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INSTRUCTOR TRAINING—MAY 1, 2015

Boost Licensing Exam Readiness with Enhanced Course Exams
Dr. JoEllen Carlson

Do your salesperson prelicense course exams adequately prepare your students for the licensing exam?
Are you comfortable writing your own exam items? Instructors must make sure course exams not only
cover current information but also prepare students for the type of exam items on the licensing exam.
In this instructor training, Dr. Carlson will focus on creating salesperson prelicense course exams that
align closely with the licensing exam. The training includes aligning content coverage, maximizing the
level of thinking/application required by questions, reflecting best-practice standards, boosting
confidence and skill for mathematics questions, and other enhancements. This training is hands-on, so
bring 5-10 questions from your course exam that you would like to work with. (Other instructors will
not see your questions.)

Dr. Carlson is currently involved in the Coalition for Science Literacy and is an Associate Professor at the
University of South Florida, which is where she earned her Ph.D., M.A., and B.A. degrees. She has also
served as the Director of the External Degree Programs at Troy University in Montgomery. She has been involved in testing services for
multiple locations including ARELLO (Association of Real Estate License Law Officials), McGraw-Hill, and the New York Stock Exchange. Her
role with ARELLO includes reviews and recommendations for the certification of licensure exams for all exam providers. Dr. Carlson has
been the author/coauthor/supervisor of more than 100 papers, reports, and other documents of limited distribution or confidential

nature.
DATE: May 1, 2015
COURSE: Boost Licensing Exam Readiness with Enhanced Course Exams
LOCATION: Alabama Real Estate Commission Training Room
REGISTRATION: 8:30-9:00 a.m.
TIME: 9:00 a.m.—4:00 p.m.
CosT: $95.00 (includes lunch and breaks)

All participants must register through Auburn University’s Office of Professional & Continuing Education (OPCE).
Use the registration form or register online at auburn.edu/outreach/opce/re/arec.htm.

Remember, the hours for this training are not interchangeable with CE hours that are needed to renew your broker license. These CE hours
are only applied toward the renewal of your instructor approval that will take place in 2015. Take advantage of this great training
opportunity and acquire not only hours needed for instructor renewal, but also valuable information and knowledge that can be used in the
classroom.



REGISTRATION FORM

Boost Licensing Exam Readiness with Enhanced Course Exams
Presented by Jo Ellen Carlson

Friday, May 1, 2015 9:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m.
1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL
Alabama Real Estate Commission

REGISTRANT INFORMATION

Name

LAST FIRST MI
Address

CITY STATE ZIP

Phone Fax

Email Address

NAME AND AFFILIATION PREFERENCE FOR NAME TAG

COURSE INFORMATION
Lunch will be provided.

O ($ 95) Boost Licensing Exam Readiness with Enhanced Course Exams — Received by April 17

O ($130) Boost Licensing Exam Readiness with Enhanced Course Exams — Received after April 17

FOUR EASY WAYS TO REGISTER

FAX  this form to 334/844-3101

CALL in your information to 334/844-5100

MAIL this form to Office of Professional & Continuing Education, 301 O.D. Smith Hall, Auburn, AL 36849
WEB online at www.auburn.edu/outreach/arec

PAYMENT INFORMATION

O Check O Money Order O Purchase Order

O Visa O MasterCard O American Express O Discover
Expiration Date Card or Purchase Order Number

Authorized Signature

Registrations received via FAX, email or telephone MUST contain a credit card number or purchase order number. Otherwise, you will not be
considered registered.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO AUBURN UNIVERSITY TOTAL ENCLOSED
CANCELLATIONS and REFUNDS

Written refund requests received no later than seven days prior to the program will result in a refund of fees less a $15 administration charge.
Refund requests received after that cannot be honored. A substitute participant may be designated in place of a registrant who cannot attend.
Auburn University and the Office of Professional & Continuing Education reserve the right to cancel, postpone, or combine workshop sections,
to limit registration, or to change instructors or speakers.

This program is designed to be accessible to all who wish to attend. Should you have a special need, please call 334.844.5100.



Alabama Real Estate Commission

Future Disciplinary Action for Credit Errors

he 2014 license renewal
revealed the same problems
that have occurred in the
past. Too many CE credit entries are
being made after the official deadline

/%ﬂor mistakes are being made when
— 1

entering credit for licensees,
resulting in errors that have to be
corrected. This causes problems for the Commission as well as
the individual licensees affected by the errors. The following
are problems that have been experienced:

® CE credit for license renewal entered into CMap
after midnight of September 30 in the even years

® Errors in credit entries negatively affecting licensees
and their activation or renewal of a license

® Duplicate credit entries such as CE credit for the
same courses being entered a few days after
originally entered

® CE credit being entered for licensees more than 10
days after course completion

® Incorrect course codes being used for CE credit
resulting in credit being given for classroom courses
instead of distance education courses or vice versa

Alabama License Law addresses these errors in Section 34-27-6
(g) and Rules 790-X-1-.12(6) and 790-X-1-.17(5).

The Commission has provided warnings for these mistakes
after previous license renewals but the problem continues.
Therefore, formal complaints will be filed after the 2016
license renewal based on the number of errors made in CMap
entries affecting the credit of licensees during this current
license period. Mistakes can be avoided if the Administrator
of the school pays close attention to the information being
entered into CMap. There is no excuse for an incorrect course
code being used or credit being given to the wrong licensee. All
information can be checked and verified prior to committing
the credit entries in our system.

2015 AREEA Meeting

The Alabama Real Estate Educators Association (AREEA)
will hold its Spring meeting on Thursday, April 30, at the
Commission office in Montgomery. More details will be
emailed to instructors as they become available.

2015 REEA Conference

The Real Estate Educators Association (REEA) will hold its

annual conference June 18-22 at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, CT.
Registration for the conference is available online at

reea.org.

The Commission will grant 12 hours of Instructor CE credit
for attending all of the education sessions on Saturday, June
20 and Sunday, June 21. No partial credit will be given for

QUESTION

I have seen and heard references made
about ARELLO guidelines and distance
education courses that are ARELLO-
certified. Who is ARELLO and what is its
connection to real estate?

attending a small number of education sessions. You can also

earn 6 hours of Instructor CE by attending one of the two
Instructor Development Workshops being held on June 18.
Karel Murray will present “Becoming the Instructor of
Change” and Julie Garton-Good will present “15 Surefire
Steps for Launching Courses Online.”

New Instructor Orientation

The next New Instructor Orientation will be held July 30-31 in the Commission’s training
room. If you know of anyone who is working to become a Prelicense/Post License
Instructor, please have them contact David Bowen at david.bowen@arec.alabama.gov
to develop a plan to achieve the required number of points on the Application for
Prelicense/Post License Instructor. Applicants must hold a broker’s license in order to be

approved as a Prelicense/Post License Instructor.

ANSWER

ARELLO is the Association of Real Estate
License Law Officials and this
international organization is made up of
jurisdictions (countries and states) that
regulate the sale and leasing of real
estate. It is their aim to standardize the
regulatory practices of its members by
promoting excellence and accountability
in every jurisdiction. ARELLO provides
leadership, expertise, and oversight in
areas such as Education, Enforcement,
Exam Accreditation, Licensing, and
Timeshare Registry. Additional
information on ARELLO can be found on
their website at arello.org.
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Trust Funds

By Mandy Lynn,
Assistant General Counsel

If you have read The Update newsletter recently,
it is obvious that violations of trust fund
requirements under Alabama’s License Law
continue to be an issue with some licensees. This
is one violation that is almost 100% preventable.
The Law and the Administrative Rule of this
subject are straightforward in their requirements
which | will explain here.

Section 34-27-36(a)(8) of the Code of Alabama

_ g requires that a licensee deposit and maintain, at
" all times, funds belonging to others in a real
estate transaction. Also in this section is the

requirement that licensee funds not be commingled in accounts with trust funds and that a
complete record of all funds belonging to others be maintained for three years. (Please note
that the Commission does allow licensees to provide the funds necessary in trust accounts for
the purpose of paying bank fees and this not be considered commingling.)

Rule 790-X-3-.03 expounds on the above law of trust fund requirements. This rule is where
you will find the following requirements:

Trust accounts must be in a federally insured account or a financial institution located
in Alabama.

Qualifying brokers must be a signatory on all trust accounts.

All associate brokers and salespersons must pay over to their qualifying broker all
trust funds immediately upon receipt.

Cash shall be deposited immediately upon receipt.

Checks are to be deposited upon formation of a purchase contract unless another
time is stated by the parties. At its simplest, a contract is formed when both parties
agree to the same material terms.

Trust funds may be held by either broker involved in the sale.

In the case of a successor qualifying broker, the original qualifying broker shall
provide a complete account and transfer the funds to the successor broker.

Upon consummation of a transaction, a qualifying broker that is holding trust funds
shall distribute those funds within seven days.

In a failed transaction, the qualifying broker cannot make a determination as to
whom the funds belong. Funds can only be distributed upon mutual agreement of the
parties or a court order. (See Rule 790-X-3-.03(5))

A qualifying broker may, but is not required to, interplead trust funds into the court.
For more information on this, contact the Legal Division.

The Commission has many other resources available regarding trust fund requirements under
license law. You will find four articles that discuss trust fund requirements on the
Commission’s website under the Media link on the Briefly Legal Index page:

“Deposit of Funds Rule Changes” (Summer 1996)

“Your Company Trust Accounts” (Winter 1999)

“Self-help to Trust Funds” (Spring 2013)

“The Process of File Maintenance and Trust Fund Accounting” (Fall 2014)

In addition, the “Office Audit Checklist” can be found on the Forms page of the website and
the Commission has issued the “Advisory Trust Account Guidelines,” which can be found in
the Appendix section of the license law book.

Education

Renewal
Coming This
Summer
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Overall
Taken - 894
Passed - 361

Overall Passing % - 40.4

Education
Shapshot

November 2014-February 2015

¢

SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

First Time

Taken - 458

Passed - 220

First Time Passing %- 48.0

BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall
Taken - 51
Passed - 40

Overall Passing % - 78.4

First Time

Taken - 39

Passed - 34

First Time Passing % - 87.2

RECIPROCAL SALESPERSON EXAMINATION

Overall
Taken - 81
Passed - 73

Overall Passing % - 90.1

First Time

Taken - 74

Passed - 69

First Time Passing % - 93.2

RECIPROCAL BROKER EXAMINATION

Overall
Taken - 42
Passed - 35

Overall Passing % - 83.3

APRIL 15-18 ARELLO Midyear Conference | Albuquerque, NM

23
27
30

MAy 1
21
25

JUNE 1
4-6
15-17
18-22
25

JuLy 3
23
30-31

First Time

Taken - 35

Passed - 30

First Time Passing % - 85.7

Commission Meeting | Montgomery
Confederate Memorial Day-
AREEA Spring Meeting | Montgomery

Instructor Training with Dr. JoEllen Carlson
Commission Meeting
Memorial Day-

Jefferson Davis’ Birthday-

ARELLO District 2-3 Conference | Little Rock, AR
AAR Summer Conference | Pensacola, FL

REEA Conference | Storrs, CT

Commission Meeting

Independence Day Observed-
Commission Meeting | Montgomery
New Instructor Orientation

«Commission Offices Closed for State Holiday

What’s in a Name?

ccording to Alabama’s license exam
provider....there is a lot in a name.
We have seen several instances
where exam candidates were not allowed to take the exam
at an AMP exam site because the name on their
identification did not match the name in the examination
eligibility database as entered by the candidate. Prelicense
students need to be aware that the name that they use to
pre-register on the Commission’s website should be an
exact match with the name on their identification. Any
variation with the name could result in them being
unable to take the exam.

Upon completion of the prelicense course, a student’s
exam eligibility is sent electronically from the Commission
to AMP and is based on the information entered by the
student through the pre-registration process. The name
entered by the student when pre-registering will be the
exact name that proctors at the AMP exam site will be
looking to match. For example, there could be a person
whose legal name is Joseph but he has used the nickname
Jody for most of his life. Out of habit, he enters Jody as his
name during the pre-registration process and that
information is sent to AMP upon prelicense course
completion. The AMP exam site proctor will not allow
entrance for the exam because the name Jody is not on the
individual’s identification.

Arriving at the exam site and being unable to take the
exam is not only frustrating but time-consuming and
costly. Some individuals may have taken time off from
work or driven a lengthy distance only to arrive and be
unable to take the exam. To help eliminate this situation,
all prelicense students must enter the name on their
official identification into the Commission’s record when
pre-registering. Prelicense instructors and administrators
can help by making sure this information is provided to
students while enrolled in the course.

We are also seeing an issue with students who were
previously licensed in Alabama and now have outdated
information in our system. If you have current prelicense
students that previously held a real estate license in
Alabama, it is extremely important that they update their
contact information in our system as soon as possible. The
contact information sent to AMP for their examination
eligibility should be current and this information could
have changed since their previous licensure.

Basically, all of these issues can be avoided if students will
ensure that the name in our system matches the name on
their identification and that the Commission has their
current contact information.



