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LICENSE LAW DEADLINES 
 

 
 

Applicants 
 

90 days Persons who pass the licensing examination must file the license 
application with the Commission within 90 days after passing the exam. 
 

6 months Temporary salesperson licensees must complete the post license 
course and submit application for an original salesperson’s license within 6 
months of issuance of a temporary license. If this requirement is not met, 
the temporary license expires and is placed on inactive status. The 6 
months begins counting on the first day of the month following the month 
the temporary license was issued and concludes on the last day of the sixth 
month. 
 

1 year A temporary salesperson’s license lapses if the post license course is 
not completed and an original license issued within 1 year of issuance of 
the temporary salesperson’s license. The 1 year begins counting on the 
first day of the month following the month the temporary license was 
issued and concludes on the last day of the twelfth month. 
 

1 year Students have one year after enrolling in a prelicense course to 
complete it or the student will receive no credit for classes completed and 
must begin the course again. 
 

6 months Students must take and pass the salesperson’s exam within 6
months of completing the 60‐hour prelicense course. 
 

6 months Students must take and pass the broker’s exam within 6 months 
of completing the 60‐hour prelicense course.  
 
15 days If an applicant is denied eligibility for licensing, the applicant may 
request a hearing before the Commission within 15 days of the denial. 

 

  
Address 10 days A person who holds a current Alabama license and who moves to 

and becomes an Alabama resident shall within 10 days notify the 
Commission of change of address. 
 

30 days For change of business address, must submit letter and a $25 fee 
for each license, including the company license, within 30 days after 
changing the address. 
 

30 days For change of residence address. There is no fee for this change 
and it can be done online at www.arec.alabama.gov by logging in under 
online services. You can also email, fax or mail the information to the 
Commission office. 
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Transfer 10 days After 10 days a transfer sent by certified mail is declared null and 
void if all documents required for the transfer have not been received. 

 

  
Renewals August 10 of even years Date by which licensees must notify the 

Commission if a renewal form has not been received. 
 

August 31 of even years All licensees, both active and inactive, must file 
renewal forms and fees with the Commission on or before August 31 of the 
even years. 
 

September 30 of even years Active licensees must complete 15 hours of 
continuing education on or before midnight September 30 in order to have 
an active license issued on October 1. 
 

September 1 of even years through September 30 of odd years Late 
renewals incur a $150 penalty. 
 

September 30 of odd years If not renewed, the licenses lapse and 
applicants must begin as though never licensed. 
 

September 30 of odd years All schools, instructors and courses must 
renew online on or before midnight.  
 

December 31 of odd years School, instructor and course approvals lapse if 
not renewed by midnight. 

 

  
Cobrokerage 10 days Cobrokerage agreements must be filed with the Commission by 

the Alabama broker within 10 days of entering into the agreement with a 
nonresident licensee. 

 

  
Lawsuit/Criminal 
Prosecution 

10 days Notify the commission in writing within 10 days after the 
institution of any criminal prosecution or of a civil summons and complaint 
if the subject matter involves a real estate transaction or the good will of a 
real estate company.  
 

10 days Notify the commission in writing within 10 days after receiving 
notice that any criminal verdict has been rendered or dismissed or that civil 
action that involves a real estate transaction or the goodwill of a real 
estate business has resulted in a judgment or been dismissed. 

 
  
Formal Complaints 15 days Commission must give an accused licensee at least 15 days notice 

of the time, date and place of hearing. 

 

  
Appeals 30 days Length of time during which an appeal must be filed to appeal any 

Commission action following a contested case hearing. 
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Instructors 30 days All documentation required for instructor applications must be 

received within 30 days of submission of the application or it will be denied 
and the fee not refunded. 
 

14 days CE course applications must be submitted to the Commission at 
least 14 days prior to the beginning date of the course. 
 

September 30 of odd years Prelicense/Post License instructors must 
complete 12 hours of instructor training courses no later than September 
30 of the odd years unless they were approved in the second year of the 
period. 
 

5 days Course schedules must be entered into CMap at least 5 business 
prior to the beginning of a prelicense, post license, or CE course. 
 

3 days Course credit must be entered into CMap within 3 business days of 
course completion for prelicense and post license courses. 
 

10 days Course credit must be entered into CMap within 10 business days 
of course completion for CE courses. 
 

3 years Certification for distance education courses expires after 3 years 
and courses must be recertified to maintain Commission approval. 
 

3 years The CDEI designation for distance education instructors expires 3 
years from the date of issuance and instructors must take the renewal 
course in order to continue offering distance education courses. 
 

4 years Schools must maintain permanent records required by the 
Commission for a minimum of 4 years for all prelicense, post license, and 
CE courses. 
 

30 days Online evaluations are available for a total of 30 days after course 
credit has been entered. 

 


