MINUTES

The first meeting of the Task Force for Continuing Education of the Alabama Real Estate
Commission was held January 18, 2012, in the Commerce Board Room of The Embassy Suites
Hotel in Montgomery, Alabama.

Those present were task force members Chairman Steve Cawthon and Commissioners
Jewel Buford, Reid Cummings and Danny Sharp and for part of the meeting Commission Chair
Bill Watts. Staff present were Assistant Executive Director Patricia Anderson, Education
Director Ryan Adair, Licensing Administrator Anthony Griffin and Interim Information
Technology Manager, Brett Scott. Other guests attending were licensees Anne Powell from
Mobile, Ginny Willis from Birmingham and Ginny Brandau from Huntsville.

The meeting having been duly noticed according to the Open Meetings Act was called to
order at 3:30 p.m. by Task Force Chairman Steve Cawthon.

Commissioner Cawthon began by reviewing the three primary charges of the task force
which are to:

e Review and consider the proposed Risk Management for Brokers course as
presented by the Commission’s Education Advisory Committee as a mandatory CE
course for next license period

e Review and consider the request from the Alabama Association of REALTORS®
Education Trustees to make License Law a mandatory CE course

e Commission Chairman Bill Watts asked the task force to consider possible
exemptions to continuing education requirements.

Commissioner Cawthon then reviewed the continuing education requirements set out in
Section 34-27-35 and Rule 790-X-1-.11 of the License Law. He stated that a change in the
current requirement of 3 mandatory hours in Risk Management and 12 hours of elective hours
can be addressed with a change to Rule 790-X-1-.11. A change to exemptions from CE
requirements will require a statutory change.

Task Force members discussed the requests from the Education Advisory Committee
and AAR’s Education Trustees. Subsequent to a thorough discussion, Commissioner Cummings
recommended the mandatory hours for CE be changed to 6 hours in Risk Management offered
in two tiers. Tier 1 would be general Risk Management for all licensees and Tier 2 would be
specific risk management courses for brokers, salespersons, property managers, commercial
licensees and any other specific industry groups. He also suggested that the courses be taken
only by live instruction and not allowed by distance education.

Commissioner Buford made a motion that beginning October 1, 2012, licensees be
required to take, by live instruction only, two 3-hour courses in Risk Management containing a
substantial amount of License Law as described by Commissioner Cummings with the remaining



9 hours of the 15 hour requirement to be in approved elective courses. The motion was
seconded by Commissioner Sharp and passed unanimously 4-0.

Commissioner Cawthon addressed Commissioner Watts’ request that the task force
consider future exemptions from continuing education and consider the question “When does
the Commission consider a licensee competent?” Commissioner Cawthon suggested the task
force consider such categories as number of years in the business, age and number of hours
spent attending designation courses. He made note that some designations are REALTOR®
designations and some are non REALTOR® designations so there are opportunities for everyone
to earn them. There was discussion about requiring only mandatory courses and not electives
for licensees who would qualify for a partial exemption. Since this will require a statutory
change and it is not possible to introduce such a bill before the 2013 legislative session, this
matter was held over for further discussion.

The task force briefly discussed the possibility of exempting Commissioners from the
continuing education requirement based on their study and application of license law in their

roles as Commissioners. It was the general consensus not to pursue this for a variety of
reasons.

The Task Force did not set a date and time for a future meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Steve Cawtﬁon, Chairman
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Patricia Anderson, Recording Secretary
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Commerce Board Room, 3:30 PM
Embassy Suites
Montgomery, AL
January 18, 2012

Call to Order

Review Charges

What we Plan to Accomplish this Meeting

History of Risk Management and License Law

Address Risk Management and Possible Broker/Salesperson Courses
Address Alabama License Law

Confirm Next Meeting for February 17, 2012 at 8:00 a.m. at the Offices of
the Alabama Real Estate Commission
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| Estate Commission

TASK FORCE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION

Task Force is comprised by Commissioners
Steve Cawthon, Chair, Jewel Buford, Danny Sharp. and Reid Cummings

A. REVIEW:

1.

Statutory provisions relating to continuing education; including General Provisions, 34-27-6 and
Rule 790-X-1-.11
Alabama Real Estate Commission Strategic Plan 2009 — 2013

3. Request from the Education Trustees of the Alabama Association of REALTORS®

Request from the Commission’s Education Advisory Committee

B. CONSIDERATIONS TO THE FULL COMMISSION — PHASE 1

1.

Do both of these requests fully comply with our statutory provisions and rules; particularly

Rule 790-X-1-.117

Does the Commission desire to add mandatory courses at this time? If so, which one or both?
Do our Rules require a change to accomplish your recommended actions? If so, provide detailed

recommendations for the change along with a time frame to complete.

C. CONSIDERATIONS TO THE FULL COMMISSION — PHASE 11

. Is our continuing education requirement successful? How can we measure it?

Is it time to reconsider our perception of continuing education and how we implement and enforce?
Is there a time in a licensee’s career and professional development that we can consider a licensee
competent? Perhaps a combination of quantitative items such as: consecutive license renewals; number

and type of professional designations acquired; age; or other items.

D. PHASE I - FEBRUARY 2012 MEETING; PHASE I1 — 6 MONTHS



History of Continuing Education

12 hours were required from October 1, 1986 — September 30, 2000.
15 hours have been required since October 1, 2000.

Changes occurred in the following years.

1986

1990

1994

1996

2000

2004 -

3 hrs required in License Law; 9 elective.
3 hrs required in License Law and 3 in Agency Disclosure; 6 elective

Two- 3 hr courses required in License Law, Agency Disclosure, Fair Housing or Trust
Funds; 6 elective

Two- 3 hr courses required in License Law, Agency Disclosure, Fair Housing, Trust Funds,
RECAD | or RECAD lI; 6 elective

Increased to 15 hours: 3 hrs required in Risk Management; 3 hrs in one of License Law,
Fair Housing or RECAD; 9 elective

2012 3 hrs. in Risk Management and 12 elective

Number of Mandatory Hours Since CE was Enacted:

1986 -
1990 -
1994 -
2000 -
2004 -

1990 3 Hours License Law

1994 6 hours License Law; Agency Disclosure

2000 6 Hours List of Options

2004 6 Hours Risk Management plus One from a List of Options
2012 3 Hours Risk Management

License Periods that License Law Has Been Mandatory

1986 -
1988 -
1990 -
1992~
1994 -
1996 -
1998 -
2000 -
2002 -

1988
1990
1992
1994
1996 (option from list)
1998 (option from list)
2000 (option from list)
2002 (option from list)
2004 (option from list)



