AN

SCHOOL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

There are two types of schools in Alabama License Law:

(1) Approved School — offers continuing education (CE) courses only.
(2) Licensed School — offers prelicense and post license courses as well as CE courses.

Please follow the instructions given below for your type of school.

NOTE: Colleges and Universities will follow the instructions for the Approved School even if they plan to
offer prelicense courses since licensure is not required.

Approved Schools

1.

3.

Submit an Administrator Application. If the person who will serve as the Administrator is already
licensed, the current license number will be used on the application. If the individual does not
hold an Alabama license, an ID number must be obtained.

The Administrator Application is found on the Commission’s website in Education Resources
under the Professionals heading.

The link to obtain an ID number is found in ID Number Registration under the Professionals
heading.

Submit the Administrator Application by faxing it to 334-270-9118 or emailing it to Pam Oates at
pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov.

The Administrator will receive an approval letter and email. Attached to the email will be an
Administrator Manual with an exam. The exam must be successfully completed online before
courses are offered.

Once you are notified that the Administrator Application has been approved, submit the School
Application online, which is found in Available Services after the Administrator logs in with their
email and password. There is no fee to become an Approved School.

You will receive a letter and an email with your approval number.
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Licensed Schools

1. Submit an Administrator Application. If the individual who will serve as the Administrator is
already licensed, the current license number will be used on the application. If the individual
does not hold an Alabama license, an ID number must be obtained.

The Administrator Application is found on the Commission’s website in Education Resources
under the Professionals heading.

The link to obtain an ID number is found in ID Number Registration under the Professionals
heading.

Submit the Administrator Application by faxing it to 334-270-9118 or emailing it to Pam Oates at
pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov.

The Administrator will receive an approval letter and email. Attached to the email will be an
Administrator Manual with an exam. The exam must be successfully completed online before
courses are offered.

2. Once you are notified that the Administrator Application has been approved, obtain a Surety
Bond for $20,000 with the Alabama Real Estate Commission as the Trustee. The Surety Bond
Form to be completed by your surety company is found in Education Resources under the
Professionals heading.

Fax the completed Surety Bond Form to 334-270-9118 or email it to Pam Oates at
pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov.

3. Once you have been notified that the Surety Bond has been accepted by the Commission,
submit the School Application online. The School Application is found in Available Services after
the Administrator logs in with their email and password.

4. Once you are notified that the School Application has been approved, return to the School
Application and pay the license fee. If the application is approved during the first year of the
education license period, you will pay $500. If the application is approved during the second
year of the education license period, you will pay $250.

5. You will be notified once the Commission has accepted your payment and issued your license
number.

NOTE: All schools, administrators, instructors, and courses are renewed September 30 of the odd years.

If you have any questions about the School Application process, contact Pam Oates at 334.353.0873 or
pam.oates@arec.alabama.gov.
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