
Blueprint and Deadlines for Obtaining an Alabama Real Estate License 

The Commission staff want you to be successful in acquiring your license. However, this is your license 
and it is essential that you plan ahead. If you have questions or concerns about meeting deadlines, feel 
free to contact us before the deadline to allow time for possible remedy. We cannot help once a 
deadline has been missed. 

ID Number Registration: In order to pursue licensing with the Commission, you must pre-register by 

following the instructions on the ID Number Registration page of our website. Pre-registering gives the 

Commission your contact information and allows you access to your electronic file so that the 

Commission may engage with you and begin collecting the necessary information and verifications in 

order to, ultimately, issue your license. Your ID number is necessary to:  

• have your prelicense course completion submitted to the Commission,  

• schedule the license examination and have those results shared with the Commission, 

• apply for your real estate license, and 

• schedule your appointment to be fingerprinted and for those results to be shared with the 

Commission. 

General Applicant Requirements: Persons must be 19 or older when a license is issued; must have a 

high school diploma or equivalent; must have legal status in the United States; and, if convicted of a 

felony or crime involving moral turpitude, must appear before the Commission. 

Determination of Eligibility: If you have ever been convicted of a crime and are concerned that you may 

not be considered eligible for a real estate license, you may seek the Commission’s consideration of your 

criminal history. You may do this PRIOR to expending your time and money taking prelicense 

coursework and the license examination. Go to the Application for Determination of Licensing Eligibility 

to find information about this process. You will need to pursue the fingerprint-based criminal 

background history process described below, as well.   

Prelicense Education: Tools to help choose a school for the prelicense course include Course Search and 

Examination Pass Rates.  

• Salesperson License Requirements: Completion of the 60 clock hour salesperson prelicense 
course approved by the Commission. Applicants must take and pass the salesperson license 
examination within 6 months of course completion. 

• Broker License Requirements: Completion of a 60 clock hour broker prelicense course approved 
by the Commission plus holding an active salesperson license for 24 of the 36 months prior to 
application. Applicants must take and pass the broker license examination within 6 months of 
course completion. 

• Reciprocal Salesperson* Requirements: Completion of the 6 clock hour reciprocal salesperson 
prelicense course covering Alabama License Law. Applicants must take and pass the reciprocal 
salesperson license examination on Alabama License Law within 6 months of course completion. 

https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/commission/about/staff.aspx
https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/professionals/edu/prereg.aspx
https://arec.alabama.gov/docs/forms/general/determination_licensing_aug2015.pdf
https://arec.alabama.gov/apps/course_search/Default.aspx
https://arec.alabama.gov/apps/SchoolStatsWF/default.aspx


• Reciprocal Broker* Requirements: Completion of the 6 clock hour reciprocal broker prelicense 
course covering Alabama License Law. Applicants must take and pass the reciprocal broker 
license examination on Alabama License Law within 6 months of course completion. 

*Reciprocal licenses can only be issued to those holding a current license in good standing that 
has been earned by completing a state’s prelicense education and passing the license 
examination. Information on requirements for reciprocal licensing may be found in Rule 790-X-
1-.18 of Alabama License Law. 

The school will verify your successful completion of a prelicense course directly to the Commission using 
your ID number. 

License Examination: To prepare for the license examination, find examination locations, and schedule 
the license examination, please visit Pearson VUE’s website or call 888-926-9488. You cannot schedule 
the license examination until you have completed your prelicense coursework. Examination results will 
be sent directly to the Commission by Pearson VUE. 

• IMPORTANT DEADLINE! As noted above, you have 6 months to pass the license examination 

after completing the prelicense course. It is strongly advised that you take the license 

examination soon after completing all prelicense course requirements while the information is 

fresh in your mind. It is not unusual for applicants to take the license examination multiple times 

before passing it and you will want to allow time for multiple attempts. It is state law that all 

applicants must pass the license examination within 6 months of completing the prelicense 

course. Deadlines cannot be waived because there is no hardship provision in the law. Plan 

ahead. Should you miss the deadline, you start over.  

 

• Application for License and Fingerprinting: Upon successfully passing the license examination, 

you will be given passing notification along with the next steps toward license application. You 

will find license application instructions on our website. These instruction are very important! 

Do not overlook them! 

 

• Important Deadline! You have 90 days from passing the license examination to submit a 
complete license application with materials and fees to the Commission. A complete application 
consists of the following: 

o Application completed in full including all related information (this varies depending on 
the type of license being requested). Refer to specific license application instructions.  

o Fees 
The 90-day timeframe is measured from license examination date to receipt at the Commission 
or postmark for those applications mailed into the Commission. This is state law. Deadlines 
cannot be waived because there is no hardship provision in License Law. Plan ahead. Failure to 
meet this deadline will mean your examination score is null and void and you will need to start 
over. 
 

• Fingerprint-Based Criminal Background Check: Please coordinate fingerprinting with filing your 
application. They should be done about the same time. Review the information provided in the 
license application instructions on our website.  PLEASE NOTE: If you have been convicted of a 

https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/laws/ViewLaw.aspx?LawSectionID=56
https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/laws/ViewLaw.aspx?LawSectionID=56
https://home.pearsonvue.com/al/realestate
https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/professionals/licensing/app_instructions.aspx
https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/consumer/tools/becomerep.aspx
https://arec.alabama.gov/pages/professionals/licensing/app_instructions.aspx


felony, you will be required to submit court documents concerning your conviction. These are in 
addition to the FBI report that we will get. These are your responsibility. We recommend that 
you expedite your application process by proceeding to obtain these court documents as early 
as possible. 

License Issuance: Alabama real estate license applicants may not engage in real estate business until 
their license has been issued to their qualifying broker. Salespersons and associate brokers cannot print 
their license. Issuance will be verified to the applicant by an email.  Qualifying brokers may not engage in 
business until the Commission has issued all licenses appropriate to the manner in which you are doing 
business. 

• Temporary Salespersons: These licenses are, as noted, temporary.  They expire one year after 
issuance.  Within that one year, the 30 clock hour post license course must be completed AND 
the application with fee for an original salesperson license must be submitted to the 
Commission. 

o Active temporary salesperson licenses—temporary salesperson licenses may only be 
active within the first six months of their issuance unless the post license course and 
application for original license are successfully completed.  Therefore, if you want to be 
actively engaged in licensed activity past the first six months, you must complete your 
post license course and submit your license application and fee. If you do not complete 
these things in the first six months, your license will be placed on inactive status and you 
will not be able to use it. In any event, you should complete the post license course and 
make application for your original salesperson license before your temporary 
salesperson license expires. 
 

• Important Deadline! If the application for original salesperson license, with all required 
materials, is not received by the Commission within one year from temporary salesperson 
license issuance, your license will expire and you will have to start the process over completely 
as if you never had a license.  This is state law. The deadline cannot be waived because there is 
no hardship provision in License Law. Plan ahead. Should you miss the deadline, you need to 
start over. 
 


