have a positive
impact on the success of students
in preparing for the license
examination. If you have any
questions regarding this prelicense
requirement, please feel free to call

the Commission’s Education

Division.
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Website Instructor Resources

We are sure that all instructors know how to access Education
Resources on the Commission’s website. However, do you know how
to access and the information that can be found
there? You are sure to find something useful and beneficial for your
instruction using the many resources provided for you under the
Instructor Resources link which is in the list of Available Services after

logging in.
AVATLABLE SERVICES

Change Username and/or Password
New Course Applications
Approved Courses

School Application
Instructor Resources
Acquire Unique Pre-license*Pre-Reqistration Link

Education Management
Inactivate Licensee
Official Document Printing
License Renewal

Certification of Licensure (License History)
CE Credit
Education Renewal

Commission-prescribed outlines and instructor guides, student
handouts, license law amendments, audit checklists, instructor tools,
administrator manuals, and education links are all available to
instructors. Under Student Handouts, the CMap Student Instructions
sheet is provided for your students that explains how to check
continuing education (CE) credit and submit online course evaluations.
That is a document that should be used to satisfy the requirement
addressed in Rule 790-X-1-.12. Under Instructor Tools, there is a class
management script that you may use at the beginning of CE classes to
cover class rules and behavioral expectations. For post license
instructors, a post license instructor manual is available that includes
module resources, an exam development guide, a test bank,
comprehensive exams, handouts, and project options. Check out
Instructor Resources for great ideas and instructional support!

Updated AMP Examination and Outline

Exemptions from Risk Management
Requirements for License Renewal

There seems to be some confusion among schools and instructors
as to who is required to take the Risk Management courses for
license renewal. It is not correct to say that all licensees must take
the Level 1 and Level 2 Risk Management courses for license
renewal because there are several exceptions to this CE
requirement.

The following licensees will not be required to take the Risk
Management courses for license renewal:

m A licensee who has completed the 60 hour Broker Prelicense
course during the current license period. This is true even if the
licensee has not submitted the broker application. The Broker
Prelicense course will satisfy all CE requirements

= A licensee who will have the first renewal of his/her Original
License this year. The 30 hour Post License course will satisfy
all CE requirements.

m Any licensee who completed the 30 hour Post License course
for CE hours. No Risk Management courses are required for
someone who completes the 30 hour Post License course for
CE. The 30 hour Post License course will satisfy all CE
requirements.

m A reciprocal licensee who was licensed prior to October 1, 2015
and can show proof of holding an active license in the state of
original licensure. This documentation will satisfy all CE
requirements.

m A reciprocal licensee who was licensed on or after October 1,
2015. This is true regardless of the license status in the original

i

a psi business

On March 15, the AMP licensing examination began to reflect the changes that were planned for the detailed content outline back in October
of 2015. The changes to the outline and examination are based on the results from the 2015 Job Analysis Survey. A summary report of this
survey can be found in the Alabama examination section of the AMP website. The updated content outline for the real estate examination can
be found at the end of the summary report, so please review this document. The updated content outline can also be found in both the
Education Resources and the Instructor Resources areas of the Commission’s website. The AMP Candidate Handbook has been updated with
the current detailed outline, so please make sure you order complimentary copies of the March 2016 edition for your students.

The updated outline not only provides the number of examination items for each category but also identifies the learning levels that those

items target. An example is below.

Agency Relationships and Contracts

28 (11-15-2)

The first category is Agency Relationships and Contracts and it identifies that there are 28 items from this topic on the examination. It also lists
(11-15-2) which identifies that 11 items from this topic will be tested at the Recall or most basic learning level while 15 items will be tested at
the Application level requiring knowledge of how to apply the information instead of just knowing the definition. The final 2 examination items
in this category will be tested at the Analysis level which is more complex. Definitions of these cognitive levels can be found on page 21 of the
AMP Candidate Handbook.

As you can see from the example given, 11 examination items will be tested at the basic level of recall while 17 examination items will require
more complex knowledge of this topic involving application and analysis. Reviewing these cognitive level targets will provide valuable insight
into how these items should be covered in the salesperson prelicense course.
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QUESTION
Can | allow someone to begin my prelicense course at any
time?

ANSWER

No. Rule 790-X-1-.06(2) of Alabama License Law states “All
prelicense and post license courses shall have a definite
beginning and ending date.” A letter and email were sent to
classroom prelicense instructors in March explaining the
proper interpretation of that rule and stating that
continuous enrollment for prelicense courses must be
discontinued by June 1, 2016. Students must now begin and
end a prelicense course at the same time.

}

2016 REEA
Conference

o
Q
o

1
REEA

CONFERENCE

The 2016 Annual Conference of the Real Estate Educators Association
(REEA) is scheduled for June 10-12 in Denver, Colorado. An Instructor
Development Workshop will be offered on June 10 presented by Bruce
Moyer from North Carolina and Theresa Barnabei from Arizona.

June 11 and 12 will provide roundtables for education directors,
instructors, and regulators as well as breakout sessions for all
attendees. Presenters include Amy Van Dyken-Rouen who is a six-time
Olympic gold medalist swimmer who suffered a severed spinal cord in
an ATV accident and Jeff Nischwitz who is a motivational and
leadership speaker as well as founder of the Nischwitz Group. There
will also be a REEATalks session with a panel of presenters offering
outlook and insights on the future of real estate in the style of well-
known TEDTalks.

The Commission will grant 12 hours of instructor CE credit for
attending all of the education sessions on June 11-12. No partial credit
will be given for attending a small number of education sessions. You
can also earn 6 hours of instructor CE credit by attending the
Instructor Development Workshop offered on June 10.

Conference registration can be found at www.REEA.org under the
Events heading. Take advantage of this opportunity to visit beautiful
Denver and learn from other real estate instructors and professionals.

ducation
Snapshot

December 2015-March 2016

SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken-1510 Taken-671
Passed - 586 Passed - 319

Overall Passing % - 38.8 First Time Passing % - 47.5

BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 52 Taken - 45
Passed - 47 Passed - 40

Overall Passing % - 90.4 First Time Passing % - 88.9

RECIPROCAL SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 51 Taken - 44
Passed - 48 Passed - 41

Overall Passing % - 94.1 First Time Passing % - 93.2

RECIPROCAL BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall First Time
Taken - 63 Taken - 52
Passed - 53 Passed - 44

Overall Passing % - 84.1 First Time Passing % - 84.6

2016 CALENDAR OF EVENTS

APRIL 21 Commission Meeting
25 Confederate Memorial Daye
MAY 20 Risk Management Instructor Training
26 Commission Meeting
30 Memorial Daye
JUNE 2-4 ARELLO District Conference | Oklahoma City
6 Jefferson Davis Birthdaye
10-13 REEA Conference | Denver, CO
23 Commission Meeting
JULY 4 Independence Daye
14-15 New Instructor Orientation
21 Commission Meeting
*Commission Offices Closed for State Holiday




