MINUTES

A meeting of the Task Force for Continuing Education was held February 17, 2012 at the
offices of the Alabama Real Estate Commission, 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, Alabama.

Those present were task force members Chairman Steve Cawthon and Commissioners
Jewel Buford, Reid Cummings and Danny Sharp and for part of the meeting Commission Chair
Bill Watts. Staff present were Assistant Executive Director Patricia Anderson, Education
Director Ryan Adair, and Interim Information Technology Manager, Brett Scott.

The meeting having been duly noticed according to the Open Meetings Act was called to
order at 8:30 a.m. by Task Force Chairman Steve Cawthon.

The task force reviewed and discussed research conducted since the last task force
meeting that explored how eliminating distance education as an option for the proposed 6
mandatory hours of continuing education in Risk Management wouid affect licensees. After a
thorough discussion, Commissioner Cummings made a motion to change the task force
recommendation to the full Commission to allow the proposed 6 hours in Risk Management CE
courses to be offered by both live classroom instruction and distance education. Commissioner
Sharp seconded the motion and it passed unanimously 4-0.

The Task Force did not set a date and time for a future meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m.
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Task Force for Continuing Education

Alabama Real Estate Commission
1201 Carmichael Way
Montgomery, Alabama
February 17, 2012
8:30 aun,

I. Call to Order

II.  Reconsider Recommendation for “Classroom Only Instruction” for
Mandatory CE Courses

III. Any Discussion on Proposed Rule

IV. Adjourn
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Considerations for Allowing Distance Education for Risk Management

We have gathered statistics and other information to share with you regarding licensees who take
their courses by distance education. We took a lock at how many people completed continuing
education courses by distance education last renewal period. Here are our findings:

34% of all active licensees took some of their CE courses by distance education. It is notable that
1/3 of all licensees chose distance education courses.

17.47% took all 15 hours by distance education.

Attached is a list that tells you how many licensees in each county took some or all of their
continuing education through distance education. All 67 counties had licensees who took
advantage of this option.

Important points to consider:

Licensees in rural areas may have to drive considerable distances to attend classroom
courses. Whereas instructors may provide courses in some of these areas in the six months
preceding license renewal, they likely will not do that during the other 18 months of the
license period.

Many licensees either renew late or renew inactive and activate at a later time. They must
take the 15 hours before they activate a license and classroom courses are not always
available. That has been one of the very important aspects of distance education in that
licensees can find available courses when needed.

Those who need Risk Management because of activations or courses to be taken as a result
of Commission ordered disciplinary action may not be able to find a classroom course
available particularly in the first year of the license period. In 2011, other than at AAR
sponsored events, only 9 classroom courses were offered outside of Birmingham,
Huntsville and Montgomery. Those nine were as follows: 1 in Eufaula, 1 in Daphne, 5 in
Florence/ Muscle Shoals; 1 in Cullman; and 1 in Ft. Payne. Note: only 2 classroom courses
in Risk Management were offered south of Montgomery in 2011.

Under ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) we must make accommodations for licensees
with disabilities to meet their continuing education requirements. Distance Education
courses help us in doing this for licensees who cannot attend classroom courses. Most of
our requests under ADA have been licensees who cannot attend classroom courses vs
licensees who need a classroom accommodation.

Reciprocal licensees who are out of state and cannot qualify to renew their license by
having an active license in their home state, must meet the Alabama 15 hour requirement.
We now have 2,334 ACTIVE reciprocals. Last renewal only 1,654 qualified by holding an
active license in their home state. The other 680 had to take Alabama CE. These licensees



would have to come to Alabama to take two classroom courses if the distance education
option is not available for Risk Management.

e  Currently there are 720 licensees who live out of state who do not hold a reciprocal license
and 245 of those hold active licenses. Those 245 would have to come to Alabama and take
the courses if they choose to keep an active license and the other 475 would have to take
Risk Management to activate their licenses.

e One of the key contributors to the 3 hour course titled “Risk Management for Brokers” is
Jeanne LaMere, Ph.D. She is with Career Web School which is solely a distance education
provider out of Georgia. She has made several trips to Montgomery at her expense and
has contributed a lot of time in the development of this course. ARELLO, as well as the
Commission, requires that the distance education providers have qualified instructors on
staff. Jeanne is more than qualified and has been a true asset to the Education Advisory
Committee.

e Our General Counsel has concerns that we do not have adequate evidence to support
discontinuing allowing distance education if we are challenged on it. It may appear that we
are creating an impediment to maintaining a license and the courts have already issued
other rulings against impediments to licensing across state lines.

Additional Information:

As a matter of history and information, distance education has been an option for all kinds of real
estate education since 1998 — the past 14 years. All distance education courses are certified for
design and delivery by ARELLO using a strict set of Standards that are used in 48 ARELLO
jurisdictions. Commission staff reviews each course for content. Alabama was one of the first to
adopt the Standards and require them of our schools.

The Standards require course developers to include incremental assessments. In other words,
students must pass unit exams in order to proceed in the course. If the incremental assessments
are not passed, the student must go back through the material until he/she has “mastered” that
subject matter and passes the test and moves on to the next units in the course. In all pre and
post license distance education courses, a final proctored exam is given to insure the student has
achieved a passing score in the course. Whereas there is no final proctored exam for continuing
education, students must still pass the incremental assessments along the way insuring mastery of
the material. Also of importance is that more material is covered in a 3 hour distance education
course than in a 3 hour classroom course. The trade-off to some is that the opportunity for
interaction and to learn from one another is lost in distance education.

Another fact for you to consider is that our distance education schools consistently have the
highest exam pass rates for the licensing exam. For 2011, out of the 4 schools with the highest
pass rates for the year, 3 were solely distance education schools. (Based on 20 or more students
for the year.)



There are pros and cons to each delivery method. Some people do well in classroom courses and
some do well in distance education courses. People have different learning styles and
personalities (under Myers Briggs) and therefore prefer different delivery methods. Whereas an
extravert may love the interaction in a classroom course, an introvert may hate it. This is to say
that providing different delivery methods allows different learners to be successful. There is a
book titled “The No Significant Difference Phenomenon” that is authored by Thomas L. Russell of
North Carolina State University that contains 355 different research reports, summaries and
papers. This research literally covers every age group from elementary school students to senior
adult learners. There is one consistent finding: when courses are properly designed to meet the
learning objectives, the delivery method does not matter and there is “no significant difference” in
the learning that takes place whether the course is classroom, low tech or high tech.

Recommendation: We understand what may be lost if a licensee does not take Risk Management
in the classroom. However, that does not mean that a student who takes the course by distance
education learns less. The research just does not support classroom as superior. Given that
courses are not always available when needed, the long distances some may have to drive to
attend a course, and the possible legal ramifications, our recommendation is to continue to allow
the mandatory CE courses be taken by distance education.

Thank you for your consideration.

Pat Anderson, Assistant Executive Director
Ryan Adair, Education Director



Number of Licensees by County who Took CE Online for Last Renewal
(Does not Include Out of State Licensees)
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Jefferson

Mobile 272 239
Montgomery 117 131
Autauga 35 21
Baldwin 265 234
Barbour 10 10
Bibb 1 4
Blount 13 17
Bullock 4 4
Butler 1 7
Calhoun 42 28
Chambers 7 7
Cherckee 4 5
Chilton 20 18
Choctaw 0 1
Clarke 4 12
Clay 0 6
Cleburne 1 3
Coffee 14 30
Colbert 12 B 12
Conecuh 1 B 2
Coosa 3 3
Covington 10 12
Crenshaw 1 3
Culiman 19 33
Dale 14 11
DALLAS 8 12
DeKalb 14 12
Elmore 34 50
Escambia 6 8
Etowah 39 39
Fayette 5 1
Franklin 4 q
Geneva 3 8
Greene 2 4
Hale 2 4
Henry 3 10
Houston 43 48
Jackson 14 14
Lamar 2 3
Lauderdale 33 27
Lawrence 3 8

Lee 61 66
Limestone 26 37
Lowndes o 1 0
Macon 7 3
Madison 216 296
Marengo - 5
Marion 6 4
Marshall 21 34
|Monroe 2 4
'Morgan 34 53
Perry B 1 1
Pickens 1 3
Pike. 7 12
Randolph 8 15
Russell 11 24
Shelby 97 109
St Clair 21 20
Sumter 5 5
Talladega 11 15
Tallapoosa 11 21
Tuscaloosa 7T
Walker o 12 15|
Washington 0 3
Wilcox 1 4
)Ninston o 7 5
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Rule 790-X-1-.11. Course Content for Continuing Education.

(1) To meet continuing education requirements, licensees shall complete fifteen
(15) clock hours each license period as set out below beginning October 1, 2012:

(a) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management — Level 1. In this level, brokers
and salespersons shall take the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations course.

(b) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management — Level 2. In this level, all brokers
shall take the Risk Management for Brokers course. Salespersons shall take the
Risk Management for Salespersons course, the Risk Management for Brokers
course, or an industry-specific Risk Management course approved for Level 2
credit by the Commission.

b} (c) Fwelve12) Nine (9) clock hours in Commission-approved elestive
courses

{3} (2) The curriculum for continuing education courses offered for elective credit
shall consist of subjects which are "core" real estate and which will assist the
licensee in fulfilling the Commission's objective of protecting the public. Some
examples of acceptable subject matter are License Law, RECAD (Real Estate
Consumer’s Agency and Disclosure Act), real estate ethics, real estate financing,
appraisal and valuation, fair housing, truth-in-lending, agency relationships,
agency disclosure, liability of real estate agents, writing contracts, handling
escrow funds, environmental issues, negotiating techniques, listing and buyer
presentations, writing and presenting offers, showing property, sales skills,
communication skills, marketing, certain financial calculator courses, computer
courses which are real estate specific and how to utilize technology in the
practice of real estate. Examples of unacceptable subject matter are motivational
courses, personal development courses, sales meetings, in-house training and
orientation courses. All course topics and content are subject to approval by the
Commission.

Author: Alabama Real Estate Commission
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 34-27-6, 34-27-8, 34-27-35.

History:



Rule 790-X-1-.11. Course Content for Continuing Education.

(1) To meet continuing education requirements, licensees shall complete fifteen
(15) clock hours each license period as set out below beginning October 1, 2012:

(a) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management — Level 1. In this level, brokers
and salespersons shall take the Risk Management: Avoiding Violations course.
This course shall be offered through classroom instruction only.

(b) Three (3) clock hours in Risk Management — Level 2. In this level, all brokers
shall take the Risk Management for Brokers course. Salespersons shall take the
Risk Management for Salespersons course, the Risk Management for Brokers
course, or an industry-specific Risk Management course approved for Level 2
credit by the Commission. Courses in this level shall be offered through
classroom instruction only.

by (c) Fwelve{12} Nine (9) clock hours in Commission-approved elective
courses

3} (2) The curriculum for continuing education courses offered for elective credit
shall consist of subjects which are "core" real estate and which will assist the
licensee in fulfilling the Commission's objective of protecting the public. Some
examples of acceptable subject matter are License Law, RECAD (Real Estate
Consumer’s Agency and Disclosure Act), real estate ethics, real estate financing,
appraisal and valuation, fair housing, truth-in-lending, agency relationships,
agency disclosure, liability of real estate agents, writing contracts, handling
escrow funds, environmental issues, negotiating techniques, listing and buyer
presentations, writing and presenting offers, showing property, sales skills,
communication skiils, marketing, certain financial calculator courses, computer
courses which are real estate specific and how to utilize technology in the
practice of real estate. Examples of unacceptable subject matter are motivational
courses, personal development courses, sales meetings, in-house training and
orientation courses. All course topics and content are subject to approval by the
Commission.

Author: Alabama Real Estate Commission

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§ 34-27-6, 34-27-8, 34-27-35.



